• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Suggestions for LHL's Extreme Makeover

longbow

OK Folks, PM Lee is doing an "Extreme Makeover" for SIngapore. We have been promised a new, improved and more responsive Gov. As part of this "Extreme Makeover" what do you guys want to see. I am not talking about raze the house to the ground and build from start. This is "extreme makeover" - big time reno but house structure still there lah.

Here are my top 6 wants, please add :

1) Ministers pay pegged to average of what other 1st world nations are paid. So for PM Lee, we add Obama, Merkel, Cameron - all first world democractically elected Presidents. Use same metrics for other cabinet positions.

2) How many citizens, how many PR, how many here on work permit, how many gave up citizenship.

3) No more holding back of redevelopment funds for opp wards. Proper MP's office shall be provided for all MP with budget for basic office infrastructure and staffing so as to better serve all the citizens.

4) All top political positions require reporting of net worth and $ be placed into blind trust

5) Increase MP's pay to $20K a month but that is only if MP works full time. If MP wants to keep his current job then he will not be paid.

6) All parliamental proceedings shall be broadcasted 24/7 on a special channel for 1 week after each parliamental meeting. It will have translations in the 4 major languages - for the older folks. All proceedings will available online as part of public record. This will allow people to watch their elected MPs in action, raising issues that are impt to particular constituents.

steffychun

OK Folks, PM Lee is doing an "Extreme Makeover" for SIngapore. We have been promised a new, improved and more responsive Gov. As part of this "Extreme Makeover" what do you guys want to see. I am not talking about raze the house to the ground and build from start. This is "extreme makeover" - big time reno but house structure still there lah.

1) Ministers pay pegged to average of what other 1st world nations are paid. So for PM Lee, we add Obama, Merkel, Cameron - all first world democractically elected Presidents. Use same metrics for other cabinet positions.

2) How many citizens, how many PR, how many here on work permit, how many gave up citizenship.

3) No more holding back of redevelopment funds for opp wards. Proper MP's office shall be provided for all MP with budget for basic office infrastructure and staffing so as to better serve all the citizens.

4) All top political positions require reporting of net worth and $ be placed into blind trust

5) Increase MP's pay to $20K a month but that is only if MP works full time. If MP wants to keep his current job then he will not be paid.

6) All parliamental proceedings shall be broadcasted 24/7 on a special channel for 1 week after each parliamental meeting. It will have translations in the 4 major languages - for the older folks. All proceedings will available online as part of public record. This will allow people to watch their elected MPs in action, raising issues that are impt to particular constituents.

reduce size of army by removing the two reserve divisions.

kingrant

Equal air time in Parliament for Opp speakers.

The curtailment of their times was imposed by LKY to make it unfair for the Opp. to pitch anything.

kingrant

Abolish GRCs and revert to SMCs.

Elections Dept truly independent.

drawing of electoral boundaries to be transparent and rep by Opp.

abolish the printing licence for newspapers.

SPH must be independent.

Getloud

Unfair not to pay them for part time job. Peg it to MacDonald hourly rate lor.

longbow

No lah, the way I see it is:

1) We offer to pay $20K per month if work as full time MP
2) If they decide to still work in their current job that must mean that their current job pay more than $20K a month so that is it!

I do not believe in double dipping - get pay from outside job and still get MP pay.

Also MP cannot be in Board of Director position - potential conflict of interest. If this means loss of money, then i guess money is main motivator - quit being MP

Unfair not to pay them for part time job. Peg it to MacDonald hourly rate lor.

4Sgie

Limit the number of directorships a MP can hold.

Very ridiculous to see some MPs sitting on 10 or more board of directors, milking the good name of MP for $, milking the companies in return for lending governmental connection.

An insidious form of corruption waiting for the right time, place, circumstance to rear its ulgly head.

cooleo

Ass Loong should fire himself. Right now he is firing all the waiters, instead of the chef.

karmabear

No GRC. MP get into parliament on own merits. No more tompang. Too many people in SG. Restrict FT and improve infrastructure. Very obvious no enough transport, housing, schools and hospitals.

He should get a new "walk".
In this regard, perhaps Joey Tribiani can help him. :biggrin:

Patriot

IMHO, a review of the CPF scheme is long overdue & should be done as soon as the review of Ministers' Salaries has been completed.

The government have gone back on their word as the original intention of the CPF scheme was to return all monies in the CPF to the citizens on reaching the age of 55.

what about abolish the law that say more than 5 people gather together will not get arrested, and allow more social clubs for people to meet and socialize. Abolish restriction of free speech in Hong Lim Park without the need to apply police permit.