• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stupid Chinese fake lunar rover breaks down

China's lunar rover has mechanical trouble

10:49 PM Monday Jan 27, 2014

BEIJING (AP) China says its first lunar rover is experiencing mechanical problems, in a rare setback for its burgeoning space program.

The six-wheeled Yutu vehicle began operating last month after making the first soft landing on the moon by a space probe in 37 years. It was designed to roam the lunar surface for three months while surveying for natural resources and sending back data, along with its stationary lander, Chang'e 3.

The mission has been a popular success for China's space program and the rover has attracted more than 150,000 followers on its microblog. It last posted on Saturday saying repairs were underway and hope was not lost.

"Sorry to make you all sad. The engineers and I haven't given up yet," the posting said.

The mechanical problems appeared to be related to the solar-powered probe's process for shutting down for the lunar night, which lasts more than two weeks. The temperature during that time drops to minus 180 degrees Celsius (minus 292 degrees Fahrenheit).

The probe had survived its first lunar night shutdown, during which it is unable to generate energy from its solar panels and relies on a radioactive power source to keep its delicate sensors and other equipment intact.

Ang Mors are the best
Obviously a major malfunction
What an understatement!

[video=youtube;j4JOjcDFtBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4JOjcDFtBE[/video]

BEIJING (AP) China says its first lunar rover is experiencing mechanical problems, in a rare setback for its burgeoning space program.

The six-wheeled Yutu vehicle began operating last month after making the first soft landing on the moon by a space probe in 37 years. It was designed to roam the lunar surface for three months while surveying for natural resources and sending back data, along with its stationary lander, Chang'e 3.

The mission has been a popular success for China's space program and the rover has attracted more than 150,000 followers on its microblog. It last posted on Saturday saying repairs were underway and hope was not lost.

"Sorry to make you all sad. The engineers and I haven't given up yet," the posting said.

The mechanical problems appeared to be related to the solar-powered probe's process for shutting down for the lunar night, which lasts more than two weeks. The temperature during that time drops to minus 180 degrees Celsius (minus 292 degrees Fahrenheit).

The probe had survived its first lunar night shutdown, during which it is unable to generate energy from its solar panels and relies on a radioactive power source to keep its delicate sensors and other equipment intact.

A smalll set-back when compared to what China has achieved over the last five years.

look at the pap's breakdowns....

do you believe they really landed on the moon, including UArseA?

Ang Mors are the best
Obviously a major malfunction
What an understatement!

[video=youtube;j4JOjcDFtBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4JOjcDFtBE[/video]

but but but..... i thought ang mohs are the best? Must find an excuse for this or blame this on chinese.

Angmos best or not open to debate....
Fact is PRC behind time 50 years....man landed on moon in 1969.....why still so proud?

one of the fake resistor or fake capacitor burn out.
now a paper weight on the moon.

one of the fake resistor or fake capacitor burn out.
now a paper weight on the moon.

Fake parts are when peasants buy things from bazaar
Or when export to White lazy bumpkins for hard currency
When State does vanity projects like going to moon
No effort'll be spared everybody know heads will roll
Should there be cock up you see it's like imperial days
Chef at tai pai tong can screw up but for emperor's dinner
Only best ingredients will do and make sure no poison
Food analogy I must use for really worry what to eat
When space travel's possible but my stomach no like

Still mistakes wer made along the way and needs to be rectified
Thorough and scientific review will be made no efforts spared
Ah Q mentality may still exist amongst lowly peasants
Elite will be like Deng Xiao Peng, Seek Truth from Facts
Peasants come to Sinkieland but elite migrate to West

Too bad.

I hope they can recover. Even if they cannot, it was a good show from them.
The soft landing on the moon was the difficult part. And they did that.

They will learn from this mistake.
And at least, we all know now a Jade Rabbit is really on the moon and is no longer just a legend.

Half of all lunar missions ended in failure. So this doesn't mean anything.

Angmos best or not open to debate....
Fact is PRC behind time 50 years....man landed on moon in 1969.....why still so proud?

Nothing wrong with that. Other than russian or rather ussr, usa and china do you know of any other country that has landed on the moon? The fact of the matter is flying into space is a big deal for any country even today. PRC is a country that has many problems to deal with but overcome most of it. Why don't you see countries with 0 problems like countries in europe like france, uk etc fly to the moon. Cos even today they don't have the means to.

What if india managed to fly to the moon would you judge it like you judge prc? I don't think so.

Nothing wrong with that. Other than russian or rather ussr, usa and china do you know of any other country that has landed on the moon? The fact of the matter is flying into space is a big deal for any country even today. PRC is a country that has many problems to deal with but overcome most of it. Why don't you see countries with 0 problems like countries in europe like france, uk etc fly to the moon. Cos even today they don't have the means to.

What if india managed to fly to the moon would you judge it like you judge prc? I don't think so.

I doubt many countries are interested in going to the moon.
It's more for showoff than anything else....
Countries like Malaysia (under mathatiar) maybe....always Malaysia boleh that they spent(wasted) tonnes of money just to get bragging rights....

I doubt many countries are interested in going to the moon.
It's more for showoff than anything else....
Countries like Malaysia (under mathatiar) maybe....always Malaysia boleh that they spent(wasted) tonnes of money just to get bragging rights....

ROFL cos they cannot and yes it's for bragging rights but it's not easy to obtain it. It's just like you telling the person in your neighbourhood that just got a new sports car say a ferrari and then telling him off many ppl have those types of cars nothing to show off about which makes you look like an asshole. The fact of the matter is when one country manages to fly to the moon they have the means and money to make it happen. UK cannot do it not that they don't want to. Just like my ferrari analogy. Others in his neighbourhood don't want to get a ferrari cos they cannot afford it. Period. If they got it they might not be able to pay the housing loan.

It's sad that you always use silly excuses to put down china cos let's say it was india that did it you probably would be praising it to the skies same with UK for example.

something got lost in translation. copying from american specs, freezing point in fahrenheit is 32 degrees, and tiongs designed their lunar vehicle to operate at 32-degree celsius for their freezing point. :*:

ROFL cos they cannot and yes it's for bragging rights but it's not easy to obtain it. It's just like you telling the person in your neighbourhood that just got a new sports car say a ferrari and then telling him off many ppl have those types of cars nothing to show off about which makes you look like an asshole. The fact of the matter is when one country manages to fly to the moon they have the means and money to make it happen. UK cannot do it not that they don't want to. Just like my ferrari analogy. Others in his neighbourhood don't want to get a ferrari cos they cannot afford it. Period. If they got it they might not be able to pay the housing loan.

It's sad that you always use silly excuses to put down china cos let's say it was india that did it you probably would be praising it to the skies same with UK for example.

Using your analogy....
Not everyone feels the need to own a Ferrari.....many who can afford one chose not to because they dun need one.
China machiam the low esteem new money neighbour who feels the need to keep up with the joneses. They likely the country bumpkin who can't even pronounce the name or know the pedigree but bought the car anyway to park in the driveway to showoff. Feels the desperate need to be accepted to the old money club.
Little do they know all the neighbors (even those not rich enough to afford one) are sniggering behind their back....because the howlian china not aware what they bought was infact an old retired model that the richest neighbors already had in their garage years ago.

And to answer your question why the neighbors despise these chinks....
They are braggarts dislike by all....maybe they think they've arrived....but their subtle neighbors already been there done that.

To go further....china as a country machiam the behavior of Anton Casey...drives a porsche and lives in sentosa cove thinks he's made it and mock sinkies....ok most of the mrt commuters might not be able to afford his Porsche....but there are many other sinkies with fleet of Porsches and more.
So bottomline....no need to howlian blow trumpet.

Using your analogy....
Not everyone feels the need to own a Ferrari.....many who can afford one chose not to because they dun need one.
China machiam the low esteem new money neighbour who feels the need to keep up with the joneses. They likely the country bumpkin who can't even pronounce the name or know the pedigree but bought the car anyway to park in the driveway to showoff. Feels the desperate need to be accepted to the old money club.
Little do they know all the neighbors (even those not rich enough to afford one) are sniggering behind their back....because the howlian china not aware what they bought was infact an old retired model that the richest neighbors already had in their garage years ago.

And to answer your question why the neighbors despise these chinks....
They are braggarts dislike by all....maybe they think they've arrived....but their subtle neighbors already been there done that.

To go further....china as a country machiam the behavior of Anton Casey...drives a porsche and lives in sentosa cove thinks he's made it and mock sinkies....ok most of the mrt commuters might not be able to afford his Porsche....but there are many other sinkies with fleet of Porsches and more.
So bottomline....no need to howlian blow trumpet.

since when is going to the moon howlian? Also buying a ferrari always attracts attention. You shouldn't compare it this way. The new money neighbour bought a new car and he's hao lian but his rich neighbours that own big houses and cars themselves are not? :rolleyes: If you say going to the moon is haolian then why did USA bother racing with ussr? To haolian right?

So ok these 2 old neighbours bought new cars, renovated their homes etc to haolian to the neighbourhood and to show they are better than the other one and somehow that's ok. The minute the new neighbour comes in and buys a new car he's haolian? Why the double standards?

Also i need to remind you to compare it accurately. China is only the 3rd country in the world to go to the moon. So after so many years only 3 countries have done it. If we compare it back to the neighbourhood that means the new neighbour is only the 3rd household to own a ferrari and don't talk cock say what nonsense the other neighbours don't want to show off etc cos if it was possible many european nations would have gone to the moon but they didn't because they cannot not because they don't want to. Your analogy is wrong. The new neighbour buys a new ferrari cos he can while all his other neighbours except the other 2 cannot.

Anyway i want to ask you why do you think it's ok for the usa to haolian to russian and the world to buy a spacecraft to go to the moon and the same applies to russia but china cannot do the same? Why are usa and russia allowed to haolian?

that is true, but there are so much fake in PRC that maybe one slip through and end up as genuine part.

Fake parts are when peasants buy things from bazaar
Or when export to White lazy bumpkins for hard currency
When State does vanity projects like going to moon
No effort'll be spared everybody know heads will roll
Should there be cock up you see it's like imperial days
Chef at tai pai tong can screw up but for emperor's dinner
Only best ingredients will do and make sure no poison
Food analogy I must use for really worry what to eat
When space travel's possible but my stomach no like

Still mistakes wer made along the way and needs to be rectified
Thorough and scientific review will be made no efforts spared
Ah Q mentality may still exist amongst lowly peasants
Elite will be like Deng Xiao Peng, Seek Truth from Facts
Peasants come to Sinkieland but elite migrate to West

don't scold the Chinese. They are at least better than the Indian space mission