• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Students should stop studying in cafes!

micromachine

Lieutenant General
I am writing to all you students explaining why it is not okay to study in Starbucks or Coffee Bean. The two most popular coffee chains in Singapore, as we all know.

I will not bother to type them in point form so, follow me as I rant out my frustrations and I pretty much know they are undeniable. Argue and disagree with me all you want, but it will not change the fact that students are the most annoying customers you can ever get.

Just because you are a paying customer does not necessarily mean you are entitled to a table for hours. I appreciate you being assiduous in your studies but do it at the right places. No, there is no wrong to study if you’re buying a drink or two every few hours but do take note that you are NOT the only customer. Snap out of your oblivious world. We have the non-extended customers, searching for seats, asking the baristas for help, just to have a nice warm cup of coffee and there you are, just … studying. Urgh!

It sure as hell does not take a lot of effort to be considerate towards other paying customers. Studying in cafes will not only disrupt the business itself but will also affect the baristas on duty. Why? That is one good question. Baristas, they are the ones who have to deal with complains every single day. As if their work load isn’t tiring enough? Come on!

Students should stop studying in cafes! (Full)

No seats just ask for refund and walk.out, thats what i would do. I did a couple of times at Mac and the staff managed to get me one, drank up and fuck off. End of story.

the author is just a whiny child like the students she is criticising

I think maybe she was pushed or shoved by someone studying in a cafe, and so decided to kpkb.

Agree.

Decades back, I study at Jiu Bar using candles to see the notes and books. When I rest, I tweak some oroes and feel some melons to distress. My favourite was Abdullah 37.:o

Contributor S.A. commented in her article that she was unhappy with students hogging places in cafes to study.

I can understand her grievances. Perhaps, however, she should consider some of the difficulties that students face in seeking places to study.

S.A. commented that students have plenty of other spaces which they can study in, including void decks, reading corners and libraries. In truth, the void decks are often not conducive to study. Study corners and void decks typically see high human traffic, especially at peak hours or if there is a playground close by with children playing. If one lives in a busy neighbourhood, the sound of traffic may also be a genuine source of disturbance. Moreover, the lack of air conditioning or fans in void decks may also make studying difficult on hot days.

Even if there is a study corner or public library which provides adequate cooling comfort, it is typically difficult to secure places to study there. The competition for seats in such places is often intense. Every morning during the school holidays, students throng outside libraries, rushing in to get the precious few places when they open. If one comes even half an hour late, he or she can is almost certain to not discover a vacant spot. Moreover, students with late school days also find it even more disadvantageous, since by the time they finish school, they are often unable to find any available seats to study in.

Full article: Studying in cafes: Sometimes the students have nowhere else to go

i sympathize with the students but a café in a mall is not the best place for them to do their homework. it's noisy, crowded, sometimes plays loud music, has annoying eyes looking for seats, and in the sg context, invites tired and inconsiderate auntie and uncle window shoppers to chope seats without buying a drink. the excuse that they can't find a quiet place outside of school to do their studies is just that, a lame excuse. when i'm back in sg on my next trip, i'll do a photo-journalist bombardment with scathing captions. every time i'm in sg, i can't get a single seat at any one of these cafés because of the incomprehensible inconsideration of sinkies, young and old. for some, one drink entitles them to squat in the place all day. for others, especially miserly minded aunties and uncles, they would just park themselves there ignoring the scorn of baristas and other customers. workers at these cafés are too busy to politely chase them away. and students are not even buried in their books. they are often distracted, and when in a group, would chat like gossipers who have missed their periods after impregnating each other. for travelers and visitors like us, all we need are 15 minutes to drink a cup of our addiction, go on wi-fi, check on emails, and read up news on sbf. and then, we're gone. because our time in sg is short and valuable, unlike the squatters at starbucks, coffee bean or costa. if students need quiet, air-con, and a comfortable seat, they can hang out at changi airport or prison, at remote corners. there, they can impregnate each other too. :rolleyes:

Dumbest thing I've heard in a long time - that travelers and visitors are more deserving of seats in a cafe. I do not see a rule in our cafes that says 1 drink buys you 15 min of ass time only. As if there are no squatters in cafes of ang moh are best countries.

Don't bother coming back if you can't get with the local program.

i sympathize with the students but a café in a mall is not the best place for them to do their homework. it's noisy, crowded, sometimes plays loud music, has annoying eyes looking for seats, and in the sg context, invites tired and inconsiderate auntie and uncle window shoppers to chope seats without buying a drink. the excuse that they can't find a quiet place outside of school to do their studies is just that, a lame excuse. when i'm back in sg on my next trip, i'll do a photo-journalist bombardment with scathing captions. every time i'm in sg, i can't get a single seat at any one of these cafés because of the incomprehensible inconsideration of sinkies, young and old. for some, one drink entitles them to squat in the place all day. for others, especially miserly minded aunties and uncles, they would just park themselves there ignoring the scorn of baristas and other customers. workers at these cafés are too busy to politely chase them away. and students are not even buried in their books. they are often distracted, and when in a group, would chat like gossipers who have missed their periods after impregnating each other. for travelers and visitors like us, all we need are 15 minutes to drink a cup of our addiction, go on wi-fi, check on emails, and read up news on sbf. and then, we're gone. because our time in sg is short and valuable, unlike the squatters at starbucks, coffee bean or costa. if students need quiet, air-con, and a comfortable seat, they can hang out at changi airport or prison, at remote corners. there, they can impregnate each other too. :rolleyes:

Dumbest thing I've heard in a long time - that travelers and visitors are more deserving of seats in a cafe. I do not see a rule in our cafes that says 1 drink buys you 15 min of ass time only. As if there are no squatters in cafes of ang moh are best countries.

Don't bother coming back if you can't get with the local program.

starbucks to put up signs in sg that read "no sinkies and dogs allowed!"

inconsiderate and despicable, like stray dogs!

image.jpg

Why can't they share tables like in a hawker center or a food court? :confused:

starbucks to put up signs in sg that read "no sinkies and dogs allowed!"

i dare starbucks to do that :rolleyes:

until the day comes that cafes limit time per drink, all you ranters against people occupying seats can shove it. the free markets have given them the right to buy one drink and squat all day.

Good thread. I will be back with photo girl rest their leg on chair as if their home.

The idea that her money is bigger than students is really too much. To summarise, what a bitch. Pity we don't have photo . I will hog the table till she fuck off

i'd support you, but i'd much rather grab a teh tarik and find a shady outdoor spot. all that aircon is bad for the sinus.

"Libraries are always full. People who suggest libraries clearly have never been to one recently. Plus, its filled with noisy rugrats. Library is conducive for studying? Judging based on the wrong era perhaps.

Void decks are dangerous. Quiet corners where anyone can observe you from afar and sneak up on you. Snatch thieves, flashers, molesters, rapists, hooligans. You get all kinds of funny f**kers over there. Not to mention no wifi. I would never suggest a student to hang around void decks, especially if you're hanging on to a phone or laptop, which is pretty much everyone..."

Damn this gal seems very indignant, not to mention pissed off with the accusations leveled at students.

Full article : A response to the rant about studying in cafes