• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Strange man at Siglap Centre, residents sort of cool with this siao fella

Romagnum

There is a skinny fella walking around Siglap Centre, sometimes with beer bottle in hand, sometimes swinging umbrella and screaming at passers-by and passing cars all kinds of vulgarities

But all the coffeeshop people nearby seem quite unperturbed, said he suffered a major loss many years ago and gone crazy. So they let him abuse as long as he doesn't get physical

Good people, these. But he just scares the hell out of me...

Well singapore does have a fair number of these crazy people everywhere. Nothing surprising but something of a spectacle to watch. At that time in bugis a man stripped naked in front of the cops i think.

There is a skinny fella walking around Siglap Centre, sometimes with beer bottle in hand, sometimes swinging umbrella and screaming at passers-by and passing cars all kinds of vulgarities

But all the coffeeshop people nearby seem quite unperturbed, said he suffered a major loss many years ago and gone crazy. So they let him abuse as long as he doesn't get physical

A different interpretation is that the coffeeshop people are indifferent.
In any other country, bystanders would inform social services so that the man could be taken care of.

For sure this location has been avoided by policemen on patrol. Bringing him back to station would have more trouble to dump him in any of the institution and worse, spending the whole day trying to establish his identity.

Would you want white colored "friendly ghosts", from the PA , RC & the "party" visiting tour house...won't that be scary?? Let that guy be, for he is trapped in his own "world", as long as he doesn't turn violent or turn on you.. 'LET IT BE'...

Thank you for politicizing this thread!

Just a few days ago I was taking a meal in a kopitiam and there was a lady in her late 40's also taking her meal. She will suddenly stood up and walk around the place saying in a very loud voice "I fight for China." Then she will sing a phrase, "Who will save xxx xxx" (I cannot recall the words). Followed by "I am a martial arts expert" and gave a small demo.

She will then quieten down and get back to her table. Minutes later she will repeat the same things. I left soon after, but no one in the kopitiam did or say anything, they just look with curiousity.

Such people are common and in Siglap it could be the same person helping passengers to get into taxis or directing the traffic. He also shouts very loud but I cannot recall what it was.

there are many people like this all over ,esp in hawker centres.they sit there, sing and laugh to themselves...talk to themselves...they do not disturb others. many just leave them alone. no problems....they are living in a world of their own...it's okay ..no need to call the police or social workers.they're happy.

sometimes, i see people buy them drinks and meals....you also find a few of these people in McD too....nice, cool and comfortable place to sleep,esp in the hot afternoons...

there are many people like this all over ,esp in hawker centres.they sit there, sing and laugh to themselves...talk to themselves...they do not disturb others. many just leave them alone. no problems....they are living in a world of their own...it's okay ..no need to call the police or social workers.they're happy.

sometimes, i see people buy them drinks and meals....you also find a few of these people in McD too....nice, cool and comfortable place to sleep,esp in the hot afternoons...

They are pretty harmless people as my Mum used to have a Singapore maid that also talks to herself. That was a long time ago when I was still in school. While washing dishes or ironing she talked to an invisible person in Hokkien in a scolding manner and sometimes she spit at that person to show her contempt. When she was new I was very apprehensive but later on accepted that she has a mental problem.

Old people do that very often. They thought they are talking to you but they are only talking to themselves.

I think they are lonely people.Nobody to talk to, to confide in or to ventilate.So the best way is to talk to themselves or to some imaginary person. As long as they don't become schizophrenic or maniac, they are ok. Maybe talking to themselves is therapeutic.No need all the medications.

Lunatics need to be in an asylum otherwise once they "tao hong", they can turn very violent and even kill. This happened once at Geylang some time back. A "harmless" lunatic suddenly turned violent and stabbed several people. Police were called and he was eventually shot dead.

yah, some just go berserk and run amok with a chopper....those days very common. now not so many lah. i think the mentally sick ones are under treatment....

Your posts scare me even more.

I think they are lonely people.Nobody to talk to, to confide in or to ventilate.So the best way is to talk to themselves or to some imaginary person. As long as they don't become schizophrenic or maniac, they are ok. Maybe talking to themselves is therapeutic.No need all the medications.

Young children have their imaginary "brother" or "sister" to talk to but ole people have only themselves and the mirror.

Talking to oneself...this is classic...I just can't forget this Taxi Driver's " You Talking To Me "...