Starbucks vs Office Pantry's Coffee and Tea

Claire

I am back. Recovered from my bout of flu :).

It never fail to amaze me why young Singaporean fresh grads in my office "waste" money on Starbucks when the office pantry provides free coffee, tea, water, fresh fruits and nuts.

Back to work for 2016 and I still see this phenomena of young local grad staff complaining that cost of living is high and salary is low and they "waste" money buying takeway Starbucks coffee in the morning, one after lunch and perhaps another during tea time. If it is not Starbucks, it's some unhealthy sugar-laced Bubble Tea, be it Gong Cha, Koi, etc.

For heaven's sake, there is free coffee, tea, water, nuts and fresh fruits provided at the office pantry. Why do these local spoilt brats need to drink "branded" coffee and tea? To show off? To feel "executive" carrying a takeaway Starbucks' cup?

I am not sure how much is a takeaway Starbucks coffee as I don't frequent such places. Presumably, it could be between $3 to $6 depending on whatever fanciful name they call them from mocca latte to frappa.

I am sure these local grad staff spend at least 10 to 15 bucks a day on such fanciful coffee which probably amount to 200 to 300 bucks a month or even more.

On the contrary, I observe that the non-Singaporean staff, irrespective of age are generally more thrifty. They will utilise the pantry to the fullest extent ∼ that some of them even "steal" fresh fruits and nuts and bring them home ∼ and the usual culprits are the Indians FTs.

Just some observations :)

I often drink the free 3-in-1 coffee in my office pantry. It's actually quite good, better than some of the coffee shop's kopi.

Do you normally drink before, after or during giving DF?

The office pantry is free, why waste money buying from Starbucks, spinelli or even Han's or Ya kun or??....back in the days, I was in charge of the pantry..one of the perks of working for somebody....is free coffee from percolator, free Milo, Horlicks, Biscuits..Cookies...cakes etc... save money, silly people, buying from outside..

One of ex colleague, save money on the morning, bring along his waste to the office executive toilets...free water, soap & toilet roll..not clean, can even complain....ha ha ha ha

It never fail to amaze me why young Singaporean fresh grads in my office "waste" money on Starbucks when the office pantry provides free coffee, tea, water, fresh fruits and nuts.

Last time, I will not take office pantry food unless I also contributed something in return. There are people who just take but don't give back.

im not a coffee drinker,i hate coffee but i see those americans are hooked on those shit like its crack cocaine,it looks delicious as fuck though,probably like drinking pure liquid chocolate and caramel and heryshey chocolate syrup mashed together with hagen daaz ice cream and oreo cookies and ben n jerry's fudge chocolate all mixed together with like 10 percent coffee.too bad i hate coffee,the disgusting aftertaste and all that caffeine fucks with ur brain.

Nowadays, not many firms or corporations provide good free coffee and tea, and rarely do they provide free fresh fruits and nuts.

In the past, when I was working full time as an employee, decades before I went on my own, the firm which I worked for, usually had a drink up and food at least once a month. But I heard that since the financial crisis in about 2008, most of the downtown Toronto firms have implemented "cost containment policies" which eliminated such drink ups, eliminated partner-partner lunches, partner-staff lunches, luncheon meetings at restaurants.

Last winter, I did a few weeks of per diem work with one of the BIG firms in Toronto, and in its employees lounge, there are a few cappuccino and expresso machines (also make latte) which use quality coffee and Natrel fine filtered milk. They do not provide free fresh fruits and nuts. Although most of their employees will go down to the employees lounge on the 3rd floor, I saw quite a few of their employees going out to buy coffee or latte from Starbucks.

Perhaps, those younger workers would consider the "latte effect" (a term used by the author of a financial planning book which I read decades ago), then they will be able to save for the downpayment for their house, if they save what they may be spending on Starbucks coffee (between $5 to $15 a day).

I clicked on the thread hopefully thinking that the title was "Office Panty's". :o:D

Nowadays, not many firms or corporations provide good free coffee and tea, and rarely do they provide free fresh fruits and nuts.

In the past, when I was working full time as an employee, decades before I went on my own, the firm which I worked for, usually had a drink up and food at least once a month. But I heard that since the financial crisis in about 2008, most of the downtown Toronto firms have implemented "cost containment policies" which eliminated such drink ups, eliminated partner-partner lunches, partner-staff lunches, luncheon meetings at restaurants.

Last winter, I did a few weeks of per diem work with one of the BIG firms in Toronto, and in its employees lounge, there are a few cappuccino and expresso machines (also make latte) which use quality coffee and Natrel fine filtered milk. They do not provide free fresh fruits and nuts. Although most of their employees will go down to the employees lounge on the 3rd floor, I saw quite a few of their employees going out to buy coffee or latte from Starbucks.

Perhaps, those younger workers would consider the "latte effect" (a term used by the author of a financial planning book which I read decades ago), then they will be able to save for the downpayment for their house, if they save what they may be spending on Starbucks coffee (between $5 to $15 a day).

At my office, we have not cut our budget for free coffee/tea at the pantry. It's mostly instant hot drinks, which doesn't cost much anyway. Also, it's good for morale for the staff to relax. As a boss, I am not a slave driver. We are not doing low-margin or cheap labour sort of work. So, even in a downturn, our refreshment budget not cut. Same for annual D&D, which is usually a buffet meal held within office premises. It saves money, we do it during office hours and the staff don't have to burn an evening at some hotel.

I am aware that many business entities provide free in house coffee and tea, as well as bottled water.

As for the annual Christmas party, most business entities did not cut that, and a few will provide free or discounted overnight stay at the hotel to prevent drunk driving.

At my office, we have not cut our budget for free coffee/tea at the pantry. It's mostly instant hot drinks, which doesn't cost much anyway. Also, it's good for morale for the staff to relax. As a boss, I am not a slave driver. We are not doing low-margin or cheap labour sort of work. So, even in a downturn, our refreshment budget not cut. Same for annual D&D, which is usually a buffet meal held within office premises. It saves money, we do it during office hours and the staff don't have to burn an evening at some hotel.

You talk so big ...but we know the truth ...coffee is 3-in-1, D&D is hawker centre food taipau back to office. Cheap lah. Yet you give yourself fat bonus. Typical PAP pig.

3-in-1 coffee quite good on par with kopitiam kopi. D&D is catered buffet from Neo Gardens leh. Don't play play. Employees eat until stomach want to burst, and the cleaner aunties still want to tapao back the fried noodles and leftover food.

im not a coffee drinker,i hate coffee but i see those americans are hooked on those shit like its crack cocaine,it looks delicious as fuck though,probably like drinking pure liquid chocolate and caramel and heryshey chocolate syrup mashed together with hagen daaz ice cream and oreo cookies and ben n jerry's fudge chocolate all mixed together with like 10 percent coffee.too bad i hate coffee,the disgusting aftertaste and all that caffeine fucks with ur brain.

Greed, lust, women, gluttony, and the PAP can all fuck with your brain, so caffeine fucking with my brain is the least of my worries.

welcome back sister. glad your flu bout is over. tech firms where i am are providing not only multiple coffee, tea and fruit break kiosks in campuses and offices but also expresso machines with freshly roasted beans in pods for auto-grinding. an all-in-one grinding and brewing machine would cost around us$50k to us$100k plus maintenance. peets coffee beans are usually featured. this practice is to attract and retain employees and also to prevent them from going out and wasting time lining up at retail coffee stores such as philz, peets or starbucks. going up one notch further, google provides cafés in several locations in their campus fully staffed with baristas and custom-made beverages - juices, tea, coffee. employees don't pay. they just walk up to the various counters and order their drinks. facebook invited philz coffee to set up a store in their campus, and all drinks are provided free to employees and guests. apple has some nifty automated coffee machines and stations in their campuses. drip coffee the old fashioned way with ground coffee in bags in old corporate cultures will no longer do in the valley. those companies have a hard time retaining the best and brightest.

I washed a used Starbucks takeaway cup and put 3in1 coffee to be atas :D but it was my own used cup la

welcome back sister. glad your flu bout is over. tech firms where i am are providing not only multiple coffee, tea and fruit break kiosks in campuses and offices but also expresso machines with freshly roasted beans in pods for auto-grinding. an all-in-one grinding and brewing machine would cost around us$50k to us$100k plus maintenance. peets coffee beans are usually featured. this practice is to attract and retain employees and also to prevent them from going out and wasting time lining up at retail coffee stores such as philz, peets or starbucks. going up one notch further, google provides cafés in several locations in their campus fully staffed with baristas and custom-made beverages - juices, tea, coffee. employees don't pay. they just walk up to the various counters and order their drinks. facebook invited philz coffee to set up a store in their campus, and all drinks are provided free to employees and guests. apple has some nifty automated coffee machines and stations in their campuses. drip coffee the old fashioned way with ground coffee in bags in old corporate cultures will no longer do in the valley. those companies have a hard time retaining the best and brightest.

Sinkapore will soon follow ...NTUC will provide that service. NTUC will do anything and everything to squeeze out local business.