• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as President

mei mei

With a President that speaks like Ah Beng, Singapore's standard of English will decline, on the other hand, the local charities will benefit.

Tan Kin Lian to donate half of salary to charity if elected
20110708.114847_tankinlian070711.jpg

Presidential hopeful Tan Kin Lian, 63, believes that the Singapore presidency is a public service, and wants to use his salary to help more of society.

"I do not need to receive a large salary," he said. "I will pledge that i will donate at least 50 per cent of the salary to charity and other worthy causes."

At a news conference held yesterday (July 7), he reiterated his motivation to run for president.

He said: "Many people have told me they want a president who can be the voice of the people and also to be independent of the PAP government, and to safeguard their CPF savings and the national reserves.

"I am independent of the PAP government. I am not associated with the past policies of the PAP... If I have the chance to be the president, I will be able to bring alternate views. I believe these will be useful to find solutions that will be best for the people."

He also cites his experience in heading NTUC Income as a strong factor for being able to manage CPF savings and the national reserves.

"I have the financial knowledge and the experience to bring to the office. I have nurtured a life insurance company for 30 years looking after the savings of over one million policy holders, managing assets of $17 billion."

Re: Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as Presiden

Standard of English is not correlated to the type of president we've got. As it is, our standard of English is not much better than before. :D

Re: Standard of English will decline in Singapore if Tan Kin Lian elected as Presiden

Singaporeans will be very embarrassed if Tan Kin Lian open his mouth to talk in the international scene.. On that count, Singaporeans would rather have Lee Kuan Yew speak.

Better to have a President with bad English than to have another PAP donkey.

ah lian can speak in dialects! ... :eek:

Better to have a President with bad English than to have another PAP donkey.

There are always people like Chee Soon Juan, Vincent Wijeysingha,Michelle Lee, Chen Show Mao, Gerald Giam etc. whose spoken English will not embarrass Singapore.

Singaporeans will be very embarrassed if Tan Kin Lian open his mouth to talk in the international scene.. On that count, Singaporeans would rather have Lee Kuan Yew speak.

1. sucking up leh!
2. an lian can do in dialects or what.
3. not as if prataman is some fantastic speaker too.

Have not heard him speaking Bahasa. Can he?

With due respect, he is not responsible nor should he be held responsible for the standard of English/Singlish as an elected President.At least he can speak and understand English without the need for an interpreter, unlike many other world leaders. Also he is a non-native speaker. Despite his diction esp the way he mangles words ending with "tion" or "sion", he still comes across as coherent, believable and comfortable with holding court. I give him my support mainly because I think he is brave enough to stick his neck out and vie for the presidency unlike many other eligible men esp. in the private sector who are afraid of even their own shadows despite captaining huge companies.His pledge to donate 50% of his salary to charitable causes is also worthy of admiration considering that no one in government ever make such pledges. :)

Aside from not being a native speaker and despite being taught in a prestigious school he appears to have a defect that affects his speech. So there is constant "Sh" sound whenever he talks. Just a comment and hope it is not offensive.

and he blinks his eyes thru out the presentation:eek::D

<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Gfoz8hok5Fk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

... there is constant "Sh" sound whenever he talks. Just a comment and hope it is not offensive.
as long as he dozen extend his sh in2 sh*t ... can oredi ...

Singapore standard of English will decline, nay, drop like a rock down the cliff, if GMS gets into Parliament.

TKL has lots of practice speaking to NTUC agents under him. I listened to him before. He communicates very well, better than our mendacious pappy ministers and I don't understand the smearing going on.

As a matter of fact, most Singaporeans have not heard President Nathan speak in the international scene. Fact is, you don't normally hear the President. So, how to feel embarrassed? Relax, whoever is elected will do a competent job, because its not much of a job in the first place....

That is because Tan Kin Lian likes to talk, more than Nathan, Tan Kin Lian wants to be the people's president, even go to the extent of checking the constitution to see what he can or cannot do. You can be sure Tan Kin Lian will be the most talkative president, if elected.

"...the ink is black, the paper is white, together we learn to read and write.."

His pledge to donate 50% of his salary to charitable causes is also worthy of admiration considering that no one in government ever make such pledges. :)

We can consider ourselves lucky if those in government don't ask for an increase in salary.

I opine it is a waste that people like Walter Woon, Lee Tzu Yang and Ho Kwon Ping have not stepped forward. They are many times more credible and capable than PrataMan. They made it on their own without assistance from the establishment.

I would like to see TKL win and see him pledge 50% of the salary. This will maybe force the ministers to either donate 50% too or cut ministers' salaries by 50%.

Singapore standard of English will decline, nay, drop like a rock down the cliff, if GMS gets into Parliament.

No worries bro. 'England' standard goes south but our Economics standard will head north. Suddenly, everyone in S'pore will be an economist.