• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore to lose 200K FTs, but die-die PAP will love them back !

Tiu-leh-see-fart

You think PAP will let these pets go just like that, or these FT pets will go peacefully ?

Nothing in world will sadden PAP top dogs, this is a heart-rending story for PAP. They seed it, they love it, and everything in their livelihood is all about FT people. Without FTs, PAP will collapse !

So you see why die die die, PAP top dogs will create jobs for them to stay behind, turn them citizens, and vote for PAP. This is the only weapon left for PAP to stay in power.

The love affair between FT people and PAP will not be broken by financial crisis.
The singapore reserves will make the FTs love the PAP ocean deep.

Little Nyonya and the kueks may be touching to the low-IQ viewers, but this episode of PAP-FT love story will break the dense viewers' heart.

SINGAPORE, Jan 20, 2009 (AFP) - Tiny Singapore's population is expected to decline by 200,000 as companies lay off a massive number of foreign workers during a worsening recession, Swiss banking giant Credit Suisse said.

The job cuts, which would include highly-paid expatriates and permanent residents, will hurt domestic consumption and help push the economy into its sharpest decline since independence in 1965, said the report received by AFP on Tuesday.

A loss of 200,000 jobs would amount to more than four percent of the population.

Credit Suisse said the economic slowdown in the trade-sensitive city-state had so far been driven by a sharp decline in exports, while domestic demand held up.

But for this year, "consumption growth should also slow, in part because of our expectation that Singapore's population will potentially drop by 200,000 by 2010" due to job losses, it said.

"Historically, Singapore's foreign population has tended to expand during high growth periods and contract during recessionary periods," the report said.

"Given the strong foreigner population growth in recent years, this trend is unlikely to change in this downturn."

Of the 800,000 jobs created from 2004 to the third quarter of last year, Credit Suisse estimated that more than 500,000 were filled by foreigners and permanent residents.

About 200,000 of those jobs were in manufacturing and almost another 200,000 were in the financial and business services. Most of these jobs were filled by expatriate workers who earn more than the average Singaporean, it said.

"As a result, job losses are likely to hit the Singaporean economy hard because they affect more highly paid workers and could result in a semi-permanent drop in the population," the report said.

As of mid-2008, Singapore had a total estimated population of 4.84 million people, including 3.64 million citizens and permanent residents, Statistics Department data showed. The rest, more than one million, are foreign workers and their families.

With the impact of falling domestic demand exacerbating declining exports, the economy was likely to contract by 2.8 percent this year, Credit Suisse said.

This would leave the economy in its worse shape ever, after 2001 when it shrank by 2.4 percent.

The economy grew 1.5 percent last year compared with 7.7 percent in 2007.

Despite the expected layoffs, Singapore's Acting Minister for Manpower Gan Kim Yong said the city-state would still need overseas labour.

Gan said that foreign workers allowed Singapore companies to remain globally competitive and contributed to keeping jobs within the country.

"If companies become uncompetitive in Singapore, they may decide to relocate to other countries and we will lose more jobs. This will be a lose-lose outcome," he said in parliament Monday.

eeoror88

You do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many foreigners will be "encouraged" to work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans coupled with the increase in the number of singles and divorcees here.

These younger foreigners will be replacement and will form a significant backbone to "support" the aged through contributing economically to the country.

As it is, there are only 2.3 million citizens here and are rapidly aging.

Q

Qinhuang

So, stop at two or two is enough was a preparation for now and the future.

What a divine prophecy by the ancient relic.

These Aliens can work at the shipyard. No problems.

eeoror88

Despite the gahmen's incentives, there is no improvement in the replacement birth rate. This problem is compounded by the increasing number of singles and divorcees here.

By encouraging foreigners to take up citizenship here is one of the significant way to address this paramount problem !!

As it is, we have only a paltry 2.3 million registered citizens here and is rapidly aging fast.:(

blader

Despite the gahmen's incentives, there is no improvement in the replacement birth rate. This problem is compounded by the increasing number of singles and divorcees here.

By encouraging foreigners to take up citizenship here is one of the significant way to address this paramount problem !!

As it is, we have only a paltry 2.3 million registered citizens here and is rapidly aging fast.:(
INCENTIVES VS COST OF LIVING
What will you choose?

congo9

Their incentive is just an TOKEN.

Since singkie has no back bone , just import more PRC to replace them. According to the IMMORTAL, once election comes, give them a few hundred dollars and they will craw back to them like a dog, asking for more vaseline for another 5 yrs down the road! The process repeat again and again.

So, to the IMMORTAL , to solve the problem and without breaking the bank , they allow Singaporean to leave in drove. The cheaper solution is to import 3 World ppl from 3rd World Nation . So , u have instant population increase dramatically. GDP goes up , my salary also goes up too.Cheap Cheap solution !

Simple solution to a complex situation and I MADE hell lot of money out of it !

G

GordonGekko

How can SPGs satisfy their Pinkerton Syndrome when Ang Moh Tua Kee expats are losing their jobs en masse and they are being sent back to their home countries by their companies?

In 2005, I noticed that there's way too many AMTKs in Sg. I thought to myself back then that most of them will return to their home countries when (not if) the US real estate bubble burst causing a global recession!

G

GordonGekko

How can the birth rate rise when couples sense that the economy is turning from a recession into a depression??

VIBGYOR

You do not need rocket science to deduce the reason as to why so many foreigners will be "encouraged" to work and settle here as citizens and PRs.

The paramount reason is the extremely low birth rate and the increase in the number of aged Singaporeans coupled with the increase in the number of singles and divorcees here.

These younger foreigners will be replacement and will form a significant backbone to "support" the aged through contributing economically to the country.

As it is, there are only 2.3 million citizens here and are rapidly aging.

you dun talk cock lah, what is your contribution to our nation's low birth rates?

all you want is just cheap labour so that your profit margin is higher!