• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore invests in OZ's defence

Singapore will invest up to US$1.67 billion in Australia's defence infrastructure and hike troop numbers it sends for training, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said Friday.

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/australia-gets-singapore-defence-investment-boost-063437583.html

Fucking PAP. We spend USD $1.67 billion to create thousands of jobs for Aussies. In the mean time, we have break down in our own infrastucture like MRTs, hospitals not enough beds (patients sleeping in tents and hallways), etc. We sure could use the USD$1.67 billion here.

Its a good because now ministers have an excuse to fly to aussie for holidays on official accounts paid by tax payers. That will not work if they have defence agreement with papua new guinea, which is more appropriate place for training.

chucky

Holly crap this is very different from what we read in the straits times:

Singapore will invest up to US$1.67 billion in Australia's defence infrastructure and hike troop numbers it sends for training, Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull said Friday.

The new agreement also includes commitments to open markets and trade and increase collaboration in science and research, he said, adding it would create thousands of jobs in northern Australia.

"We will jointly develop military training facilities in northern Queensland which will be fully funded by Singapore," the prime minister told reporters.

"Singapore will invest up to two-and-a-quarter billion dollars (US$1.67 billion) in the expansion of two of our most important military training facilities," he said, naming Shoalwater Bay and Townsville.

Turnbull said upgrading the Free Trade Agreement between the countries would make it much easier for Australians to live and work in Singapore.

"This is a great day for the Australian Singapore relationship," he said, dismissing concerns that deeper ties between Canberra and Singapore could rankle China.

Some 6,600 Singaporean troops already train each year in northern Australia. Under the new deal this will climb to 14,000, staying for 18 weeks instead of the current six, trade envoy Andrew Robb said.

Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said the Comprehensive Strategic Partnership (CSP) signed with Canberra last year was "an ambitious package covering many aspects of our relationship".

"Our two countries are politically like-minded, strategically aligned and economically complementary. We have much to gain by working closely together," he said in a statement.

Singapore is Australia's fifth-largest trading partner, with gold and crude petroleum key exports.

As it looks to Asian markets for growth, Australia will encourage greater collaboration in research with Singapore and locate one of its five start-up "landing pads" in the city state to promote innovation and entrepreneurship.

RandomNexus

Holly crap this is very different from what we read in the straits times:

"Singapore will invest up to two-and-a-quarter billion dollars (US$1.67 billion) in the expansion of two of our most important military training facilities," he said, naming Shoalwater Bay and Townsville.

Some 6,600 Singaporean troops already train each year in northern Australia. Under the new deal this will climb to 14,000, staying for 18 weeks instead of the current six, trade envoy Andrew Robb said.

Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said the Comprehensive Strategic Partnership (CSP) signed with Canberra last year was "an ambitious package covering many aspects of our relationship".

"Our two countries are politically like-minded, strategically aligned and economically complementary. We have much to gain by working closely together," he said in a statement.

As it looks to Asian markets for growth, Australia will encourage greater collaboration in research with Singapore and locate one of its five start-up "landing pads" in the city state to promote innovation and entrepreneurship.

It is a right strategic move for Singapore and for the long term.

Singapore is just a dot and there is no strategic depth at all. Just send your planes to bomb this dot, and everything you have built will disapppear in an instant.

Secondly, you need nearby training facilities and bases for your military given the smallness of this island. The land in Australia can be used for sorts of military training that Singapore needs. Australia is now moving to focus on economic viability with the downturn in commodities' prices and this partnership is an economic boost with its abundant land.

Do you have a choice? No good ones but nevertheless you try something. Hence this explains why you have Thailand and Brunei as nearby places. We used to have Taiwan until it became politically unacceptable due to China's dominance. Australia might be a bit far but it is better than nothing. Notably this close cooperation is a spark to economic partnerships. Being close friends diplomatically is crucial for Singapore's longterm survival.

xebay11

I am happy that more Australians are welcome to live and work in Singapore, good thing I took the initiative to let my girl be born there as an Australian.

i believe all these precautions and the buying of billion dollar jet upgrades,puma helicopters and integrated rescue mission boats from australia and US and allies are to ensure that our exceptional elites have many viable options and safe havens to run to should singapore ever be invaded or collapse.

If you have watched Singapore over the last 30 years, it will wait until the Singapore dollars reaches parity with AUD and they will do a mammoth deal. Without fail like clockwork. At least 4 ministries work hand in hand to work this out and as the land for infrastructure and housing in Singapore is needed. That location is also used by US, NATO etc.

aerobwala

machiam like KMT run to Taiwan ?

i believe all these precautions and the buying of billion dollar jet upgrades,puma helicopters and integrated rescue mission boats from australia and US and allies are to ensure that our exceptional elites have many viable options and safe havens to run to should singapore ever be invaded or collapse.

Brightkid

What is the point of allies being 8 hours flying time away?

Maybe SG's paper generals still think that enemies will cycle down from JB, just like the Japanese in WWII? Even so, SG was overran in matter of couple days.

As a saying goes : far water cannot put out near fire (literary)

That billion dollar budget would have created so many jobs for citizens, or at least help out the poor with 3 meals in hawker centers. Or at least make it easier for sinkies to migrate to Aust. But I guess the Aussies are much smarter than that.

Someone need to query PAP. Not sure if CSJ will have this honor.

Fucking PAP. We spend USD $1.67 billion to create thousands of jobs for Aussies. In the mean time, we have break down in our own infrastucture like MRTs, hospitals not enough beds (patients sleeping in tents and hallways), etc. We sure could use the USD$1.67 billion here.

absolutely agree, and i am with you on this. spending even half that amount here in S'pore, for S'poreans, will go a long, long way to solving some of the more urgent problems confronting S'poreans.

Asterix

Aussies and Sinkies are made for each other, both equally dumb .......

But there were two important reminders. First, gambling is a simply huge global addiction. And second, this addiction comes at a huge social cost. In Hong Kong, when we think of gambling, we tend to think of horse racing, but by far the biggest money-earners in the global gambling industry are soccer betting, casinos, lotteries, and mind-numbing slot-machines and pachinko parlours. Recent research by the Economist reveals that the world’s biggest gambling losers come from Australia – losses average over US$1000 per person per year, most of it lost on mindless slot-machines.

The next biggest losers are perhaps surprising. The Economist discovered that Singapore is home to the second biggest losers – losses average US$930 per man, woman and child, with Finland third, losing an average US$600 per capita. Americans lose a comparatively modest US$480 per person, but because of its larger population, it is still home to the world’s biggest gambling losses – estimated at US$119 billion last year. Japanese, with their thousands of pachinko parlours, lost around US$100 billion last year.

http://www.scmp.com/business/articl...me-worlds-biggest-losers-thanks-one-addiction

It is a right strategic move for Singapore and for the long term.

Singapore is just a dot and there is no strategic depth at all. Just send your planes to bomb this dot, and everything you have built will disapppear in an instant.

Secondly, you need nearby training facilities and bases for your military given the smallness of this island. The land in Australia can be used for sorts of military training that Singapore needs. Australia is now moving to focus on economic viability with the downturn in commodities' prices and this partnership is an economic boost with its abundant land.

Do you have a choice? No good ones but nevertheless you try something. Hence this explains why you have Thailand and Brunei as nearby places. We used to have Taiwan until it became politically unacceptable due to China's dominance. Australia might be a bit far but it is better than nothing. Notably this close cooperation is a spark to economic partnerships. Being close friends diplomatically is crucial for Singapore's longterm survival.

U are spouting shit just like any brain dead sinkie indoctrinated by the PAP. I have 2 questions to ask you.

1) Whose country's planes will bomb this little dot?
2) Why will they do it?

If you can answer these questions logically, I will be your greatest admirer.

There is only 3 places they will run to. And one is a short term transition place.

If you have watched Singapore over the last 30 years, it will wait until the Singapore dollars reaches parity with AUD and they will do a mammoth deal. Without fail like clockwork. At least 4 ministries work hand in hand to work this out and as the land for infrastructure and housing in Singapore is needed. That location is also used by US, NATO etc.

What has the deal got to do with Sing-AUD parity? U think they spend all that money in one shot in the same year? The exchange rate can change drastically in a matter of weeks. Ravi does not have that kind of pull to dictate the exchange rate. Are you a simpleton?

absolutely agree, and i am with you on this. spending even half that amount here in S'pore, for S'poreans, will go a long, long way to solving some of the more urgent problems confronting S'poreans.

Its all PAP corruption money. U can't have so many scholar generals if you have a small army. But if you have a large army (necessitating overseas training bases and many expensive equipment) to accommodate all your scholar generals, then you need a large useless defence budget. Sinkies too stupid to see this is a long time backside screw. Its as painful as the HDB/CPF screw. But they don't know it.

You alway fix the currency rate at a particular point in time no matter how long the duration. The respective parties then will have to decide how to hedge their currency exposure if they want to. Even small time importer and exporter or traders do that.

What has the deal got to do with Sing-AUD parity? U think they spend all that money in one shot in the same year? The exchange rate can change drastically in a matter of weeks. Ravi does not have that kind of pull to dictate the exchange rate. Are you a simpleton?

TeamDrifter

You didn't answer his question whether you are a simpleton.

You alway fix the currency rate at a particular point in time no matter how long the duration. The respective parties then will have to decide how to hedge their currency exposure if they want to. Even small time importer and exporter or traders do that.

Can tell us where are these 3 places?

If they need to get out in a very quick hurry, first transit stop is Brunei. After that, they have a choice of USA or Israel to run to. If they have some forewarning, they can try for the US right away. It depends on the range of the getaway plane available to them. In MArcos case, he ran to Hawaii.