• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore Hainanese heritage explored in 2 new books

Why never include the contribution made by Mah Bow Tan to Singapore? He made our flat price increase in such a speed that some had exceeded 1 million!

20130928_people_ST%20%281%29.jpg

Former MP and clan leader Chau Sik Ting, now 73, wants to promote the research of Hainanese culture and heritage, as well as the Chinese dialect group's contributions to modern Singapore.

The general practitioner and MP for Thomson between 1980 and 1984 formed the Hainan Culture and Heritage Research Centre in 2011.

The centre has just published its first two books - a two-volume set in Chinese - featuring nine top Hainanese in Singapore including economist Lim Chong Yah and former minister Mah Bow Tan, and a collection of essays on the history of Hainanese migration. Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Lawrence Wong launched the centre and the books at a dinner attended by about 300 guests at the Marriott Hotel last Friday night.

Dr Chau, a former president of the Singapore Hainan Hwee Kuan, said the centre aims to leave "something" behind for the Hainanese community here which is about 200,000 strong.

It is the fourth-largest Chinese dialect group here after the Hokkiens, Teochews and Cantonese.

"We want them to know what their forefathers have done for Singapore and hope that their spirit of adventure, hard work and perseverance will inspire them," added Dr Chau who chairs the centre.

The centre's secretary-general Foo Kok Pheow, 73, said it would also be linking up with Hainanese from all over the world with its programmes.

The books' chief editor Lim Hong Too, 83, said the volume of essays comprises mainly papers from Chinese scholars who attended a seminar on Hainanese migration organised by the centre in China two years ago.

Miss Vicky Han, 52, writer of the two-volume book of profiles, said it took her two years to complete the task.

Other personalities she featured are the late Confucian scholar Wu Teh Yao, retired civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow, Great Eastern Holdings chairman Fang Ai Lian, real estate veteran Han Cheng Fong and SIM University chairman Cham Tao Soon.

Also featured are Dr Chau's late father Chao Yoke San, a Chinese community leader and philanthropist, and Dr Chau's younger brother, Court of Appeal Judge Chao Hick Tin.

The centre is organising a public forum on Hainanese migration and the two new books at the Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations in Toa Payoh today between 2pm and 5pm. Admission is free.

[email protected]

eaturing nine top Hainanese in Singapore including economist Lim Chong Yah and former minister Mah Bow Tan, and a collection of essays on the history of Hainanese migration.....

.....Other personalities she featured are the late Confucian scholar Wu Teh Yao, retired civil servant Ngiam Tong Dow, Great Eastern Holdings chairman Fang Ai Lian, real estate veteran Han Cheng Fong and SIM University chairman Cham Tao Soon.

buay lu mai siao chee... why never features me?

htgoh.jpg

If MBT is the poster boy of the hainanese, he might be a target of a hainanese hit squad as he will make them look bad,,and where is my favourite Worker's Party Hainan Gal?? she should be featured...:D

Hey Bro,,,u not shitting me? Got More Shit is a Hainan? wah another name to add in the Hainan hit squad list...

yeah confirm prus chop

one feng shui master say before due to the geomancy of our ancestral home, hainanese can't make it in politics one. better to be in business, civil service or academics.

U hainan ah? that is good,,and i think u are right,.,i heard in the past,,many tow kays are hainan,,and of course good food etc is also associated with hainan,,especially western food,,,

yeah confirm prus chop

one feng shui master say before due to the geomancy of our ancestral home, hainanese can't make it in politics one. better to be in business, civil service or academics.

while it is interesting to go back to roots and look at the achievements of people from various dialect groups, I'm sure each group be it Hakka, Cantonese, Hokkien, will find plenty of prominent people and grand achievements.

While we celebrate these achievements, lets not forget we are all singaporeans not a collection of groups of pple.

The Hailam people are known to take on govt jobs and part-take in opposition politics as their ancestors consists of 2 groups..... dissidents and officials. So we see disproportionate number of opposition members from this group and unusual number of civil servants that are hainanese,.

Really? They must be high class hainanese. 8/10 of my older relatives are cooks and sailors.

The Hainanese had every reason to be proud UNTIL Mah Bow Tan became a minister. :eek:

I have info that 80% of this forum's members are Hainanese, including Leongsam.

Leongsam = Boh Bak Tee

Hainanese are known to be too blunt with their words, how to become politician?

yeah confirm prus chop

Do you know...

People remember MBT for implementing the COE, ERP and reducing HDB supply drastically by starting the BTO.

Before BTO, couples during our parents' generation could just walk into the HDB, choose to buy a flat on the spot and get married.

But few people remembered that MBT was also the FAS Chairman who took the Singapore football team out of the Malaysia Cup to start the S-League....

MBT is downright incompetent,,dont forget when he 1st contested the erection, he contested potong pasir and lost to CST? than he got into parleement via the back door GRC thing..he has destroyed the lives of many in singapore and he should be shot,,

Do you know...

People remember MBT for implementing the COE, ERP and reducing HDB supply drastically by starting the BTO.

Before BTO, couples during our parents' generation could just walk into the HDB, choose to buy a flat on the spot and get married.

But few people remembered that MBT was also the FAS Chairman who took the Singapore football team out of the Malaysia Cup to start the S-League....

Many hainanese were SS.
Hylam street 1,2,3.....mata also dare not step in.
Hylam samseng from See Tong started holland's Ah Gong gang.