• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SPH say grumpy Singaporeans just like to complain

†††††

A happy nation of grumblers
Appearing happy seems to be a social taboo in Singapore
By Jeremy Au Yong

EAVESDROP on any coffee shop conversation, and chances are you will hear complaints of how tough life is in Singapore. If you believe the kopi tiam chatter, this is the picture you would get of life here: Every day, weary Singaporeans leave the flats they can barely afford, take a long, overcrowded bus or MRT ride for which they may be overcharged, to get to a job that they fear losing to a cheaper foreign worker.

So, it must have been quite bewildering for some Singaporeans - including me - to read that American explorer and author Dan Buettner considers Singapore one of the happiest places in the world.

My initial instinct was to dismiss the views of a foreigner who has spent all of four weeks in Singapore, and whose research seems to go little further than interviewing a handful of members from the country's upper rungs.

After all, other surveys rank Singapore as middle-of-the-road unhappy. The Happy Planet Index released last year, for instance, ranks Singapore 49th out of 143 countries - behind nearly all our Asean neighbours. This seems more intuitively in sync with the picture of Singaporeans as I know it.

But then, Mr Buettner's assertions are also based on a happiness survey. He relied on data from Gallup, the World Values Survey and the World Database on Happiness, which have done comprehensive polls and studies over the past seven decades examining factors that impact happiness directly.

And he used these to identify the happiest places on earth. From there, he began to study why these places were so happy.

The World Database of Happiness, which, like the Happy Planet Index, is also a survey asking people how happy they are, seems to have caught us in a good mood. Poll results put us as the second happiest place in Asia, behind the people of the United Arab Emirates.

When looking at why a place is happy, Mr Buettner considered factors that one may not have traditionally thought had that much to do with happiness - things like community tolerance, safety, trust in government, good housing, health care and social mobility.

On that scorecard, he found that Singapore did very well.

But his findings seem to fly in the face of daily experience here. Singaporeans, after all, are champion complainers.

So the question is: How happy are we really? And if we are as happy as Mr Buettner says, why do we always complain and seem so grumpy?

I did not have the means to conduct my own nationwide happiness survey, so I settled on an informal poll of one - myself.

And I found that when I actually thought about it, I ended up counting my blessings more than my misfortunes.

I ranked my happiness at seven on a scale of one to 10, which turns out to be consistent with the average 6.9 score for Singapore recorded by the World Happiness Database.

Then, I asked a friend how happy she thought I was, and she gave me a five. Apparently, I complain a lot.

That, for me, explains the apparent gap between my assessment of Singapore's happiness and Mr Buettner's.

You see, it has become part of our culture to amplify our unhappiness and diminish our joy in public. Do otherwise, and you will find yourself ostracised.

In other words, appearing happy is a social taboo here.

Just think about every time you have asked someone how they are doing. If they are having a bad day, they will quite readily declare how rotten times are and how difficult life is.

And if you are not just making idle chit-chat, the two of you may even launch into a traditional 'bitch-off' to see who can produce the more compelling litany of life's misfortunes.

Conversations like this might end with one party conceding: 'You win, your life sucks more than mine.'

And even if you ask someone who is having a pretty good day how he is, the most positive response you are going to get is 'so-so' or 'okay'.

The person may have just won the lottery, received a big raise and discovered he is going to become a father all on the same day, and the most you are going to get out of him is 'not bad'.

And as every Singaporean knows, that understated 'not bad' translates to 'very good, but I don't dare say it in case you think I am showing off or worse, in case the gods are listening and I get bad luck after saying it'.

It is rare to hear someone declare they are having a 'great' or 'fantastic' day. Chances are, we would not know how to proceed with such a line of conversation. A likely rejoinder would be to bring the person down a notch: 'Oh, good for you. If only we could all be so lucky.'

The end result is social intercourse where no one dares to express happiness, but everyone enjoys sounding grumpy.

Indeed, if one day we were to have nothing to complain about, we would have nothing to say to each other. All this adds up to everyone projecting a public image that is quite a bit unhappier than they really are.

This would explain why Singaporeans complain a lot and seem to be unhappy in public, but confess to relative joy under the cover of an anonymous survey.

Now, there is nothing inherently wrong with that - some might call it a case of humility and good manners - but the danger is if we start to believe our own unhappy hype.

My own solution to avoiding this trap has been to take a step back once in a while and conduct a frank assessment of how unhappy I actually am.

I also frequently indulge in activities that make me happy: Having a good meal, sleeping in on weekends and, of course, gathering with friends and family...for a good grumble.

[email protected]

He is just one happy prostitute,the reason he is very happy is understandable

MONEY GOT ENOUGH!

KNN , singapore govt got to be satisfied that Singaporean only complain. wait till they go China and Europe , they will have riot all over.

KNN, seems to us that PAP don't ever appreciate ppl who just complain !!!

ah jeremy ...

wtf is wrong wif grumbling? ...

u mean all peasants shud b like ...

ah u lidat ... go n scold ppl as daft? ...

ah sing lidat ... scold ppl in public 4 being bochap on his car bomb game? ...

A happy nation of grumblers
Appearing happy seems to be a social taboo in Singapore
By Jeremy Au Yong

EAVESDROP on any coffee shop conversation, and chances are you will hear complaints of how tough life is in Singapore. If you believe the kopi tiam chatter, this is the picture you would get of life here: Every day, weary Singaporeans leave the flats they can barely afford, take a long, overcrowded bus or MRT ride for which they may be overcharged, to get to a job that they fear losing to a cheaper foreign worker.

So, it must have been quite bewildering for some Singaporeans - including me - to read that American explorer and author Dan Buettner considers Singapore one of the happiest places in the world.

My initial instinct was to dismiss the views of a foreigner who has spent all of four weeks in Singapore, and whose research seems to go little further than interviewing a handful of members from the country's upper rungs.

After all, other surveys rank Singapore as middle-of-the-road unhappy. The Happy Planet Index released last year, for instance, ranks Singapore 49th out of 143 countries - behind nearly all our Asean neighbours. This seems more intuitively in sync with the picture of Singaporeans as I know it.

But then, Mr Buettner's assertions are also based on a happiness survey. He relied on data from Gallup, the World Values Survey and the World Database on Happiness, which have done comprehensive polls and studies over the past seven decades examining factors that impact happiness directly.

And he used these to identify the happiest places on earth. From there, he began to study why these places were so happy.

The World Database of Happiness, which, like the Happy Planet Index, is also a survey asking people how happy they are, seems to have caught us in a good mood. Poll results put us as the second happiest place in Asia, behind the people of the United Arab Emirates.

When looking at why a place is happy, Mr Buettner considered factors that one may not have traditionally thought had that much to do with happiness - things like community tolerance, safety, trust in government, good housing, health care and social mobility.

On that scorecard, he found that Singapore did very well.

But his findings seem to fly in the face of daily experience here. Singaporeans, after all, are champion complainers.

So the question is: How happy are we really? And if we are as happy as Mr Buettner says, why do we always complain and seem so grumpy?

I did not have the means to conduct my own nationwide happiness survey, so I settled on an informal poll of one - myself.

And I found that when I actually thought about it, I ended up counting my blessings more than my misfortunes.

I ranked my happiness at seven on a scale of one to 10, which turns out to be consistent with the average 6.9 score for Singapore recorded by the World Happiness Database.

Then, I asked a friend how happy she thought I was, and she gave me a five. Apparently, I complain a lot.

That, for me, explains the apparent gap between my assessment of Singapore's happiness and Mr Buettner's.

You see, it has become part of our culture to amplify our unhappiness and diminish our joy in public. Do otherwise, and you will find yourself ostracised.

In other words, appearing happy is a social taboo here.

Just think about every time you have asked someone how they are doing. If they are having a bad day, they will quite readily declare how rotten times are and how difficult life is.

And if you are not just making idle chit-chat, the two of you may even launch into a traditional 'bitch-off' to see who can produce the more compelling litany of life's misfortunes.

Conversations like this might end with one party conceding: 'You win, your life sucks more than mine.'

And even if you ask someone who is having a pretty good day how he is, the most positive response you are going to get is 'so-so' or 'okay'.

The person may have just won the lottery, received a big raise and discovered he is going to become a father all on the same day, and the most you are going to get out of him is 'not bad'.

And as every Singaporean knows, that understated 'not bad' translates to 'very good, but I don't dare say it in case you think I am showing off or worse, in case the gods are listening and I get bad luck after saying it'.

It is rare to hear someone declare they are having a 'great' or 'fantastic' day. Chances are, we would not know how to proceed with such a line of conversation. A likely rejoinder would be to bring the person down a notch: 'Oh, good for you. If only we could all be so lucky.'

The end result is social intercourse where no one dares to express happiness, but everyone enjoys sounding grumpy.

Indeed, if one day we were to have nothing to complain about, we would have nothing to say to each other. All this adds up to everyone projecting a public image that is quite a bit unhappier than they really are.

This would explain why Singaporeans complain a lot and seem to be unhappy in public, but confess to relative joy under the cover of an anonymous survey.

Now, there is nothing inherently wrong with that - some might call it a case of humility and good manners - but the danger is if we start to believe our own unhappy hype.

My own solution to avoiding this trap has been to take a step back once in a while and conduct a frank assessment of how unhappy I actually am.

I also frequently indulge in activities that make me happy: Having a good meal, sleeping in on weekends and, of course, gathering with friends and family...for a good grumble.

[email protected]

wahlaneh...
why must post 2 similar posts with different titles?:confused:

Grumblings of Sporeans is the report card on the PAP's performance as a gov't.

What foreigners think is really irrelevant, since they don't vote for the gv't of Spore.

If sgers turn to DIY and keep mouth shut, that will be the end of PAP.

Afterall, sgers have to settle their own retirement/security/housing/jobs, why need the gov?

yah and 9 out of 10 men u see have this black angry face like u owe them money like dat.

(response: that is why i migrate, i see which country has happy people and join them. now singapore people call me siao.)

He is just one happy prostitute,the reason he is very happy is understandable

MONEY GOT ENOUGH!

1. bro, bingo!
2. another happy sheep blah, blah and more blahs.
3. no substance too.
4. oh ya! i am happy if i eat ikan bilis.
5. some sheep is unhappy with ikan bilis and demand only shark fin.
6. just because some low-life white wrote sheepishland being happy, must all sheep buy that stuff off from the shelf.
7. jeremy, got the guts do the survey among the heartlanders.
8. don't just like behind some desk penning away, aimlessly, just getting paid for it.

the complaining started when MIW complain their pay too low.

1. bro, not just that one hoh!
2. miw also complain about sheep complaining about low salary too!

Only losers complain.

When did you see the top earners and business owners make lame whimpers?

Successful people like me are busy enjoying the fruits of labors and keeping the peasants' ambition in check

Instead of complaining, Sinkie peasants should look in the mirror and ask themselves why they spent their youth playing with sluts/ToTo and not studying/working hard

The reporter is in denial mode. People complained for a reason, instead of blaming Singaporean, they should investigate the root of such complaints. Such report is like showing off to his master that he is worth some salt for writing something PAP loves to hear and hopefully get good bonus during christmas time. Someday, this reporter will complain more than anyone else if his live happened to go downhill. Trust me, he will be the worse grumbler than anyone else here.

wahlaneh...
i kana warning for copying whole chunk of post liao.:(
soli soli pls give me another chance.:o

Better watch it, auntie Sammie gives infractions to those he thinks quotes large chunks.

An example of a grumpy Sporean's behaviour or in this case grumpy ex-Sporean behaviour :)

Only losers complain.

Pity the Sporean citizens who are being criticised for daring to complain about local matters that will personally affect them. Matters that will affect their family, their homes, health, future,....

Some even claim that only those willing to go into politics have a right to criticise the gov't. :eek:

Some PAP MPs think they deserve top pay equivalent to the bizness world, but are too thin skin about criticism that they have gone to court to settle matters :rolleyes:

Is it any wonder why so many Sporeans feel like 3rd class citizens :confused:

Pity the Sporean citizens who are being criticised for daring to complain about local matters that will personally affect them. Matters that will affect their family, their homes, health, future,....

Some even claim that only those willing to go into politics have a right to criticise the gov't. :eek:

Some PAP MPs think they deserve top pay equivalent to the bizness world, but are too thin skin about criticism that they have gone to court to settle matters :rolleyes:

Is it any wonder why so many Sporeans feel like 3rd class citizens :confused:

the biggest complainant is lionel dog souza who likes to write to papers to complain about petty issues. today he wrote to today online about giving awards to FT. this lionel dog is a fucking traitor :oIo:

Actually grumpling and complaining and gossiping are forms for peasants to let out steam...a kind of pressure relief valves.
I don't grumple, complain and gossip.....that is why i become more n more kuku each passing day.

Only losers complain.

Successful people like me are busy enjoying the fruits of labors and keeping the peasants' ambition in check

Instead of complaining, Sinkie peasants should look in the mirror and ask themselves why they spent their youth playing with sluts/ToTo and not studying/working hard

1. bro, my foot!