South east district needy s'poreans made to jump like dogs for free rice

sgnewsalte

South East District residents skip in exchange for rice
By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 20 December 2009 2258 hrs

SINGAPORE: People have jogged, cycled and swum for charity.

Now, in a unique two-month challenge, residents of South East District skipped more than two million times - in exchange for rice.

The skipping event started in October through a series of more than 40 road shows, ending on Sunday.

And for every 20 skips, residents received a bowl of brown rice donated by sponsor Lam Soon.

More than 9,000 residents participated, receiving over 100,000 bowls of rice.

The winner for a special challenge for the most number of skips in an hour clocked in more than 11,000 skips. - CNA/de

damn insulting! ...

tis is not ze same as jog, cycle or swim 4 charity ...

nex time, dey wil ask u 2 climb trees or bark ... in xchange 4 ur rice ... :mad:

I also ask my dogs to sit, roll over before i give them the treats :D:D:D

KNN must skip 20 times then can get 1 bowl of rice, knnccb wanto to do charity pls do with sincerity, dont come up with such gimmick to grab publicity, u think how many times can poor ahpek and ahma skip rope? KNNBCCB

how could thin and hungry people even jump one or 2 times? :D

lucky tua bui kia leetahbar never join, or else earthquake liao....think when the organizer see him coming, they give him 10 kg rice and tell him to FO :D

wah Xmas is coming be nice to people lah....:D