something is wrong with DBS

This is one of the recent safety measures (including the disabling of the use of your ATM in foreign countries)

I was in Bangkok last month and tried to withdraw money from ATM without succeed when came back here got letter telling me _ there was an attempt on your card to withdraw large amount from ATM oversea so we disabled your card

Citibank is going to implement that policy from July onwards:confused:

Your bank must want to protect their money:eek: Was it DBS:confused:

breakdown of atms so common...when i urgently need money, atm breaks down.or no money./no cash.....nahbeh! and also long queues and long long people with long long faces....some really siao people doing all sorts of things at the atms....i think banks should just let withdrawals at certain atms and nothing else. some people really hoard at atms and stay for hours!!!!!!!!!! if you are behind good luck!!!

... there was an attempt on your card to withdraw large amount from ATM oversea so we disabled your card
nax time, wifdraw small, tiny, miserly amounts a few, numerous, many times ...

the SMS goes with the message indicating the amount withdrawn, coupled with the last 4 digits of the card used for the withdrawal. the last two cases me heard, withdrawal amount was a grand each, upon checking at the account, it is intact, i.e. no withdrawal was made, false alarm sent, OR, notification was sent to a wrong number.

Two weeks ago, a colleague received SMS on a Monday afternoon, telling him that $1000 had just been withdrawn from her ATM card and given a number to call if no such withdrawal had taken place. After 'pressing' all sorts of digits based on the crazy DBS phone menu, managed to speak to a Pinoy lady. THEN was told that for unauthorised withdrawals, she needed to call a different number. FCUK, they gave a number on the SMS and then tell people that it was the wrong number.

Still in panic-mode, she called the other number and another Pinoy lady said she will check and call her back. About one hour later, the lady called back and said the message was for the $1,000 she had withdrawn a few days earlier, on Saturday. She DID withdraw the said amount on that day but the SMS gave the impression that the money had JUST been withdrawn.

Welcome to DBS - "We are Asia"

I dunno what is wrong with DBS cos I have stopped using DBS for years.

You see a lot of Singaporeans KPKB about DBS, like long queue, poor security, poor service, Ah Neh CEO etc..

But at the end of the day, they still gwai gwai bank with DBS and queue at those bloody long ATM queue. I cannot fathom!

Two weeks ago, a colleague received SMS on a Monday afternoon, telling him that $1000 had just been withdrawn from her ATM card and given a number to call if no such withdrawal had taken place.

bro,
me is confused, is this colleague of yours a him or her? :o:o:o

I dunno what is wrong with DBS cos I have stopped using DBS for years.

bro,

me presume that a lot of so called DBS customers used to be POSB customers, now no choice because DBS taken over POSB, me is one of those :p:p:p

POSB was then the people's bank, so me guess it is a sense of familiarity :o:o:o

When withdraw large amount $1k there will be SMS.
$200 no SMS.
There always some people complaint and some people praise.

bro,

me presume that a lot of so called DBS customers used to be POSB customers, now no choice because DBS taken over POSB, me is one of those :p:p:p

POSB was then the people's bank, so me guess it is a sense of familiarity :o:o:o

When DBS took over POSB many friends, colleagues, etc closed their accounts. I also eventually closed my account. Sometimes nostalgia has to make way for "Hard truths" :o

The new reality is that POSB is no more. It's just another inefficient state monopoly run by so called scholars or foreign talent:rolleyes:

bro,

Bro, the first step to change is always difficult...

1. Change all your GIRO to OCBC or UOB account
2. If you salary goes to your POSB account, change that arrangement too.
3. If (2) above not possible, then do a monthly fund transfer (via internet or standing instruction) to OCBC or UOB account
4. Maintain the min $500 in your POSB account.

I did step 1,2,3 and 4 above!!

Bro, the first step to change is always diffcult

thanks bro, me had done steps 3 & 4 :p:p:p
steps 1 & 2, not yet, me keep the POSB account for expenditures, minimum sum kept.

but first time I could, second time then could not liao

You didn't tell the bank, who is now your 'MOTHER", ( they look after your money so tightly) that you are trying very hard in Bangkok to steal money from you bank account. Won't be surprise the bank will ask you, " who are you", you have to bring your ma & dad to the bank to verify that! ha ha ha

Aren't you ever so thankful that the banks here look after you...it is your money, you can't take it out, when you are overseas and in need. ( sounds like your CPF money also ha ha ha). Be thankful

one uncle got trouble with his wife.he went to casino and withdrew $1500. wife immediately called him and scolded him. come back you idiot! wife got sms from bank!!!!!! cannot run away. cannot cheat anymore. cannot gamble anymore!!!

this sms good or bad? you withdraw money to give to your mistress or girl friend, wife surely knows now!!!..a breach of confidentiality? most seniors and elderly got joint account...so it's a safe way to keep each other informed.

i got one retired uncle....returned home and all his money gone!!!....wife withdrew all the monies and cash and ran off with another man!!! even leaving the children!!!...and this also happened to one aunty whose husband withdrew everything and went to china with his meimei!!!...disappear!!!....you think joint account is good? this sms warning is good also?

one uncle got trouble with his wife.he went to casino and withdrew $1500. wife immediately called him and scolded him. come back you idiot! wife got sms from bank!!!!!!..................... this sms warning is good also?

I think it may be inconvenient but is a good meaure.

Those who find it annoying can alway call the bank to unsubscribe from this service!

I think it may be inconvenient but is a good meaure.

Those who find it annoying can alway call the bank to unsubscribe from this service!

agree! every bad thing happened comes some good thing going. this sms thing is a good check. tio!