something is wrong with DBS

not the first time me is hearing this from the kopitiam aunties. SMSes received on the aunties' phones indicating that money had been withdrawn from their accounts, and upon further checking, it turns out to be a false alarm and the aunties' account were safe and sound. best joke is this: they are switching banks because they cannot tahan these false alarms. DBS database in a mess? :D:D:D

ha ha ha ha one day, auntie receive SMS'es telling them that their CPF money had been transferred to Thumb Are Sick Pte Ltd & it is now officially theirs... ha ha ha ha

That's why I don't let the banks know by handphone number.

I don't need those silly SMS notifications. I can check my bank account online anytime.

Also, I'm quite sure those fuckers at the bank will sell your personal information to third-party marketers. You'll receive strange calls from unknown numbers asking you if you're interested in product ABC or service XYZ.

Dun anyhow spread rumors about our state banks.

Sekali kena arrested then you know.

According to the CEO a few months ago, they are "flushed with deposits".

They "flushed" the "deposits" did you hear or read wronly? ha ha ha ha

No, definitely that they are "flushed with deposits".
That's why u never hear of DBS having any promotions for savings or time deposits.
Probably every foreigner who comes to SG has a DBS or POSB account.

No, definitely that they are "flushed with deposits".
That's why u never hear of DBS having any promotions for savings or time deposits.
Probably every foreigner who comes to SG has a DBS or POSB account.

Used to be every NS boy must have a POSB Account, even you have another commercial bank account, are they still enforcing that?? POSB used to be flushed with deposits in the past, for they have a "savings bank " licence; an advantage!

Advantage POSB! and then it was One Love POSB win.... ha ha ha ha

Dun anyhow spread rumors about our state banks.

Sekali kena arrested then you know.

the SMS goes with the message indicating the amount withdrawn, coupled with the last 4 digits of the card used for the withdrawal. the last two cases me heard, withdrawal amount was a grand each, upon checking at the account, it is intact, i.e. no withdrawal was made, false alarm sent, OR, notification was sent to a wrong number.

According to the CEO a few months ago, they are "flushed with deposits".

as me assessed those aunties, they were genuinely distraught when they got the SMS notifications, heard that they checked their accounts at the ATM couple of times just to make sure.

Used to be every NS boy must have a POSB Account, even you have another commercial bank account, are they still enforcing that??

don't think so, last noted there's option to choose the banks in which one wishes to deposit the NS pay :):):)

This is one of the recent safety measures (including the disabling of the use of your ATM in foreign countries) implemented by the banks as required by MAS (after the recent DBS ATM fraud case). You should have receive a notice from the bank and you have to call them up if you want to stop all these SMS

You should have receive a notice from the bank and you have to call them up if you want to stop all these SMS

me can only deduce 2 things from this episode:
1. either folks are so careless to supply a wrong phone number, OR
2. the DBS did not verify those numbers given, thus screwing up their own database during data entry
this is based on my assumption that this SMS notification system is working fine.
me had tested the system before on my own for the POSB account, the notification system is working fine for fund transfers and withdrawals. UOB's system also working fine.

me can only deduce 2 things from this episode:
1. either folks are so careless to supply a wrong phone number, OR
2. the DBS did not verify those numbers given, thus screwing up their own database during data entry
this is based on my assumption that this SMS notification system is working fine.
me had tested the system before on my own for the POSB account, the notification system is working fine for fund transfers and withdrawals. UOB's system also working fine.

Banks were given a very tight deadline to implement all these safety measures so I won't be surprise if there are some screw ups. So far so good for me.

Btw always take aunties' words with a pinch of salt as they can be quite blur fucks

me would give it a miss if me heard it only once. different locations, different groups of aunties, unless this auntie network spans from Bedok to Marine Parade, then me would dismiss this episode totally :o:o:o

Strange. If this go all the way to MAS, the bank will kenna jialat jialat

Used to be every NS boy must have a POSB Account, even you have another commercial bank account, are they still enforcing that?? POSB used to be flushed with deposits in the past, for they have a "savings bank " licence; an advantage!

I remember during my BMT when you had a POSB account you could check out of camp on Saturdays at 1pm to check that your pay had been credited into your account. Those that did not have a POSB acount had the pleasure of being paid in CASH BUT could only book out at 2 a.m on Sunday morning:(

Strange. If this go all the way to MAS, the bank will kenna jialat jialat

as me look at it, the problem could be traced to phone numbers. account numbers and IC numbers are strongly linked. then folks start changing phone numbers like changing underwear, me will kaypoh kaypoh a bit, fish a bit more info from these aunties if me get to meet them again :p:p:p

Oh,those were then when POSB was every man's bank.i remembered how we were encouraged to save during schooL days via buying 10cts stamps and sticking them onto sheets of A4 brochures to fiLL up those 20 spaces..
;)