Something Fishy @ Jurong Town Council ??

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>exgoon <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:19 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>51302.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD id=msgtxt_1 class=msgtxt>To : kojakbt_89
Bro
Came across an interesting comment in Yahoo about repair works in Jurong Town Council which smells a little fishy.
Maybe you can take the initiative to write to the relevant authorities to get the investigation started..
---------------------------------------------------------------------
POO KEE MAK 6 hours ago Report Abuse
I feel compelled to write in after reading your article, “GM of Jurong TC is the MD of its contractor for managing township services”, dated 16 May 2011.
I am a resident at Block 327, Jurong East Street 31, which is under the Jurong Town Council. During the past year-and-a-half, the estate in my neighbourhood underwent a Lift Upgrading Programme (LUP).
Now that I know that Mr. Ho Thian Poh is the General Manager of Jurong Town Council and the Managing Director of UGL Premas Limited, I can’t help but suspect that some kind of corrupt practice was at play here during the LUP at Jurong East Street 31. The renovation work carried out over the 18 months were not only unnecessary, they were also extremely suspicious in nature. The walls and floors of each lift lobby on all 15 storeys, including the ground floor lobby, were taken apart at least 4 times during that period. Each time, a new floor was relaid.
There were two lifts on each storey. When the first lift was being replaced, the floors were dug up and replaced with a cement floor. The work then stopped as work began in the neighbouring blocks. After about 6 months later, work was resumed and a new lift was installed. The floors were then dug up again and replaced by tiled floors. It was also during this time, that the walls were drilled apart. Then the works stopped after that, as the other neighbouring blocks received the same treatment.
Then 6 months later, work resumed on the second lift. After it was removed from the lift shaft, the floors were once again dug up and replaced. This time with a cement floor. Then renovation stopped again, until about 3 months later when the new lift was installed. Again, the floors were all dug up once again, replaced with a cement
floor with a tiled-centre. The walls were filled up and painted with a white coat.
Just when I thought they were finally done with all these unnecessary digging and replacement of floors, about one month before the 2011 Elections, they dug up the floors and walls once again, replaced with fully tiled floors and walls.
As I am a freelancer who regularly works from home, the past 18 months had been a complete nightmare. The corridors were covered in dust and the neighbourhood was constantly surrounded by loud construction noises. But that is not my main concern here.
Most importantly, I cannot see any logic in having the floors dug up and relaid more than 4 times during lift renovations work. Whatever damage caused to the floor during the lift replacement was minimal and needed very little re-laying done. Yet all 15 floors were replaced over and over again.
The only reason I could fathom is if there are some kind of mutual monetary benefits between the Town Council and the contracted company which did the works. Obviously, 4 diggings and re-layering of the floors would cost more and give more profits to the contracted company.
Mr. Ho Thian Poh is the Managing Director of UGL Premas, so obviously the increased costs resulting from the works would be beneficial to his company. And since he also happens to be the General Manager of the Jurong Town Council, it must also mean that he had approved of such an illogical and costly renovation plan.
The whole scheme just stinks of bureaucratic corruption.
Therefore I wish to share this information with you and hopefully, to some of your readers, fellow citizens, who are concerned with our civil service. If possible, I would like some kind of investigation to be done regarding this matter, something I’m sure the MP of Yuhua will not be keen on.
----------
Replies (23)

30Observevery1 6 hours ago Report Abuse
You should have taken photos during the whole eposide for the whole wide world to see and expose their connections.

40Davy Chan 6 hours ago Report Abuse
even without the photos the costs of all these unneccessary work shows.having dug four times the price cannot be for one.

62Puzzled 5 hours ago Report Abuse
First, I dont thnk this is the platform to raise this issue with such details. I am not sure of the relation of the above to the article in this ite now. If it is not true, then it is pure speculation. Not one is guilty unless proven gulity. What you see may not be what it is. If you strongly feel that somethiing is not correct, then approach the Minister/MP in your area or launch the case with the anti corruption bureau.. There will be black sheeps here and there as you would have seen cases of people in civil service caught for bribery etc. Dont confuse with the corrutions(if any) from the people employed in Civil Service and relate this to the officer holders of ministers and MPs. I would rather blame it on the family members where these corrupted people came from where their values are not taught well.

21Edwin 5 hours ago Report Abuse
i suggest that there should hv a WED SITE call COMPLAINT AND REPLY FOR SINGAPOREAN which can be seen by all of US esp...Mr LSL. so that it can be change immediatly if something went wrong. No point launch a case with department which is very troublesome and outcome is unknown . ( most of the cases will be cover up )

50Zzz Sin 5 hours ago Report Abuse
The more you check the more you find out. So everybody should check and produce evident to the public.
Lets catch all of them.

50Tan 4 hours ago Report Abuse
OMG! That could exlained why there are so many projects seems 'fake' as the jobs were either not properly done or only done at the surface level. Me too, also think that some kind of investigation should be done to look into the matter.

20Justin 4 hours ago Report Abuse
Check out website of CPID........welcome any alerts for them to probe deeper !!!

40Mate Mat 4 hours ago Report Abuse
have you made a police report ? Only then will investigations be carried out.

20Tan 4 hours ago Report Abuse
"i suggest that there should hv a WED SITE call COMPLAINT AND REPLY FOR SINGAPOREAN which can be seen by all of US esp".
Edwin, I like that idea too. Right now Jurong Town Council can't even keep a proper record of residents' feedback/complaints. That is fact.

41Jeff Chen 4 hours ago Report Abuse
dear justin,
cpib reports directly to the prime mininster.....

40Janas 4 hours ago Report Abuse
report to cpib - let's get them to work!
if they find anything, great!
if they dun find anything, i'm sure they'll find something!

60Hss 4 hours ago Report Abuse
If what you say were true, then I think the whole projercts should be investigated. Corruption has to be stopped immediately, can;t be tolerated.

30CharlieBee 4 hours ago Report Abuse
What you said may be true but do be careful because if Mr Ho found out what you wrote here about him he may sue you for slander unless you have evidence or proof of corruption, dont put their names in print.

40BATMAN 3 hours ago Report Abuse
Pls report to the CPIB & CAD if you have not already done so. You would be doing all your neighbours a favour........at the same time, to test how efficient the new Home Affairs Minister is.

60PP 3 hours ago Report Abuse
My question is if Jurong Town Council is the principal and UGL Premas is the contractor, then Mr. Ho cannot be the General Manager of Jurong Town Council and at the same time MD of UGL Premas. There is conflict of interest. Mr. Ho cannot be so stupid.

30Jd 3 hours ago Report Abuse
hi! I stay 2 blocks away from you. my friend at 325 said after some complaints they re do the tiling for the entire lift area. Since I am also a freelancer, I understand these practices is not fair. Although Gebiz (business contracts with government) requires 3 quotation, frequently it's not granted to the lowest bidder but their preferred partner. It was brought up in government during the financial crisis a few years ago by some MPs.

10Jables Joong 1 hour ago Report Abuse
Aiyah ...politics is 'orh aum' (undertable) one lah ... u dont noe meh
ALL NO GARMENT ONE LAH

10NG 55 minutes ago Report Abuse
Report to CPIB with whatever evidence or statements of suspicions for discussion with the investigating office. There is an obvious conflict of interest in this case.

20SAM 46 minutes ago Report Abuse
It is not uncommon to see conflict of interest in Town Councils especially when most grassroots are owners/partners of service providers of Town Councils.
Often there were no physical inspection on the work done and in many cases amenities in good condition were replaced.
The service providers joined for the purpose to get job from Town Councils and not to serve the people.That's why PAP got the wrong feedback and called for election when the anger against PAP was mounting.
Just wonder if the MPs were aware of this loopholes or are they turning a blind eyes to what is happening.
Hope PAP can look into this and not to waste taxpayers' money to please service providers who are also grassroot members.

00Tony 17 minutes ago Report Abuse
If you think this is serious enough and seems to me to be so...please do all a service...write or contact the Commercial Affairs Division and have this officially investigated...
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/pap-not-view-opposition-enemy-spp-pwee-061603743.html
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>