• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smrt buys cheap china buses

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - SMRT BUYS CHEAP CHINA BUSES</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>tottot_318 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:38 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>53990.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD id=msgtxt_1 class=msgtxt>THE MANAGEMENT OF SMRT NEED TO WAKE UP OR RESIGN.
THEY HAVE STARTED BUYING CHEAP POOR QUALITY CHINA MADE BUSES JUST TO INCREASE THEIR PROFITS AND YET THEY STILL WANT TO INCREASE THE BUS FARES.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=center>Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

First Chinese citybus for Singapore: SMRT’s Yutong ZK6126 August 23, 2009

Posted by hafizbam in Bus, Deployment Updates, Fleet News, SMRT, Something New, Transport Events.
Tags: citybus, made in China, service 854, SMB135E, SMRT bus, WAB, wheelchair-accessible bus, Yutong, ZK6126
trackback <SCRIPT type=text/javascript src="http://s0.wp.com/wp-content/plugins/adverts/adsense.js?m=1308885023g&1"></SCRIPT>
smb135efaizal.jpg
SMRT's Yutong citybus on service 854 turning into Yishun bus interchange. Photo courtesy of Muhd Faizal.

It was bound to happen sooner or later: a made-in-China public citybus serving the commuters of Singapore. With significant differences over the cost of each unit as compared to their European counterparts, it is difficult for bus companies to ignore the possibility of saving a few bucks from their bus purchases. In Singapore, there has been a growing number of local bus companies opting for Chinese coaches, with brand names like King Long and Yutong slowly becoming a more common sight on the roads. So the question then was, when will the first Chinese citybus be brought in?
The answer came in August this year, when Singapore’s second largest public bus company SMRT Buses, registered the country’s first made-in-China citybus, a Yutong ZK6126, on 18th August as SMB135E. As with common practice, newly registered buses usually took quite a while after formal registration to begin revenue service. However the company seemed eager to put this demonstrator bus on trial quickest possible, resulting in the the bus commencing its first official revenue service on service 854 only two days later on the 20th.
Ang Mo Kio Depot-controlled route 854 is a very busy service running between Yishun and Bedok via Yio Chu Kang Road, Hougang Avenue 3 and Jalan Eunos, and has been a long time competitor for SBS Transit’s service 25. The 854 itself has been a favourite in being the first to get a taste of new buses brought in by then TIBS, be it the ELBO Scanias or the Volgren Hino demonstrator TIB905Y.
smb135einttws.jpg
The interior of the Yutong as seen from the entrance. Photo courtesy of Teo Wei Shen.

Having taken many Chinese buses run by RapidKL myself, my expectations for the Yutong were never high. For instance, I had expected the bus ride to be very noisy and bumpy, and maybe a little stuffy – in line with the general public perception that all things made in China are never top-notch. But all those thoughts were banished the moment I took my seat on one of their leather seats which were wider than the usual Vogelsitzes. Almost every passenger taking a seat would produce this funny farting sound when they rubbed against it but nonetheless, the seats are more comfortable than they look. There was also rather reasonable legroom, though the whole experience can be improved if the seats were a little reclined.
The other most important aspect of a good bus ride I look after is the airconditioning. The Yutong is the first such citybus here to feature a single length series of aircon outlets which greatly helped to distribute the cool temperature across the whole bus. The idea is similar to the kind of experience you get onboard aircrafts. No more tissue paper stuffed aircon outlets! The only aircon outlets in the bus were found at the last row of seats; four on each side, but they proved disappointing. When I tried my favourite rightmost seat at the last row, only my legs were feeling cool from the more evenly distributed aircon from the front row onwards. And whatever the brand of aircon is, it sure is good. And I hope it lasts.
smb135eintrear.jpg
Interior of SMB135E as seen from the last row of four seats.

The other notable difference for this 29-seater bus is the last row of seats which were occupied by only four seats placed side to side, instead of the typical five, or the two-space-two arrangement in other Chinese citybuses by RapidKL. Whether the reason lies with the wider seats or accomodation for the engine whatnots I’m not too sure but if they could, they should have inserted that fifth seat.
The Cummins engine used was not too bad, powerful enough for the bus to speed and climb hills effortlessly during my ride. Suspension was surprisingly good, as I’m told the bus uses the air suspension system compared to leaf-springs commonly used for their coach counterparts here. Both doors however, were a little slow to open and close. But the rear plug door was a little irritating as it was squeaking (somebody oil the door please!) but it did not vibrate as much as other plug doors as the part of the mechanism controlling its movement was hidden underneath the wheelchair ramp. In addition to the usual SMRT “Doors closing” announcement when the doors were closing, a warning chime accompanied it as well, and this proved extremely annoying.
smb135esmb49x.jpg
Illustrating the difference in electronic displays is the Yutong SMB135E on the right and the now familiar Mercedes Benz OC500LE SMB49X on the left parked at Bedok bus interchange.

Aesthetically, the interior looks better than SBS Transit’s Scania K230UBs despite the dull brown leather seats accompanied with a few red coloured ones at the front. This could be mainly due to the green aircon strips at the sides, making up and maybe mixing well with the beige tones. The low ceiling warnings at the back was big and loud enough to attract attention. CCTV cameras have been installed, and so are EIGHT speakers throughout the length of the bus, whatever for I have not a single hint, since the recorded SMRT announcements do not seem to be any louder. Of the two ez-link card readers at the exit, the one on the left hand side was place a little too high, not good for short people like myself
icon_razz.gif

On the exterior, the greatest disappointment were the very small electronic displays, even though it was good enough SMRT did not opt for the typical calculator digits displays used by many mainland Chinese bus companies. Of something to note is that it is the first SMRT bus to have destination display at the offside, something which has been practised by SBS Transit for ages, but is the first bus in Singapore to have a number cum destination display at the rear as well. I’m quite pleased with the bodywork, especially the rear design and having glass windows all the way up at the sides (like the Mercedes Benz Citaros), but not too impressed with the front though, as something more creative could have been done to the area below the windscreen.
smb135efaizal2.jpg
Offside view of the Yutong picking up passengers at Yishun bus interchange. Photo courtesy of Muhd Faizal.

In conclusion, I am rather surprised with myself that I kinda like SMB135E. It is definitely far from the typical stereotypes of substandards for made-in-China buses even I had despite the areas that can be improved upon. And if SMRT thinks the same way as me, do not be surprised if this Mercedes Benz loyal customer switches to Yutong and probably other Chinese manufacturers for future fleet renewals.
I hereby give this bus a 4 out of 5 stars rating. At least for now.
For other reviews on this bus, do visit:
http://offservice.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/smrt-yutong-2/
http://thecoloursofmyworld.blogspot.com/2009/08/review-smrts-yutong-zk6126hgc.html
http://minibusgrp.com/?p=566
http://tws4793.t35.com/buses/p_sin_smrt/yutong_zk6126.html
<!--adcode-->

How will the cheaper buses from China operate in the long run:confused:

Those "long" buses tran-link got from Europe are still on the roads & in my opinion better designed than the new SBS buses.

we had been using mrt trains built is china, not to worry as long as SIA dont buy planes from them ,

political reason, these GLCs try to do biz with china men so that in the long run, they thought that willingly, china will regard s'pore as a friend, my foot, dream on, sinkies!
it's true even the small touchscreen LCDs in their taxi fleet is from china, the response time on that piece of junk is so much slower than taxis from other companies. and they have the audacity to raise transport prices!

How will the cheaper buses from China operate in the long run:confused:

Those "long" buses tran-link got from Europe are still on the roads & in my opinion better designed than the new SBS buses.

Made in China vehicles on face value the vehicle is cheap and good but every time someone run the thing through safety tests, it fails miserably. I think someone should run it through a standard safety test and see how it goes

There are so many things to consider beside the initial purchase. Fuel consumption, rate of wear and tear, etc. Sometimes, it would cost more as the buses are parked in the workshop for repair more frequently due to poor quality....

lets see when the first accident involving the Chinese bus will happen...hopefully there won't be casualty...just cause the bus to wrecked..

we had been using mrt trains built is china, not to worry as long as SIA dont buy planes from them ,

==

although the planes are not from China...all things inside - from the plates, crockeries, toilet items are from China.

with the new addition of China Made Buses, Singapore not only look like China (with the FTs), and it even FEEL like it!

China bus are about 50% cheaper than European Scania bus. Mean that up front cost reduce by half .
For the spare part it will also cost less.
As expected very soon many bus will made in China due to the cost. Since bus speed in Singapore are regulate to be 60km/hr. I dont think it will be very dangerous. The only thing maybe louder engine noise.
How durable a bus normally are in hand of the workshop or how it maintain.

They'll next tell you: if you don't want China made buses, then the 2.8% increase in fares which they had submitted to the PTC will be insufficient. So, sinkies will be in a "catch22" situation. Anyway, serves the 60.1% right for voting them in. They had asked for it and it's now being delivered. By the way, I was not in the 60.1%. Can only hope that they don't go for TATA buses next.

China bus are about 50% cheaper than European Scania bus. Mean that up front cost reduce by half .
For the spare part it will also cost less.
As expected very soon many bus will made in China due to the cost. Since bus speed in Singapore are regulate to be 60km/hr. I dont think it will be very dangerous. The only thing maybe louder engine noise.
How durable a bus normally are in hand of the workshop or how it maintain.

==

if my understanding is correct, SBS / TIBS assemble the buses here - instead of shipping the entire bus from China. Maybe for the first few but large scale assembly is in Singapore.

Yes, no doubt parts could be cheaper - but are they more durable? Are they up to the quality expectations? These are question marks.

Well if u can make that greedy 3rd world butch and all the jor boh lan board members to take a little less the fare won't even need to increase. KNN suck 1.6 mill every year and don't know each board member how much they take and still want to suck us people dry.

More Ah Tiong bus drivers nowadays and now SMRT are buying China made buses..

==

if my understanding is correct, SBS / TIBS assemble the buses here - instead of shipping the entire bus from China. Maybe for the first few but large scale assembly is in Singapore.

Yes, no doubt parts could be cheaper - but are they more durable? Are they up to the quality expectations? These are question marks.

No bus assembly plant in Singapore. Maybe only for the bus seat.
Bus operator not thinking about the durability, because it cheaper bus operator can replace bus earlier. Each bus can last 5 year is good enough. No need to last more than 10 year.