• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SMRT bus late for over 30 min at Jalan Bahar -- and it's not the first time

Posted on 08 Sep 2011
SMRT bus late for over 30 min at Jalan Bahar -- and it's not the first time

smrt_bus_late_for_over_30_min_at_jalan_bahar-thumbnail.jpg

<!-- <script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>--><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> /*FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); }*/ function facebookPublish(appId, articleLink, thumbnailLink, articleTitle, caption, description, emotion) { emotion = "is '" + emotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; urlLink = ""; urlLink = "http://www.facebook.com/dialog/feed?app_id=" + appId + "&link=" + articleLink + "&picture=" + thumbnailLink + "&name=" + articleTitle + "&caption=" + caption + "&description=" + description + "&message=" + emotion + "&redirect_uri=" + caption + "/site/static/fbWindowClose.html"; window.open(urlLink, 'facebookWindow', 'width=1000, height=400'); return; } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
77%

<!-- end mm_moodcontainer div -->
Shiok!
2%

LOL!
1%

So sad
4%

Sure or not?
1%

Bochup
15%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<!-- end moodResultItem div -->
<IFRAME style="OVERFLOW: hidden; WIDTH: 450px; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none; HEIGHT: 35px; BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/got_service_or_not/756090/smrt_bus_late_for_over_30_min_at_jalan_bahar.html&layout=standard&show_faces=false&width=450&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=35" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><IFRAME class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter For Websites: Tweet Button" style="WIDTH: 110px; HEIGHT: 20px" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.html#_=1315922796078&count=horizontal&id=twitter_tweet_button_0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fgot_service_or_not%2F756090%2Fsmrt_bus_late_for_over_30_min_at_jalan_bahar.html&text=STOMP%20-%20Singapore%20Seen%20-%20SMRT%20bus%20late%20for%20over%2030%20min%20at%20Jalan%20Bahar%20--%20and%20it's%20not%20the%20first%20time&url=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fgot_service_or_not%2F756090%2Fsmrt_bus_late_for_over_30_min_at_jalan_bahar.html" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><SCRIPT src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>STOMPer IrritatedByPoorService is annoyed with the frequent delays for SMRT Bus 172 at Jalan Bahar. He says he had to wait more than 30 minutes for the bus to arrive today (Sep 8).

Said the STOMPer:

"I am one of those stranded at a bus stop in Jalan Bahar today since 6pm, and as I am emailing this, it is about 6.40pm, and I am still here.

"As you can see, the so many people here at this bus stop were also frustrated by this delay.

"The last bus which came at 6.27pm was full to the door.

"This is not a rare occurrence. Is this the world class public transport?

"Is this kind of service showing SMRT worthy of receiving approval for the fare increase next month?"

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Posted on 21 Jul 2011
Just 2 buses an hour: So much time spent just waiting

just_2_buses_an_hour_so_much_time_spent_waiting-thumbnail.jpg

<!--<script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>--><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> /*FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); }*/ function facebookPublish(appId, articleLink, thumbnailLink, articleTitle, caption, description, emotion) { emotion = "is '" + emotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; urlLink = ""; urlLink = "http://www.facebook.com/dialog/feed?app_id=" + appId + "&link=" + articleLink + "&picture=" + thumbnailLink + "&name=" + articleTitle + "&caption=" + caption + "&description=" + description + "&message=" + emotion + "&redirect_uri=" + caption + "/site/static/fbWindowClose.html"; window.open(urlLink, 'facebookWindow', 'width=1000, height=400'); return; } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
89%

Shiok!
0%

LOL!
0%

So sad
0%

Sure or not?
0%

Bochup
11%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<IFRAME style="OVERFLOW: hidden; WIDTH: 450px; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none; HEIGHT: 35px; BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/what_bugs_me/700650/just_2_buses_an_hour_so_much_time_spent_waiting.html&layout=standard&show_faces=false&width=450&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=35" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><IFRAME class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter For Websites: Tweet Button" style="WIDTH: 110px; HEIGHT: 20px" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.html#_=1315922880515&count=horizontal&id=twitter_tweet_button_0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fwhat_bugs_me%2F700650%2Fjust_2_buses_an_hour_so_much_time_spent_waiting.html&text=STOMP%20-%20Singapore%20Seen%20-%20Just%202%20buses%20an%20hour%3A%20So%20much%20time%20spent%20just%20waiting&url=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fwhat_bugs_me%2F700650%2Fjust_2_buses_an_hour_so_much_time_spent_waiting.html" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><SCRIPT src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>When STOMPer sian checked an application which showed the bus arrival times, it showed there would only be two arrivals of bus 21 within the hour.

Said the STOMPer (Jul 21):

"Wow look at bus service 21. Only 2 buses per hour?

"Imagine those without this app, it's wasting almost 35 minutes waiting at the bus stop for the bus to arrive.

"Instead of waiting, we could have spent more time with our families."

Posted on 12 Sep 2011
Bus 172 late for over 30 min because of too many passengers: SMRT

bus_172_late_for_over_30_min_service_delayed_due_to_heavy-thumbnail.jpg

<!-- <script src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php/en_US" type="text/javascript"></script>--><SCRIPT type=text/javascript> /*FB.init("94647dc2aba553f149d6f1f12f85ecc6", "/xd_receiver.htm"); function callPublish(title, articleLink, description, thumbnailLink, myemotion) { var message = "is '" + myemotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; var attachment = { 'name': title, 'href': articleLink, 'description': description, 'media': [{ 'type': 'image', 'src': thumbnailLink, 'href': articleLink}] }; FB.Connect.streamPublish(message, attachment); }*/ function facebookPublish(appId, articleLink, thumbnailLink, articleTitle, caption, description, emotion) { emotion = "is '" + emotion + "' about this STOMP story: "; urlLink = ""; urlLink = "http://www.facebook.com/dialog/feed?app_id=" + appId + "&link=" + articleLink + "&picture=" + thumbnailLink + "&name=" + articleTitle + "&caption=" + caption + "&description=" + description + "&message=" + emotion + "&redirect_uri=" + caption + "/site/static/fbWindowClose.html"; window.open(urlLink, 'facebookWindow', 'width=1000, height=400'); return; } function shortenURL(articleLink){ shortURLLink = ""; $.getJSON("http://json-tinyurI.appspot.com/?&callback=?", {url: articleLink}, function(data) { shortURLLink = eval(data).tinyurI; }); } </SCRIPT>
Enraged
75%

Shiok!
1%

LOL!
10%

So sad
3%

Sure or not?
4%

Bochup
7%

<!-- end mm_body div -->
<IFRAME style="OVERFLOW: hidden; WIDTH: 450px; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none; HEIGHT: 35px; BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none" src="http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgseen/this_urban_jungle/759862/bus_172_late_for_over_30_min_service_delayed_due_to_heavy.html&layout=standard&show_faces=false&width=450&action=like&font=verdana&colorscheme=light&height=35" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><IFRAME class="twitter-share-button twitter-count-horizontal" title="Twitter For Websites: Tweet Button" style="WIDTH: 110px; HEIGHT: 20px" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/tweet_button.html#_=1315922928390&count=horizontal&id=twitter_tweet_button_0&lang=en&original_referer=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fthis_urban_jungle%2F759862%2Fbus_172_late_for_over_30_min_service_delayed_due_to_heavy.html&text=STOMP%20-%20Singapore%20Seen%20-%20Bus%20172%20late%20for%20over%2030%20min%20because%20of%20too%20many%20passengers%3A%20SMRT&url=http%3A%2F%2Fsingaporeseen.stomp.com.sg%2Fstomp%2Fsgseen%2Fthis_urban_jungle%2F759862%2Fbus_172_late_for_over_30_min_service_delayed_due_to_heavy.html" frameBorder=0 scrolling=no allowTransparency></IFRAME><SCRIPT src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" type=text/javascript></SCRIPT>SMRT says Bus Service 172 was delayed on Sep 8 due to heavy passenger loading.

SMRT is responding to the feedback made by STOMPer IrritatedByPoorService, who said that he had to wait for more than 30 minutes for the bus to arrive at a Jalan Bahar bus stop.

An SMRT spokesperson said:

"We thank STOMPer IrritatedByPoorService for the feedback.

"We are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Our investigations show that on 8 September, Service 172 was delayed due to heavy passenger loading.

"Service 172 operates at a frequency of 7 to 8 minutes during evening peak hours, but factors such as wet weather, peak hour traffic and accidents can cause delays and affect bus schedules.

"We would like to take this opportunity to encourage passengers to move to the rear of the bus to allow more to board, and motorists to give way to buses in bus lanes."

Once, I waited 50 mins for a 854. The record was 72 mins (in the rain) for a 171.

The stretch along HTA is a traffic nightmare from 5:30pm onwards both directions. This jokers at SCDF like all Sinkies assumes god's gospel that SBS runs like clock work for all their schedules.

Once, I waited 50 mins for a 854. The record was 72 mins (in the rain) for a 171.

Did you see a RARE Admiral, carrying a MYPAPer, waiting for the same bus service & in the rain also?, no!, what a shame!:rolleyes:

SMRT's reply - Better late than never. Don't complain. Blame the 60%.

No, " we need your understanding, to improve our service standard, increase our staff salaries, make our buses & trains much more secure ( forget about the painted graffitis), increase our fares by xxx per km". We never complain, for we are always compliant.

In Malaysia, the Telcos propose to charge 60sen for every prepaid services, the consumers grumbled, they back down. We can be so proud that, we are ever so complaint with, whatever increases thrown at us, wether it is small of large amount.

We are Uniquely SINgaporeans, endorsed by 60% & suffered along by the 40%.:rolleyes:

Once a bus took 40 mins to come when the frequency said 12 mins. This was along telok Blangah rd.

When the bus finally came, I glared at the bus captain, and asked him why so long? Know what he replied?

He said, "The bloody fella never told me!" By that, I guess he probably meant his supervisor or the one whom he took over.

See how things worked or don't work?

Jalan Bahar not much vehicle so where have traffic jam? Very funny. Even rain also will not delay the bus because bus moving at max speed of 60km/hr or less.

ccb..instead of committing to improve svc / increase frequency. TIBS ask passenger to move in and ask motorist to give way - r they hinting that its due to the above that cause a delay?

KNS.

True that Jalan Bahar traffic flow is minimal; Service 172 comes from Choa Chu Kang side and swings by Old Choa Chu Kang road. Try driving along that stretch near HTA when all the mats on bikes , cars , etc all piling out on both sides from 5:30 onwards. Coupled with the current widening of the road which will take a while to complete; nothing's going to change.