• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Smoke going up...

songsongjurong

Tobacco tax to increase by 20%

The excise duties for beedies, "ang hoon" and smokeless tobacco will be increased by 20%.

RELATED STORIES
» Special: Budget 2012

The excise duties for unmanufactured tobacco will be increased by 10%.

This is a continuation of the Government's policy to harmonise tax rates on cigarette and non-cigarette tobacco products.

Thread title sounds like someone from the band Scorpions just join Whitney Houston and Feng FeiFei.

Only the contraband cig chaps are smiling. More demand coming their way for sure.

Ruling party lagi happy. Tax increase means more income from sales of SDPC. Fine more people smoking and selling non-SDPC also more income.

This is a continuation of the Government's policy to harmonise tax rates on cigarette and non-cigarette tobacco products.

to be honest, me think tobacco is a more harmful product than marijuana. :D:D:D
other than the medicinal values that marijuana possess, last noted that bio-fuel may also be derived from Cannabis sativa :p:p:p

More demand coming their way for sure.

:o:o:o the lower rungs of the middle class do better by sucking thumb, the dependency on tobacco can be quite high. with less disposable income, me think they have to try harder to quit smoking :o:o:o

The demand for cigarettes is an inelastic demand. That is to say, smokers will usually continue to smoke regardless of the price increase.

If you really want to discourage smoking, try subsidizing nicotine patches and rehab programs to help smokers quit smoking.

But spending money like this won't make you and handsome profit, will it?

Ruling party lagi happy. Tax increase means more income from sales of SDPC. Fine more people smoking and selling non-SDPC also more income.

In public, smoke SDPC cigs. At home, smoke contraband cigs if suitable.

In my case, I am ok with M'sian cigs. Not Indon ones. Not used to it.

:o:o:o the lower rungs of the middle class do better by sucking thumb, the dependency on tobacco can be quite high. with less disposable income, me think they have to try harder to quit smoking :o:o:o

Easier to cut down slowly than quit immediately. Everytime I visit my doctor, he will remind me to go slow on my cigs. Not easy to give up when you've been smoking for 4 decades.

hehehe. same same but minus 1 decade. :p
bro, you go jogging or do any sports? Nowadays, I walk a little bit faster also feel breathless. Very jialat but cannot quit smoking.

What is so inclusive of the Budget.

How on Earth is it a help to the Poor Ah-peks who now has to cough out more money for their ang-hoon and beedis?

They have to scavenge more cardboards and aluminium cans on the road to earn that extra money at the expense of accidents.

What a way to become rich? (for those in power)

So much for inclusivity. (Lee Bee Wah came from poor family and can understand the budget better, hehehehe)

bro, you go jogging or do any sports? Nowadays, I walk a little bit faster also feel breathless. Very jialat but cannot quit smoking.

Smoke as a pleasure.

Nicotine is in your system. Don't deprive the body of it. System may go haywire.

Same like what happen to Ah-peks who had to suddenly give up opium in St Johns Island.

If smoke is dangerous what about the fumes from buses and lorries (diesel-powered) on the roads?

What about the "radio-waves" surrounding us for handphones, etc...

So many non-smokers dying of lung cancer, why may I ask????

And they keep talking about cancer, Wah Lan Leh....

Haven't exercised for almost 10 years. The closest exercise being bed-minton. Sometimes, almost breathless while in the act. The fitter you are, the more you enjoy bed-minton.

As usual ciggie prices going up every year.. Its ok.. I can always get contra ciggies at my workplace.. Spore ciggies when going to kopitiam, pub for beer and Indon contra ciggies when at home watching football..:D Can't imagine a day without a puff of my Dunhill..:o

The next sitting of Parliament is on Tuesday, 28 February 2012. Attend this session and you can save on some tobacco as they smoke their way through.

Can't imagine a day without a puff of my Dunhill..:o

Bro, how old are you? My impression is that Dunhill smokers are usually lau nangs. I don't see young chaps smoking Dunhill. Most go for Marlboro.