• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Six ways to boost birth rate

david

The 5th and 6th is:

- Legalize Playboy and Hustler: let all the men steam so they can make babies

- Ban Geylang: Men will then go home and do their wives instead of a WL.

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Online+Story/STIStory_269150.html

Four ways to boost birth rate

THE issue of the need, and hence ways, to increase the birth rate in Singapore has not gone away, despite multiple measures introduced over the years. The current focus seems to be to get men more involved in parenting. It is questionable to what extent this will really increase birth rates significantly. Men have significant work responsibilities as well. Would it not come to a point where, like we working women, the men - tired out by demands from both the workplace and the home - also opt out of having babies? Everyone will quickly realise raising kids is no walk in the park. Why do we seem to assume that with men, their desire for children is infinite?

As a mother of three who has recently made the agonising decision to leave the full-time workforce, I would like to offer my view of the situation and some suggestions for the relevant policy-makers to consider.

Singaporeans contend with not only a high cost of living, but also the fact that we need to plan for the future by saving for our children's education, as well as our own retirement and our future medical expenses. To those who say our children should take care of our future and retirement needs, I say first there is no guarantee, and second, we do not have children so they act as our 'insurance' in old age. In addition, for the 'sandwich generation', financial responsibilities include care of our aged parents. We have virtually no social safety nets to fall back on (unless we are really destitute) and we are told our CPF and Medisave are probably inadequate to see us through our increasing life expectancies.

It is ingrained in us that we must not adopt a 'welfare mentality' and we must be self-sufficient. As such, dual-income families are the norm. There is no 'real choice' in this regard, because for many families, both parents working is what it takes to be able to cater for present and anticipated future needs.

Regardless of the admirable stance some have taken, that children should not be viewed solely in economic terms, the reality is that, unless there is some financial certainty and security for the family, birth rates will not rise, but fall. This is consistent with the well-known positive correlation between birth rates and the strength of the economy at any point in time. I would venture to hypothesise that, in countries where there is better financial certainty and security for citizens, this correlation may be weaker.

For many, our difficulties stem from the question: Why have children when you don't have time for them because of increasing work responsibilities and hours? There is a limit to what companies can do with respect to family-friendly practices and policies; their raison d'etre is to make profits. No company I know of has national birth rates as one of its key performance indicators.

The Government cannot keep harping on and hoping that Singaporeans have more children, unless real impediments are removed. Here are some suggestions (I have several more, but space is a constraint) if we want to target three to four children per family (to strive towards a total fertility rate of 2.1):

- Free (or even more greatly subsidised) post-secondary education for the third and fourth children;

- Free (or even more greatly subsidised) medical care for the third and fourth children, up to a certain age or ceiling;

- Nominal or token pension for parents (or for at least the one parent who has given up his or her job to care for children full time) with more than two children upon statutory retirement age; and

- More significant tax reliefs for working couples who have, in addition to more than two children, aged parents.

The Baby Bonus was definitely a step in the right direction, as evinced by a slight increase in birth rates in recent years. Putting additional measures such as my suggestions in place will go even further towards alleviating some of the pressures and insecurities couples face in deciding whether to have more children.

Karen Tan (Ms)

Big Sexy

good idea???? i dont thnk so..

a) people will stay a home, read playboy... steam and PCC instead of making love to wife.

b) ban gl and we will see more rape cases, increase in FLs and Streetwalkers.

The 5th and 6th is:

Himerus

legalise two wives,cos nowaday the 1st wife if it is an Singaporean,the chance of a single child is there. career for local girls will always come first before motherhood.
so get a second wife,not local and who is willing to be the babies production machine lor.
this way,it will at least solve and increase the birth rate by 50%

david

good idea???? i dont thnk so..

Ok lah, the "ban Geylang" is a stupid idea.

But the Playboy idea is about time gahment change their policy.

Ten years ago, they wanted to legalize Playboy but those Ah Soh complain. In the end, the R movies also got banned, left only the R(A) which is not as steamy as the R movies.

Those Amy Yip movies can be fun. Can do wife after watch :biggrin:

Big Sexy

porno should be looked into long time ago liao...like in hong kong and taiwan.. we are far behind time..

Ok lah, the "ban Geylang" is a stupid idea.

But the Playboy idea is about time gahment change their policy.

david

porno should be looked into long time ago liao...like in hong kong and taiwan.. we are far behind time..

I don't know about Taiwan but I don't think HK allow hard core porno. Just softcore like nudes in Playboy mag.

Those Amy Yip movies when compared to western porn is really lame :p

Frankiestine

The 5th and 6th is:

u dun get it, the problem is not the men...it is the women..

congo9

The 5th and 6th is:

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Online+Story/STIStory_269150.html

Four ways to boost birth rate

THE issue of the need, and hence ways, to increase the birth rate in Singapore has not gone away, despite multiple measures introduced over the years. The current focus seems to be to get men more involved in parenting. It is questionable to what extent this will really increase birth rates significantly. Men have significant work responsibilities as well. Would it not come to a point where, like we working women, the men - tired out by demands from both the workplace and the home - also opt out of having babies? Everyone will quickly realise raising kids is no walk in the park. Why do we seem to assume that with men, their desire for children is infinite?

As a mother of three who has recently made the agonising decision to leave the full-time workforce, I would like to offer my view of the situation and some suggestions for the relevant policy-makers to consider.

Singaporeans contend with not only a high cost of living, but also the fact that we need to plan for the future by saving for our children's education, as well as our own retirement and our future medical expenses. To those who say our children should take care of our future and retirement needs, I say first there is no guarantee, and second, we do not have children so they act as our 'insurance' in old age. In addition, for the 'sandwich generation', financial responsibilities include care of our aged parents. We have virtually no social safety nets to fall back on (unless we are really destitute) and we are told our CPF and Medisave are probably inadequate to see us through our increasing life expectancies.

It is ingrained in us that we must not adopt a 'welfare mentality' and we must be self-sufficient. As such, dual-income families are the norm. There is no 'real choice' in this regard, because for many families, both parents working is what it takes to be able to cater for present and anticipated future needs.

Regardless of the admirable stance some have taken, that children should not be viewed solely in economic terms, the reality is that, unless there is some financial certainty and security for the family, birth rates will not rise, but fall. This is consistent with the well-known positive correlation between birth rates and the strength of the economy at any point in time. I would venture to hypothesise that, in countries where there is better financial certainty and security for citizens, this correlation may be weaker.

For many, our difficulties stem from the question: Why have children when you don't have time for them because of increasing work responsibilities and hours? There is a limit to what companies can do with respect to family-friendly practices and policies; their raison d'etre is to make profits. No company I know of has national birth rates as one of its key performance indicators.

The Government cannot keep harping on and hoping that Singaporeans have more children, unless real impediments are removed. Here are some suggestions (I have several more, but space is a constraint) if we want to target three to four children per family (to strive towards a total fertility rate of 2.1):

- Free (or even more greatly subsidised) post-secondary education for the third and fourth children;

- Free (or even more greatly subsidised) medical care for the third and fourth children, up to a certain age or ceiling;

- Nominal or token pension for parents (or for at least the one parent who has given up his or her job to care for children full time) with more than two children upon statutory retirement age; and

- More significant tax reliefs for working couples who have, in addition to more than two children, aged parents.

The Baby Bonus was definitely a step in the right direction, as evinced by a slight increase in birth rates in recent years. Putting additional measures such as my suggestions in place will go even further towards alleviating some of the pressures and insecurities couples face in deciding whether to have more children.

Karen Tan (Ms)
I just don't know why goverment with so much BILLION of reseve is being locked up ! With so call URGENT matter like increasing birth rate , they have to unlocked some amt to help boost birth rate.

WHat the use of telling ppl we have SO MUCH BILLION of reserve when we do not want to use all this money to stimulate birth rate. Just don understand !

Frankiestine

legalise two wives,cos nowaday the 1st wife if it is an Singaporean,the chance of a single child is there. career for local girls will always come first before motherhood.
so get a second wife,not local and who is willing to be the babies production machine lor.
this way,it will at least solve and increase the birth rate by 50%

the gov like the grant for HDB should give people grant to get married and cannot restrict to age group...and legalized polygamy too...even those who wants to have a second or third wives, the state subsidized their marriage but of course must have conditions....the married couple must have children within two years after marriage...those have difficulties the state subsidized IVF treatment and of course without a doubt, once given birth the states pays for education at least up to University and medical care at least till 21.....

after all it is only right the state pays for everything since the main objective of wanting it shitizens to have more children is so that their political power can be entrenched and more slaves serve them in the future...

HalalOink

Legalising porn will only bring social ills like sexual addiction etc...
The main problem is the rising cost of living and the unnecessary daily bills that we have to pay eg ERP, conservancy, medical bills etc. All these if taken away can be used to raise another kid...
Our ppl are just turned off at making kids because of dumb Govt policies and they cannot blame the ppl for this. They shud look at themselves in the mirror instead rather than whine...

Big Sexy

dont be silly ms.. condom is not supposed to be wore during sex..

the proper way to wear a condom is like this..

condom.jpg

Ban condoms...:biggrin::biggrin:

Frankiestine

dont be silly ms.. condom is not supposed to be wore during sex..

the proper way to wear a condom is like this..

This is the latest technique for penis enlargement, deprived the big head of blood so that the small head can get more and grow...:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: