SIT 2nd Upp Honours still can't land a job after 650 applications from mid June till today. He must be gutted!

Graduated couple hours ago from SIT​

Today I attended by graduation ceremony with my parents at SIT. Graduated with degree in CS. Met my coursemates after a very long time. Listened to the speech from professors, some guests etc. But honestly, I didn't listen anything what they had to say. I don't remember anything they said unless I watch the recorded livestream again.

After that had a meal with my parents, took pics of me holding up my cert, some pics with coursemates and some profs. Shoutout to Prof Lee, the best prof ever in uni!

I left Punggol with a lot of trepidation & I'm genuinely worried for my future. Questioning what does the future hold for me in SG. I guess not much. Looking back I spent 3 yrs in poly, wasted 2 yrs in NS, another 3 yrs in uni and now jobless. Even with 2nd upper honors haiz...

I've been jobless since June after the company I was working for retrenched me & bunch of other interns who were initially converted to full time. Jobless in the sense I'm doing other jobs not related to my degree. Since August, I’ve been juggling 3 part time jobs and barely bringing in $3k. Being a part time receptionist at TTSH for 4 days, doing part time event jobs and as a part time cashier at Giant for 3 days. Working all 7 days brings me $3k in total. Nice right

A lot of my coursemates are also searching for jobs. Whenever there's job fairs, unsurprisingly we’ll bump into each other. I've to admit that I've snuck into other uni job fairs as well with the help of my friends there. Desperate for a job, but I can't complain as I'm not the only one in my batch.

Initially was working as a intern and got converted to full time at end of my internship in May. I was satisfied with myself that I managed to secure a job. But 2 mths into full time work, in mid-June all the converted interns got laid off. Guys from from NUS, SUTD and me got kicked out. In total 8 of us. Reason given company can't afford to run operations in SG. Pure bullshit, because they’re one of the largest tech companies from China.

For 1.5 mths I had no job at all and was at home depressed. Because I was just demoralized & lost all energy to search for jobs. But even being at home got no peace because my parents kept hounding me to find a job.

So I went on telegram, linkedin and everywhere just to get myself a job; Found the receptionist job through RecruitExpress, then got the event job through another agent and the cashier job by applying online.

A lot of people would complain that they can’t imagine working all 7 days a week, but when you’ve got no money and with parents aging rapidly plus expenses to take care of, there's no choice. I decided to bite the bullet and do it while at the same time searching for jobs.

I’ve submitted a grand total of 650 applications from mid June till today. Used a program to keep track of all. Out of those 650 applications, 80 of them got back to me. Out of the 80 that got back to me, 75 ghosted me. 5 remaining called me for second round of interviews. Out of the 5 I only got a grand total of 1 job offer. And that job is only willing to pay $2k/mth. So I flatly rejected because a $2k salary won’t get me through. And ridiculous because that isn’t even the basic salary of poly graduates nowadays. Ridiculous….

But I don’t blame myself at all. Because I’ve done the best for myself. With all circumstances against me, I can only make the best of it. I can’t go take it out on others and even if I point the finger at the top, will only get the textbook answer, go upskill yourself to be more competitive. SG has become such a dystopia eh. So yea I graduated today & surviving.

TLDR:
- Graduated from SIT officially today
- No job, I scared
- Had job before graduation, but kena fired
- China company claim no money, but bullshit lah
- Now juggling 3 part time jobs, barely earning $3k/mth
- Applied 650 jobs. Only got one job offer paying $2k/mth.
- Rejected offer cos not enough to help me live
- I’m satisfied with myself cos I did the best for myself

If he voted for PAP in GE, he deserves the situation he is in now. No compassion for such people.

They need to have specific skill set and not. General degree skillset
I seen people with dubious diploma from psb like diploma in Entrepreneurship.
I wonder if they are able to use Words and Excel efficiently.

PAP really drill sinkies from young age that certs can get you a job

Reality is if you got no hands on skills prepare to get fucked by Foreign Cunts, and now lots of foreign HR some outsource to other countries too if u apply to any MNC, fuck PAP and fuck 65%

Maersk - Malaysia HR not in SG
Shell - Malaysia HR not in SG
Publicis Group - Malaysia HR not in SG, boss also Malaysian but based here

They are aplenty in office jobs and nasty towards local poly and universities graduates.

PAP really drill sinkies from young age that certs can get you a job

Reality is if you got no hands on skills prepare to get fucked by Foreign Cunts, and now lots of foreign HR some outsource to other countries too if u apply to any MNC, fuck PAP and fuck 65%

Maersk - Malaysia HR not in SG
Shell - Malaysia HR not in SG
Publicis Group - Malaysia HR not in SG, boss also Malaysian but based here
Everything go to Mudlanders who complain about everything in Sg expensive, snatch jobs for Sinkies. Wonder what the 66% are thinking about

He should immediately upgrade himself with an Uptron diploma.
Upgrade to Uptron Masters is higher encouraged with just additional USD. He must change his name to Shiva or another Indian names and tell them he is a fair skinned CECAs looking for a job in Sg. He will be hired straight without a doubt

2nd upper big fuck meh? Nowadays so many graduates. Economy is shit and retrenchments are coming wave after wave. This clown better learn fast.

1761197239036.png

Everywhere is the same. In China it's even worse! Every generation has its own challenges. I graduated with Merit fr Local U my starting pay 1700 SGD. Kpkb for what!?

He should ask his parents who they voted for. If it was the PAP, then he should give them a tight slap.

His parents must be appropriately punished for producing such a useless and flaccid offspring.