• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinofication of the service sector

theDoors

Immigrants who can't speak English: Their side of their story
http://www.asiaone.com/print/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100906-235833.html

For Chinese national Li Wei, learning to speak English is harder than learning to sell shoes. -RazorTV

Mon, Sep 06, 2010
RazorTV

By June Cheong

For Chinese national Li Wei, learning to speak English is harder than learning to sell shoes.

The 27-year-old retail executive at Metro was an office worker in Shanghai before switching to sales in Singapore.

One of the biggest problems she faced here was the language barrier.

She said, "In China, we concentrate more on writing and reading when we learn English. Here, there's more comprehension and speaking."

When RazorTV polled people on the street, a major complaint that cropped up was foreign service staffs' inability to speak or understand basic English.

Sorry, no English
http://www.asiaone.com/print/News/Education/Story/A1Story20090831-164714.html

Most Service staff from China have had basic training in English, but they have problems understanding the way Singaporeans speak it. -ST

Tue, Sep 01, 2009
The Straits Times

By Jamie Ee Wen Wei

These days, Ms Amber Yu wins praises from customers at the cafe she works at for her bubbly small talk with them.

It is a far cry from 1-1/2 years ago when the Fujian native first came to Singapore to find work here.

Although she had learnt basic English in high school, it was so poor even numbers tripped her up.

'Once, another staff member told me to take an order to table 12. It took me some time to figure out if she meant '12' or '13'. I felt so miserable,' she recalled in Mandarin.

Another time, she was chided by a customer when she could not catch her order.

'I said, 'Sorry, I'm from China. I can't understand you'. She was annoyed and said, 'How come you China people can't speak English?''

Ms Yu, 21, took these setbacks positively. She enrolled in a three-month English training course paid for by her company. She has even picked up a Singaporean accent.

'Now, some customers ask me if I'm a Filipina. I ask them, 'Do I look like one?'' she said with a laugh.

Service staff from China have been the target of complaints since rules were relaxed to allow them to work in the industry two years ago.

As of December last year, some 508,000 foreigners worked in the two-million-strong service sector.

It is not known how many are from China. But readers have written to The Straits Times Forum page, pointing out the China service staff's poor English and the misunderstandings, delays and frayed tempers that resulted.

So strong is the frustration that more than 10,000 people joined an online group called 'I am Singaporean and tired of service staff who can speak only Mandarin' on popular social networking site Facebook.

It was started last August by undergraduate Kavita Devi Thamilselvam, 23.

The sentiment, from people The Sunday Times spoke to, was that service staff must have a working grasp of English as it is the lingua franca of multiracial Singapore.

After all, non-Chinese here mostly do not speak Mandarin.

Ms Salfariza Nazarudin, 28, an administrator, said shopping is becoming a frustrating affair for her. Case in point: She was at a supermarket last year when she approached a China service staff member to help her look for whipped cream.

'He gave me a blank look, then mumbled in Mandarin... In the end, he asked a colleague to help me,' she said.

Ms Sophia Siew, 25, who is currently unemployed, had a similar encounter at a shoe shop.

She said: 'I have no issues about foreigners coming here to seek a better life, but it makes no sense that service staff can't speak English. This becomes a hindrance.'

The 15 China service staff whom The Sunday Times spoke to were aware of such a sentiment. They agreed that service staff here should know how to speak English, but asked to be cut some slack.

Most said they do try to use English at work even though their command of the language is shaky.

Chengdu native Jin Xiao, who works as a service coordinator at an air-conditioning firm, said in Mandarin: 'Knowing how to speak English is necessary here. Many people here can speak Mandarin but we need to speak English if we want to raise service standards.'

The 26-year-old is a finance graduate and studied in an English-language institute in China for two years. Still, she could not get used to the accent here initially.

'The way Singaporeans speak English...there's a Hokkien accent here. It's very different from the English pronunciations that we were taught,' Ms Jin, who has been here for five months, said in Mandarin. She is doing a telephone conversation course at the Institute of Technical Education's Bishan campus.

She still occasionally finds it hard to find the right English words to express herself.

'I then ask the customer if it's okay for me to use Mandarin. Most of the time, they are fine with that,' she said.

All the service staff interviewed said they had learnt basic English in school in China. Most have at least secondary-level education. A few have university degrees.

But all said their foundation is weak because they started to learn English, which in any case was not their core language, only from secondary school onwards.

Some also pointed out that they learnt American English back home, and said that the sentence structure of Singapore English is unfamiliar to them.

Sichuan native Belle Hwang, a 21-year-old sales promoter at a pharmacy, said in Mandarin: 'In China, the stress is mainly on written, not spoken, English. So even though we do well in tests, we cannot understand or speak English as well as Singaporeans.'

Fellow Sichuan native Vicky Liao, 23, a service coordinator, said China nationals are sometimes embarrassed to speak English because of their poor pronunciation. She said customers have complained that they are unable to understand her accent.

To improve their language proficiency, some said they would read books or watch English-language television shows with Chinese subtitles.

Others like Ms Hwang carry an electronic dictionary with them to translate words and phrases from English to Mandarin.

'I must keep learning because customers will ask questions not related to my work, and if I have to make them repeat themselves, they may get annoyed,' she said.

For some, however, work simply takes up too much of their time and learning English has to take a back seat.

Jiangsu native Bao Jiakui, 40, who works at a dessert kiosk in Bishan, said she does not even have enough time to rest after her 12-hour shift.

'I want to learn but who will give me the time to do that?' Sighing, she added: 'I should have put in more effort to learn English in school.'

But some felt the language issue is not as big as it has been made out to be.

Sales assistant Qiao Ying, 30, who mans a jewellery pushcart in Bugis Junction, said more than 90 per cent of her customers would converse with her in Mandarin.

She has to speak English only when serving non-Chinese customers or foreigners.

'Chinese Singaporeans will naturally speak to me in Mandarin. They can probably tell that I'm from China. If it's a Malay or Indian customer, I just let them choose the jewellery on their own.'

She added that Singapore is not a conducive environment for China nationals to learn English as 'many people speak Mandarin too'.

Indeed, outside of work, many China nationals can get by with using Mandarin in the heartland.

Most felt saddened by the brickbats they received from critical locals, and some said they sense that Singaporeans do not welcome them.

Ms Wang Cuixia, 30, who works in a snack kiosk in Bugis Junction, said she has met Singaporeans who would glare at her when she bumped into them on an MRT train. 'They will give me a look even though I've said sorry to them.'

Given time, the China nationals say they can lick the language problem.

Ms Qiao added: 'You can speak English and we can speak Mandarin. Rather than criticise us, why don't we learn from each other?'

This article was first published in The Straits Times.

Ms Sophia Siew, 25, who is currently unemployed, had a similar encounter at a shoe shop.

She said: 'I have no issues about foreigners coming here to seek a better life, but it makes no sense that service staff can't speak English. This becomes a hindrance.'
Anyone wanna guess why Ms Sophia Siew is unemployed? :rolleyes:

Well the shoe shop owner knows what is best overall for his business and he has decided that a non-English speaking PRC saleslady is better than an English-speaking local

He may lose some sales because of her language problem but he is likely to gain much more sales from better attitude

http://club.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sgse...ke_me_feel_like_foreigner.html#commentSection

The staff needed help to translate orders and queries from English to Chinese, says the STOMPer.

The STOMPer recounts the incident:

"Recently I went to a fast food restaurant called 'Bongo Burgers' at the Singapore Bird Park.

"I went to the counter staff and asked whether this restaurant is Halal certified.

"The counter staff, who had a foreign accent, told me to speak in English. I told her that I was speaking in English.

"The staff asked me what was 'Halal'. Then she asked another senior staff who explained the term to her. Even the senior staff spoke broken English with a foreign accent.

"There were so many people working in that restaurant and I realised none of them were Singaporeans.

"I'm sad to see that Singapore tourist spots don't have staff who speak proper English.

"Tourists will definitely think that Singapore is not an English speaking country even though we learn it as a first language in schools.

"On another occasion, I went to a "Q Bread" outlet to order a birthday cake and encountered a staff who didn't understand when I asked her 'when can I collect the cake?'

"A helpful customer helped me translate the question into Chinese.

"A few days later I went to collect the birthday cake and again, the staff didn't understand what I was saying. I ended up purchasing a cake which was on display.

"What bothers me is that the service standard of Singapore has dropped as the service industry is being filled with foreigners. I feel like a foreigner in my own country."

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/3552/4128/198018

STOMPer Rachel was frustrated that a China national staff who served her at a Long John Silver's outlet could not understand English, and ended up getting her order wrong.

She said:

"I am a regular customer of Long John Silver's and my recent trip to the outlet at Novena Square really pissed me off.

"I was served by a China national crew member for my order of Golden Deal 1 with added coleslaw.

"His service and inability to comprehend English was rather frustrating and taxing on us paying customers!

"I had to repeat my order several times and despite the repetitions, I was served without my coleslaw.

"When confronted with my order he simply looked blur and did not know how to handle the situation (the manager was not seen around).

"Adding to that, he did not even have basic courtesy to greet and smile (no apology was given for the missing coleslaw).

"What I don't understand is, if the China national staff cannot comprehend English, why is he stationed at the service counter thus making us, paying customers angry and frustrated?

"Is there no manager around to guide him when he needs translation (I did not see any manager around whenever me and my colleagues are there for lunch or dinner).

"If the China nationals are not fluent in English, I would suggest that they be trained before they actually serve the customers."

Well the shoe shop owner knows what is best overall for his business and he has decided that a non-English speaking PRC saleslady is better than an English-speaking local

He may lose some sales because of her language problem but he is likely to gain much more sales from better attitude

Go fuck yourself Shina pig! Now Japan is consolidating its power & your so called Diaoyu island will be lost to Japan soon!

News: The Straits Times - 14 August 2009
http://www.pmo.gov.sg/News/Transcripts/Minister+Mentor/English+to+remain+master+language.htm

English to remain master language
It will be decisive for career advancement for all, says MM Lee
By Clarissa Oon & Goh Chin Lian

ENGLISH will remain Singapore's master language even as the country nurtures more bilingual talents who can do business with China, Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said yesterday.

'The command of English is a decisive factor for the career path and promotion prospects of all Singaporeans.

'For Chinese Singaporeans and those who want to study Chinese, Mandarin will be an added economic advantage with a thriving economy in China for many years to come,' he said.

Even new residents from China know they will not go far without an adequate grasp of English, he added.

'And they are pushing their children to master English, otherwise they will be disadvantaged in getting places in our good schools and universities, and in getting scholarships and eventually jobs.'

However, he drew the line at making it a requirement for permanent residents and new citizens to be fluent in English.

'We cannot make (the requirements for residency) so onerous that they will not come, for example, by requiring permanent residents or new citizens to be fluent in English, which even some existing citizens are not.'

His remarks at a constituency dinner follow a recent debate in The Straits Times Forum pages on whether Mandarin is slowly replacing English as the language on the streets, and its consequences for Singapore's multiracial society.

One ST reader, Ms Amy Loh, wrote how Geylang has evolved from a racially mixed, multilingual area into an enclave for new residents from China, with a growing prevalence of Chinese-only shop signs.

Another letter writer, Mr Samuel Owen, said it is becoming increasingly difficult to order in English in some Chinese restaurants and shops because many workers from China cannot speak English.

While agreeing that Mandarin proficiency was important to Singapore society, Mr Owen urged the Government to strike a balance between that and English as a lingua franca.

MM Lee called on Singaporeans to give the new arrivals from China some time to adapt to life here. 'It is not easy to adjust to a different society, multiracial, multilingual, multi-religious, with different customs and ways of life,' he said.

People also need to be circumspect about the Government encouraging Singaporeans to speak more Mandarin and take scholarships to study in China's top universities

Said MM Lee: 'Do not be misled by the emphasis on Chinese language and culture.

'It does not mean we are displacing English as our working and common language, our first language.'

One new immigrant who made a concerted effort to improve his English was Mr Sam Sun, 39, who had difficulty communicating in the language when he arrived here from Beijing 15 years ago.

The computer engineer and Tanjong Pagar GRC resident improved his English through lessons offered by a church here, and later when he pursued a law degree.

The effort he put in meant that his Singaporean neighbour Rajajwe Velayudan, 41, had no trouble understanding him when they first met at a block party two years ago.

'I could understand his English even though he had an accent. Having more gatherings helps us to open up to one another,' says Mr Rajajwe.

-end of ST article

Straits Times, 11 July 2009:

No motivation for Mandarin speakers to learn English

PERHAPS the ‘us and them’ schism (’Crossing the ‘us versus them’ barrier’, July 2) between what the writer described as residents and non-residents has been propagated by what many see as our leaders’ expectations that Singaporeans should make a greater effort to integrate with foreign residents.

Take language, for example. Our leaders’ emphasis on the need to speak Mandarin could be perceived as a clear signal to encourage those of mainland China origin, one of the largest groups here, to choose to continue in their monolingual state.

Too bad for non-Mandarin-speaking or non-Chinese Singapore residents – let them integrate. Where is the motivation for foreign residents from China to learn English or another official language?

Geylang used to be a mixed multilingual area. Now, almost all new shop signs are in Chinese only, fast turning this into a Chinese enclave, a comfortable outpost of China for new residents from that country flooding the district. Is this something to be encouraged in multilingual Singapore, supposedly proud of our four official languages?

We ignore the early beginnings of a disturbing trend to our detriment, running the risk of what has happened in Western countries, with festering resentment against whole neighbourhoods taken over by foreign residents and altered beyond recognition.

Let us not have mixed messages from our leaders and those in authority – integration efforts must be mutual.

Mr Abdul Shariff Aboo Kassim’s letter last Saturday (’Not a mindset issue’) urges that barriers to Malays’ progress be identified and removed. I suspect one reason for the decline in the percentage of Malay PMETs (professionals, managers, executives and technicians), particularly in the services sector in 2005, may be the lack of Mandarin language skill.

Is Singapore regressing from being a country known for the English fluency of its multilingual population to one where Mandarin is becoming the de facto national language?

Amy Loh (Ms)

Geylang, Chinese and the irrationality of fear
16 July 2009

NOT every Singaporean, it is clear from letters to The Straits Times Forum Page recently, welcomes the increased usage of Mandarin in Singapore, in particular in enclaves such as Geylang. Amy Loh underscored the collective mood among many Singaporeans when she wrote that all new shop signs in Geylang were presented in Chinese – and Chinese only. Her question: Is this something to be encouraged in Singapore, a country which has four official languages? This ‘disturbing trend’, she added, could push Singapore along the route of Western countries, where there is growing resentment towards enclaves taken over by foreign residents.

Ms Loh’s comments – and those of other letter writers – reflect a feeling among many Singaporeans that seldom speaks its name: a fear of foreigners, known otherwise as xenophobia. This is not surprising, given the huge influx that had taken place over the last few years as a result of the economic boom, before the financial tsunami brought it down to earth. There is a palpable fear among Singaporeans that foreigners will take their jobs, school places and, in some cases, even their spouses.

But xenophobia is defined more extensively as an irrational fear of strangers that is largely unwarranted. One only has to look at the world’s most economically vibrant cities – London, Sydney and New York – to see the benefits accruing from recruiting foreigners. Singapore, more so than these far more richly-endowed cities, needs a steady influx of foreign talent to keep its edge as a dynamic global city with a high-performing economy. This is the only way to create better jobs for Singaporeans now and in the future. It’s how the world’s foremost cities have grown, and Singapore is no exception.

This is not to say that Geylang should remain monolingual, even though it remains so due to purely commercial reasons. Geylang represents a global reality writ small: the rise of China necessitating the increased use of Mandarin even as the globalised world makes the use of English more widespread. That said, Chinese nationals in Geylang and elsewhere in Singapore have an incentive – if they want to integrate more fully in Singapore society – to acquire basic English fluency. In time, this will come about naturally because English is the working language here. They will find, as did earlier Chinese immigrants before them, that there is advantage in doing so in Singapore’s multi-racial environment. Singaporeans need greater patience to let this come about in the fullness of time.

better learn how to speak english okay!!!!!

chow cheebye!!!

speak the kang tang.

Most Service staff from China have had basic training in English, but they have problems understanding the way Singaporeans speak it. -ST

It is NOT the service staff from China who is at fault, it is the sinkie who speaks singlish :eek:

i ever heard of an incident, a malay goes to old chang kee to buy some stuff and ordered in English. The prc staff scolded him in Chinese, zhe li shi Xin jia por, ni ke yi jiang hua yu ma? (this is singapore, speak in chinese)

everyone around was damn dumbfounded at her comments. she expects a malay to speak chinese and since when did singapore declare chinese to be its national language

singaporean cant speak english, they speak singlish. that's why the chinese dont understand our way of speaking english

Moot point. Chinamen don't speak English, period.

singaporean cant speak english, they speak singlish. that's why the chinese dont understand our way of speaking english

i ever heard of an incident, a malay goes to old chang kee to buy some stuff and ordered in English. The prc staff scolded him in Chinese, zhe li shi Xin jia por, ni ke yi jiang hua yu ma? (this is singapore, speak in chinese)

everyone around was damn dumbfounded at her comments. she expects a malay to speak chinese and since when did singapore declare chinese to be its national language
If the management want to hire service or retail staff who can't speak English, they should jolly well arrange for lessons. And they should inform the staff that being in SG, they need to be able to speak basic English in order to fulfill their job requirements.

I can understand if a szechuan restaurant in Chinatown hires prc staff who cannot speak English. Not the case for a food outlet which sells halal food to people of all races who may not speak Chinese.