• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies Should Be Less Xenophobic

IN HIS commentary ("Do it like Duric... See what makes us Singaporean"; last Friday), Singapore Kindness Movement general secretary William Wan urged Singaporeans to "focus less on what makes others different and more on what makes us all Singaporean".

We tend to pay attention only to the commonalities in cultures, tenets and behaviours as an indicator of national identity.

Instead, we should look at national identity as a dual relationship between the people and the nation. The first is our sense of belonging; the second concerns our obligation and responsibility to our nation, which includes loyalty and patriotism.

The Japanese excel in these.

Unlike Japan, our national identity is subject to dilution because of the influx of foreigners. Globalisation, job mobility and greying of the population make sustaining our identity for the next 50 years much harder.

Foremost, we have to treat newcomers well and integrate them into our society. If we did not appreciate retired Singapore footballer Aleksandar Duric's contributions, and blamed him for stealing a job, we would have a different Duric.

We have to better overcome the negative feelings some of us have towards newcomers.

New immigrants are mostly well-educated. Some will set up firms and become our bosses. In time to come, they would form a huge customer base for shopping malls and eateries.

Then there are the permanent residents who are more reluctant to give up citizenship of their home countries, posing a challenge to national obligation and loyalty to Singapore.

Newcomers who want to stay here for good should understand that it is not in their interest should our national identity weaken, as that would lead to unstable social and political situations.

Ideally, all of us here should play our role to strengthen this dual relationship with Singapore. Only a robust kind of national identity will be able to withstand adversities threatening our survival as a nation in the future.

Ng Ya Ken
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/strengthen-dual-relationship-spore-20150108

IN HIS commentary ("Do it like Duric... See what makes us Singaporean"; last Friday), Singapore Kindness Movement general secretary William Wan urged Singaporeans to "focus less on what makes others different and more on what makes us all Singaporean".

We tend to pay attention only to the commonalities in cultures, tenets and behaviours as an indicator of national identity.

Instead, we should look at national identity as a dual relationship between the people and the nation. The first is our sense of belonging; the second concerns our obligation and responsibility to our nation, which includes loyalty and patriotism.

Unlike Japan, our national identity is subject to dilution because of the influx of foreigners. Globalisation, job mobility and greying of the population make sustaining our identity for the next 50 years much harder.

Foremost, we have to treat newcomers well and integrate them into our society. If we did not appreciate retired Singapore footballer Aleksandar Duric's contributions, and blamed him for stealing a job, we would have a different Duric.

We have to better overcome the negative feelings some of us have towards newcomers.

New immigrants are mostly well-educated. Some will set up firms and become our bosses. In time to come, they would form a huge customer base for shopping malls and eateries.

Then there are the permanent residents who are more reluctant to give up citizenship of their home countries, posing a challenge to national obligation and loyalty to Singapore.

Newcomers who want to stay here for good should understand that it is not in their interest should our national identity weaken, as that would lead to unstable social and political situations.

Ideally, all of us here should play our role to strengthen this dual relationship with Singapore. Only a robust kind of national identity will be able to withstand adversities threatening our survival as a nation in the future.

Ng Ya Ken
http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-letters/story/strengthen-dual-relationship-spore-20150108

Stupid article, it's not about differences, it's about jobs being lost and wages depressed due to foreigners, if jobs were plentiful and wages high, sinkies dun give a shit about differences.

Exactly!!!!

Ng Ya Ken
This article does carry some truths. The Sinkie GDP had already dropped from 3.9% to 2.8% last year. Go on, retaliate against the FTs. I would be happy to see more Sinkies out of job due to the relocation of businesses and industries owing to unbearable rising costs. Sinkies are always deceiving themselves with the grandeur impression that ONLY they are the best for this country. They'll sure to regret in the not too distant future.

you sound like a fucktard without brains...

Same old fucking shit again. Retarded parents will naturally give birth to retarded offsprings. God willing, may you be gunned down soon by the Sunnis in Boleh Land. Allahu Akbar.

Rubbish, first of all GDP figures can be fudged, just to justify influx of cheap labour. Secondly with huge amounts of money being remitted back home from foreigners, how much GDP growth is actually also "exported"?

I would like to see businesses leave due to so called "unbearable" costs, with SGs, political stability, efficiency and superb infrastructure unmatched in South East Asia, they are welcomed to leave just for cheap labour, so stop deceiving yourself with delusions of grandeur that it is so easy just for companies to pack and go just because of high labour costs.

Sinkees need to show their fighting spirit ...drive all the foreigners out; they need to create an environment that foreigners hate and word will spread that sinkapore is a hell hole for foreigners to live.
We got to solve our own problems since the government is pro-foreigners.

well said! this "winners" puki m&d pizza delivery boy also likes to anal fuck himself with his mother cheebye toys
Another TONY fuck wannabe. Bo Siong Kong Simi Lan Cheow Wei? Say you were at Yishun North Point. See my stun guns and already so scared until have to apologize to Leongsam. Another no balls bastard.

FiP79pN.gif

Why dont we tackle the root of the problem, which is the government inviting so many foreigners into our country to depress our pay?

Can we tie ministar's pay to our pay? If ours drop then theirs must too because that means they did not do a good job educating and training us.

Another TONY fuck wannabe. Bo Siong Kong Simi Lan Cheow Wei? Say you were at Yishun North Point. See my stun guns and already so scared until have to apologize to Leongsam. Another no balls bastard.

fuck your mother cheebye you fucking ballsless puki m&d pizza hut delivery boy. want to challenge people to fight, i put down time/place you no balls to show up, you motherfucking bastard puchart already still want to yaya. no balls to show up for fight, try to give excuses ask for picture this picture that. since you like pictures so much, why dont you post a picture of your cheebye face and your prostitute mother in here? limpeh here issue you again a 2nd time challenge, this time make sure you proof you got big balls, and bring your illegal stun guns along lah since you so fucking brave. dont forget, you this fucking puki m&d pizza hut delivery motherfucking bastard is nothing but a common criminal smuggling weapons into the country. dont pretend to carry govt balls, angkat bodek wont save you when the police come and arrest you for possession of illegal deadly weapons, they will find it even if you try to hide inside your mother smelly busok puki understand??