• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Sinkies boycott "smart" hawker centre

Cottonmouth

Singaporeans boycott “Smart Nation” Hawker Centre
April 24, 2018

Like true pragmatists, Singaporeans are letting their wallet do the protesting. The first “Smart Nation” hawker centre in Singapore that charge patrons 10% more for not using mobile application and demand 50 cents deposits for tray-return, is doing very badly. The economic boycott has been so effective that it now set the Singapore government thinking twice about applying similar “Smart Nation” initiatives in public amenities.

Yesterday (Apr 23), the Singapore government announced they will intervene to lend a hand to the failed “Smart Nation” project by offering free lunchtime parking and taxi discount coupons at Yishun Park Hawker Centre. However, the government was insistent not to scrap the tray-return system or revert back to normal prices for cash transactions. It is unlikely these would help to turn business around as Singaporeans prefer to patronise nearby coffeeshops that charge a flat-fee for food and provide gainful employment to elderly cleaners.

There are after all good reasons to boycott “Smart Nation” kopitiams. First, the cleaning industry would be severely affected by the tray-return system and elderly cleaners would likely see their salaries depressed further when their trade is no longer in demand. In recent years, employers were forced to raise cleaners’ salaries because there is a shortage of manpower.

Second, the “10% discount” system for mobile application cashless payments is actually in disguise a penalty system for cash-paying customers. Patrons would also be stuck with interest-free credit in each mobile app, and both patrons and hawker stall owners have to pay a commission to the merchant banks. There is also no convenience either, as patrons would have to download the app, which could also pose as a privacy and security issues.

The economic boycott hence must continue to let the government know it is a bad idea to go cashless. First-world economy Japan operate more efficiently than Singapore and China despite having a cash-is-king retail model. Nobody should be penalised for paying cash. To put it succinctly, Yishun Park Hawker Centre needs to fail for a better Singapore.

Attending or organising a protest is too dangerous in a dictatorship like Singapore. One of the newest protest models today is exactly such an economic boycott, similar that to sanctions employed by countries against rogue states. On the same note, Singaporeans can protest against propaganda fake news by boycotting state media news media and subscribing to social media news and international news sites like States Times Review. Things are looking positive as Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) and Mediacorp are fast losing readership and advertising revenue.

Alex Tan
STR Editor

Reactions: 555

ChanRasjid

This is what happens when they "talk military strategy on paper". They cannot feel the wish of the people on the ground. When I heard of the idea about having a deposit for tray return, my immediate reaction is - who cares - just go elsewhere.

Life is not about doing everything "quickly" within nanoseconds. If it were, why do they go for holidays in weeks - and not just pass the causeway and turning back! Why take a walk for 20 min! Just pace around your kitchen in circles takes 1 min! Finish with it!:eek:

Just because they start "hearing" China is ahead of Singapore and they start to be agitated and make great decisions!

Lee Hsien Loong! Please decide with your mobile phone app NOW! BRAINLESS IS THE FASTEST!:p Immediate fast let Chan Chun Sing take over as prime minister!

We are fucking our vendors and retailers too

Imagine they have to accept Alipay, Paypass(Mastercard, Visa), Ezlink, then malaysian riders only got Cashcard/Flashpay, NETS,
not to mention AMEX, DINERS, JCB

Fuck u deep deep.

Fucking sinkies got enough brain to boycott a place that charges a few dollars and cents more, but not smart enough to boycott a political party that charges a few million dollars more. Nabei.

ChanRasjid

I think the Indians - the black ones, not the red ones - are the smartest race in the world.

Very often, you find they could calculate the cube-root of 12155 within seconds. There was a seven year old who performs eye surgery on the poor. The recent discovery of their martial art grandmaster greater then any Tai Chi master.

They dare to challenge the modern age. They are the very antithesis of our internet age - they perfected the art of sitting cross-legged and doing nothing nor moving for a long, long time.:biggrin:

Cottonmouth

I think the Indians - the black ones, not the red ones - are the smartest race in the world.

Very often, you find they could calculate the cube-root of 12155 within seconds. There was a seven year old who performs eye surgery on the poor. The recent discovery of their martial art grandmaster greater then any Tai Chi master.

They dare to challenge the modern age. They are the very antithesis of our internet age - they perfected the art of sitting cross-legged and doing nothing nor moving for a long, long time.:biggrin:

They are also master penetrators, see only hole and they penetrate.

Annunaki

This cheebye got return tray after Makan?

IMG_8160.JPG

In the US food court, people bring their trays back. No deposit required.

Why do we need 'smart nation' here to force people to help out?

Truth_Hurts

This is what happens when they "talk military strategy on paper". They cannot feel the wish of the people on the ground. When I heard of the idea about having a deposit for tray return, my immediate reaction is - who cares - just go elsewhere.

Life is not about doing everything "quickly" within nanoseconds. If it were, why do they go for holidays in weeks - and not just pass the causeway and turning back! Why take a walk for 20 min! Just pace around your kitchen in circles takes 1 min! Finish with it!:eek:

Just because they start "hearing" China is ahead of Singapore and they start to be agitated and make great decisions!

Lee Hsien Loong! Please decide with your mobile phone app NOW! BRAINLESS IS THE FASTEST!:p Immediate fast let Chan Chun Sing take over as prime minister!
These are the next generation leadership. I doubt Singkieland can last with such clowns in charge

In the US food court, people bring their trays back. No deposit required.

Why do we need 'smart nation' here to force people to help out?
Because ang moh is bestest. Even at junctions, they have an unwritten based on who arrives first. Totally civilised.
It was only a few decades ago sinkies were filling their plates to the brim at buffets the world over. Like never eat before.

Because ang moh is bestest. Even at junctions, they have an unwritten based on who arrives first. Totally civilised.
It was only a few decades ago sinkies were filling their plates to the brim at buffets the world over. Like never eat before.
sinkies still do today. and leaving bones and debris on table. at high ses restaurants with tablecloth sinkies even use tablecloth to clean hands when napkins are full of stains and guck from dirty fingers, noses, mouths, snort and phlegm. sinkies are fucking disgusting in dining habits.