• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies and their HDB flat..

Nobody is being forced to lease an HDB rat trap.

HDB apartments are popular because they are value for money.

I have yet to see a genuine cost benefits analysis on HDB flats that prove that it is value for money. The numbers i have run indicate that its close to break even. HDB flats are not popular, they are universally lampooned here for poor materials, workmanship, etc. But because its the only product available from someone who owns 90% of the land, you don't have a choice. If tomorrow, the govt. says that 90% of the cars sold in SIngapore must be Volkswagens, does that make a Volkswagen value for money? Could not a Civic or Corolla be better value? Sure, but you will never know since u cannot buy them.

When you "sell" your flat, you are actually assigning your rights to the flat to someone else for the balance of the 99 year term. In other words, you are "subletting" your flat to someone else with no recourse or rights to recover the flat.

that's what revocable right of use means, you twit. :p

That could be why MOE make their education so that many failed their maths and English. Cant read means cant understand even simple sentences, cant calculate means cannot count up to 99 must give up your flat, zero value.

Best thing, majority are Chinese and Malaya and forced to learn another foreign language which make you take years to master and by the time 99 years is up.

I have yet to see a genuine cost benefits analysis on HDB flats that prove that it is value for money. The numbers i have run indicate that its close to break even. HDB flats are not popular, they are universally lampooned here for poor materials, workmanship, etc. But because its the only product available from someone who owns 90% of the land, you don't have a choice. If tomorrow, the govt. says that 90% of the cars sold in SIngapore must be Volkswagens, does that make a Volkswagen value for money? Could not a Civic or Corolla be better value? Sure, but you will never know since u cannot buy them.

Of course there is a choice. I lived in Singapore for more than 30 years and never owned an HDB apartment in my life.

Fuck you, why can't we whining in the forum. You can fuck off if you don't want to read them and continue enjoying your master drilling your asshole.

Begs the question. What is stopping U from NOT buying a flat. If you keep saying its expensive and you don't even own it, did anyone ever put a gun to your head to buy one?

Its not a leasehold. Its a lease, just like a car lease. Leasehold is different. I am still shocked that so many sinkies can't tell the difference.

Could you please educate us the difference between a lease and a leasehold? and how HDB is viewed as a lease rather than a leasehold?

This is what sinkie HDB says:
http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cc/99YearLease?OpenDocument
Since HDB flats are sold on a 99-year leasehold, why does HDB call it “home ownership” when it is essentially a “rental” arrangement?
Posted on 06 Sep 2012 |

The 99-year lease of HDB flats does not undermine the notion of home ownership or make it less appealing and real. Households own the lease, and the flat is theirs during the period of ownership. Over time, the value of the flat may increase, and many flat owners have been able to sell off their flats at a price higher than what they paid for originally.
Think about it. If you claim you do not really own your flat, then how is it possible that you are able to derive proceeds from the subsequent sale of your flat?
Rather than rental flats, 99-year leasehold flats give flat owners greater permanence and even monetary yield in the long run, which can be monetised for one’s old age, if need be. Properties with 99-year leases are also common in the private housing market and their owners do not see it as a rental arrangement. The 99-year lease on HDB flats confers on their owners similar ownership rights and responsibilities as other properties.
- See more at: http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cc/99YearLease?OpenDocument#sthash.Qjd3qcxg.dpuf

Could you please educate us the difference between a lease and a leasehold? and how HDB is viewed as a lease rather than a leasehold?
?

bro,
thought you unsinkified yourself liao? must look up on the meaning mah. Papsmearer is spot on! HDB pigeon is on a lease, not leasehold.

bro,
thought you unsinkified yourself liao? must look up on the meaning mah. Papsmearer is spot on! HDB pigeon is on a lease, not leasehold.

He is the HDB enlightening guru...so must need him to give the light on this.

You never actually own a HDB, you merely pass more shits for the next generation.

Of course there is a choice. I lived in Singapore for more than 30 years and never owned an HDB apartment in my life.

But you rented a HDB flat, right? So, you didn't have a choice. A private condo is too much for you to rent. ANd a bungalow is beyond your budget. So, stop bullshitting.

You don't have any revocable rights. All the rights are with the HDB. So, stop spouting your bullshit.

that's no bs. the revocability of all rights rests with the hdb. it's essentially the same thing. the buyer has rights to use and sell, but subject to the approval of the hdb, and they can find excuses to revoke all your rights. but if it's an iru, it's a different matter altogether. :rolleyes:

But you rented a HDB flat, right? So, you didn't have a choice. A private condo is too much for you to rent. ANd a bungalow is beyond your budget. So, stop bullshitting.

I rent a room because I need a base to return to when I'm in Singapore. I still own a couple of private residences but they're rented out and I can't just throw the tenant out whenever I'm in town.

This is what sinkie HDB says:
http://www.hdbspeaks.sg/fi10/fi10336p.nsf/cc/99YearLease?OpenDocument

Well, HDBSpeaks is full of shit and they don't even know their own policy. For the purposes of SIngapore, there are 3 main forms of property ownership (well, one of them is not really an ownership, its a rental)

1) 99 years HDB flat lease- This is no different than a 5 year lease on a car. At the end of the lease, you must return the object back to the owner. In the case of the car, back to the car leasing company, and in the case of the flat, to the HDB. Your value on the object is zero on the expiration of the lease. What is unusual about the HDB 99 year lease is that you are required to pay all your 99 years of rent UPFRONT!! Imagine that. That is why the HDB can require you to pay $500,000 for a flat. So, You are prepaying your rent for the next 99 years, and the amount is so big you need a bank loan. In the HDB documents, you are described as the tenant and HDB is the landlord. Common sense tells you that you cannot sell something that does not belong to you. Therefore, when you "sell" your flat, you are actually assigning your lease to someone else. The money they pay you is technically an assignment fee. Singaporeans don't understand that when they pay $800,000 for a resale flat, they are actually paying someone a fee to assign the flat with the balance of the lease to them. This $800K is compensation for the use of the flat by the new owner and the lost of use for the seller. That is why when you take a bank loan or a HDB loan to buy the flat, the paperwork always includes a Deed of Assignment. This Deed of Assignment is in the favour of the loan holder and in the event of a default/foreclosure, allows the loan holder to legally take over the lease and assign (sell) it to someone else to recover the loan. This lease is legally registered, but you are not on title. The title belongs to the HDB.

This HDB 99 year lease is a Have-Your-Cake-And-Eat-It lease. Its totally in favour of the landlord. If lets say you wanted to rent a private condo, (usually the rental lease is a 1 year period), would you agree to pay the conservancy/maintenance fee on the condo? What about the property taxes of the condo? What about any upgrading that needs to be done to the condo? You wouldn't do it, right? You are after all only the tenant and these are the responsibilities of the landlord and property owner. Not so with a HDB lease. That's why when people like Samleong say its a good value, you really have to do your own cost benefit analysis and question it.

The other thing to remember about a HDB 99 year lease is that both parties enter into the lease with good intentions, but HDB has from the outset no intention to honour the 99 years. How many blocks have you seen taken back for redevelopment or some other reason? Is there anything that remains of the original estates like Queenstown? No, they have all been demolished for higher rise and higher density flats. But wait, those people signed a 99 year lease too. Look at the quality and design and materials in a HDB block. Who here thinks the flats will last 99 years? The HDB fully expects to move you out to "newer" estate and give you a discount on your new "flat upgrade" 50-60 years into your lease, if not earlier. So, the HDB will break your lease, count on it.

2) Leasehold properties - A leasehold property means that the improvements on the land (i.e. the building itself) belongs to the owners of the flats. They have a title to their unit. This is actually a physical structure that the owners collectively own. However, the land on which their building sits belongs to someone else, and this person is lesing the land to them for 99 years. At the end of the 99 years, several things can happen dependent on how the lease is written up. The improvements might revert back to the owner of the land with no compensation or a negotiated compensation. The improvements might be required to be demolished and the land is reverted to the original bare land that the owners leased in the first place. Or there might be a clause to negotiate another lease. So, it really depends on the wording.

3) Freehold - Well, its self explanatory. You own the land and you own the improvement on it. This is the highest form of property ownership. However, all freehold condos have an economic life remaining, and there comes a time when structurally they are not sound or the cost of upkeep is too high. In this case, they have the option to sell out to a developer. You can use Horizon Towers as an example, if you want to enbloc. But the proceeds of the sale will be whatever the market is willing to pay them for it.

Hope this helps.

You can check this thread out if you wish.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?50943-HDB-101-What-the-PAP-don-t-want-you-to-know

bro,
why do Sinkies need to pay property tax for the 99 lease HDB? because HDB & IRAS says so?
There are many no logic rules and laws in sinking land. If Pinky can say increase GST to help the poor, what do you think?

The other no logic is Sinkee peasants have to pay back to CPF the accrued interests for their pigeonhole loans. KNN, use own money still have to pay back interest. You all say this one is simi logic?

bro,
why do Sinkies need to pay property tax for the 99 lease HDB? because HDB & IRAS says so?

I told you they are having their cake and eating it too. They should not because they do not own the property. But you no choice, one entity owns 90% of the residences in singapore. Only a fucktard like SamLeong thinks you have a choice. Its in your lease agreement that you have to pay. You don't like it, don't sign it and don't have anything to do with the HDB. But than, private is beyond your budget. SO its either you sleep on the void deck or you sign. What to do?