• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkieland now get you sinkies China-Made trains.. be careful..ride on your own risk!

TA has assured that rigorous safety standards are met for the made-in-China trains which would be used in the new Downtown Line (DTL).

LTA said the trains were assembled in China, but the components come from eight different countries, including China (which manufactured the car body), Sweden, UK, France, Spain, Czech Republic and Germany.

During the assembly phase, LTA said it sent engineers to China to supervise the work, and ensured rigorous safety standards are met.

Sim Wee Meng, senior group director for rail at the LTA, told the media, “The safety of the train is of highest priority to LTA. If there’s a component failure, it will not affect the safety of the train.”

“If a train was to stop in a tunnel as a result of a power-loss – the battery life will provide support to the emergency lighting and ventilation while the evacuation take place.”

Concerns for the main-in-China trains came after they were given a longer testing period by LTA (‘Made-in-China trains for DTL given longer testing period‘). The off-site testing period for the DTL trains is 3 months longer than the period taken for the North East Line and Circle Line.

It’s not known why LTA decides to give a longer period to test the new trains for DTL.

Some TRE readers commented:

tc: China made. Some how I feel worried.

satanically possessed: We’ll not only experience the usual disruption, we should also expect to experience a derailment soon.

Rotten PAPayas: Made in China, cheaper but is it safe? Would you use a Made-in-China condom?

LIONS: ALL I PRAY AND HOPE FOR IS THAT these PRC TRAINS are not ‘TAINTED’? can we be sure? I want to but i really cannot trust the PRC as yet…. GOD BLESS US ALL.

Naturally Concerned: Everything works perfect during testing until it is actually being used here. Major breakdown will happen again soon…

The first stage of DTL will open next month on 22 Dec, linking 6 stations from Bugis to Chinatown.

The DTL trains will be the first in Singapore’s MRT system to be made in China.

Eight trains are already in Singapore. The remaining 80 will be shipped over by 2017, when the Downtown Line fully opens.

Re: Sinkieland now get you sinkies China-Made trains.. be careful..ride on your own r

wonder why they need components from different countries? so if anytime the trains breakdown, they have 8 countries to choose to blame. not we dun trust china, but the product ................. u noe i noe

Re: Sinkieland now get you sinkies China-Made trains.. be careful..ride on your own r

Cheap mah. The same thing happened for HDB lift upgrading: those new lifts are Sigma brand, not Fujitec. Sigma lifts are hot, stuffy, noisy and break down frequently.

That's what signing a FTA with China gets you. ;)

During the assembly phase, LTA said it sent engineers to China to supervise the work, and ensured rigorous safety standards are met.

They don't dare to say the engineers sent to China to supervise are originally from China too.

Cheap mah. The same thing happened for HDB lift upgrading: those new lifts are Sigma brand, not Fujitec. Sigma lifts are hot, stuffy, noisy and break down frequently.

That's what signing a FTA with China gets you. ;)

Since it's made in China my important question is did LTA pay European prices or Chinese prices for them trains?

IPhone also made in China what. isn't it? IPhone inferior?

A phone becomes faulty, you can easily get a replacement.

A train or lift becomes faulty, you may die.

Guys, don't worry lah. As long as cable ties is not made in china, think should be ok.

maybe comes with built in spittoons.

Buy cheap components (in this case, trains and all their accessories) and charge high fares. This is how SMRT maximizes return on investment. When in trouble, SMRT, a public-listed company, can always count on Pinky to come up with 1 billion SGD to bail it out.