• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Sinkie Old Farts Need At Least $1,379 A Month To Survive In Singapore! CPF Helping Sinkies To Enjoy Retirement!

Hypocrite-The

I feel as long as a citizen has paid tax for 25 to 30 straight years no reason why the govt cannot provide a simple pension of 1k to 2k sustenance a month starting from 60 plus free healthcare...and also for those who are still working pass 60 yo there should be no income tax impose

Most singkies pay very little direct taxes..and heaps of foreigners enjoy working in singkieland because of the low tax regime. So since singkies pay fee direct taxes...a pension by the pap is not possible

IMG-20190523-WA0003.jpg

KNN tkl say elderly only need $800 KNN he meant 800 euros is it KNN

RogerK

Most singkies pay very little direct taxes..and heaps of foreigners enjoy working in singkieland because of the low tax regime. So since singkies pay fee direct taxes...a pension by the pap is not possible

A tax is a tax. It does not matter whether it is direct or indirect - it is still a tax.

With the current Cat A COE at $27,000 and Cat B COE at $42,564 - do you consider COE a kind of tax?

Hypocrite-The

I am not talking if you buy car or not.

I am asking "do you consider COE a kind of tax?"

And yes, based on your answer it IS a TAX

Don't understand why you need to go a merry go round in a roundabout way??
Don't understand what Coe have to do with retirement. Or to this article.

RogerK

Yes I said that....so wats the issue? U think pap will give pension to the ordinary ppl?

So pap will never give pension regardless if the tax is exceedingly high or not. Is that correct?

If so, then your statement trying to relate the low direct taxes to no pension is wrong.

Put simply, pap simply squeeze from us and gives us virtually nothing in return.

Hypocrite-The

So pap will never give pension regardless if the tax is exceedingly high or not. Is that correct?

If so, then your statement trying to relate the low direct taxes to no pension is wrong.

Put simply, pap simply squeeze from us and gives us virtually nothing in return.

70 % voted for it. N pension for everyone is unsustainable unless direct taxes increase , gst goes up to 20% or more. and of course welfare payments to the pappies need to be increased. The pappies will not bite the hands that feed them.

PAP earns 7 pct on returns from CPF deposits, pays 2.5 pct interest. 4.5 pct go where?
PAP also earns from the exhorbitant price of 'subsidized' flats.

If sinkees can invest their CPF on SPY, they will have no problem with retirement finances.

Hypocrite-The

PAP earns 7 pct on returns from CPF deposits, pays 2.5 pct interest. 4.5 pct go where?
PAP also earns from the exhorbitant price of 'subsidized' flats.

If sinkees can invest their CPF on SPY, they will have no problem with retirement finances.
69.9,% voted for it. And it's a gift to the pap...the 69.9 is happy to give..

bobby

It is simple maths...with the current population size and per capita income, how is a gahmen funded pension system not sustainable in Singapore?

senzha88

It is simple maths...with the current population size and per capita income, how is a gahmen funded pension system not sustainable in Singapore?
Even if they can they won't "throw money" like that. To the gahmen, it's just a waste of their resources. All they do is hand out one-time perks like the pioneer gen and merdeka gen packages when it's that time of the year...

RogerK

Even if they can they won't "throw money" like that. To the gahmen, it's just a waste of their resources. All they do is hand out one-time perks like the pioneer gen and merdeka gen packages when it's that time of the year...

In addition to that "one-time perks like the pioneer gen and merdeka gen packages when it's that time of the year...", they shamelessly pay themselves obscene millions of dollars year after year.