Serious Sinkie Old Farts From Tanjong Pagar And AMK GRCs To Be Vaccinated First! Guess Which Wards Would Be Vaccinated Last??

1611364008756.png

SINGAPORE: From Jan 27, the Government will begin to vaccinate seniors in the community against COVID-19, starting with pilots in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar, where larger numbers of seniors reside, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong on Friday (Jan 22).

Vaccinations will be progressively rolled out to seniors across the island from mid-February, he added, in what he described as Singapore’s “largest” vaccination in its history.

Currently, seniors nursing homes have already begun to receive their vaccinations.

Selected seniors in the community will receive letters inviting them to make an appointment for their vaccinations.

Those in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar will be able to make their appointments from Jan 25 onwards, said Mr Gan, who was speaking at a multi-ministry taskforce on COVID-19 news conference.

The Government will invite between 5,000 to 10,000 seniors in each of the pilot areas for vaccinations to start, said the minister.

A shot in the arm for retail sales
More retailers are adopting solutions that let customers break their payments into a few interest-free instalments. Find out why.

VACCINATION CENTRES TO BE SET UP OVER NEXT FEW WEEKS

For the pilots in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar, the Government will set up two vaccination centres at Teck Ghee Community Club and Tanjong Pagar Community Club by Feb 1.

"The vaccination centres will be set up over the next few weeks to ensure that all seniors can conveniently receive their vaccinations at a centre near to where they live, and vaccination centres will be located in high population catchment areas and along public transport routes for greater accessibility," the Ministry of Health (MOH) said in a press release.

Community volunteers from the People’s Association and Silver Generation Ambassadors will conduct house visits and tap on existing grassroots events to answer queries and help seniors book appointments if necessary. Seniors in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar can go to their respective community clubs to seek assistance as well.

Seniors will receive information sheets with more details on the COVID-19 vaccine and the vaccination process, said MOH.

READ: Stallholders, shop owners and food delivery workers in Chinatown to undergo COVID-19 testing ahead of Chinese New Year
STEADY PROGRESS IN VACCINATION PROGRAMME

Singapore has been making “steady progress” with its vaccination efforts, with more than 60,000 people receiving their first dose as of Friday afternoon, said Mr Gan.

This includes seniors in nursing homes and staff working in healthcare, nursing homes, frontline and essential services.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...or-seniors-in-community-pilot-jan-27-14020202

They vaccinate to extend lives of seniors or eliminate them?

The voters of Tanjong Pagar and AMK have been loyal to Singapore. They deserve to be vaccinated first. Disloyal oppies should go last.

Should be the reverse...vaccinate SengKang & Aljunied first, then wait 6 weeks. If nothing happens, then vaccinate AMK & Tanjong Pagar .

It take 20 years for a vaccine to approve. Good luck Tannie. Choose which jungle, forest, backyard tree want to reside for life...

The voters of Tanjong Pagar and AMK have been loyal to Singapore. They deserve to be vaccinated first. Disloyal oppies should go last.

Should be the reverse...vaccinate SengKang & Aljunied first, then wait 6 weeks. If nothing happens, then vaccinate AMK & Tanjong Pagar .

It's not reported in the news, but the important people of Bukit Timah and politicians get vaccinated first. My family is now immune to covid.

Wish u all good w yr reincarnation... be a flower tree grow sweet flowers to attract chiobu...

Perhaps at Normanton Park condo. There's a lot of forest and a great view of the sea over there.

Looks like the good folks at Aljunied, Hougang and Sengkang are the luckiest! They will live the longest. I am in Toa Payoh, so we are doomed! If only most of us have voted wisely....:cry:

how many of you are aware that you need two doses of this cocktail?

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/60000-have-received-first-dose-of-covid-19-vaccine

Singapore's Covid-19 vaccine programme will kick into high gear in the coming weeks, with more than 60,000 people having received their first doses of the jab, said Health Minister Gan Kim Yong.
While delays are expected for vaccine shipments due to supply issues, the Government is monitoring the situation closely to ensure there are enough jabs for all Singaporeans and long-term residents by the third quarter of this year.
Mr Gan, co-chair of the multi-ministerial task force tackling the pandemic, said at a media briefing yesterday that about 10,000 individuals received their vaccine doses on Wednesday, and more will be doing so soon.
"These numbers are expected to rise substantially in the coming weeks, as we continue to ramp up our vaccination capacity and operations while maintaining the highest standards of safety," he added.
In a statement, the Ministry of Health (MOH) said 39 staff at the National Centre for Infectious Diseases have already received their second dose of the vaccine. This means that they have completed the full vaccination regimen, and will have built up maximum protection in two weeks' time.
The Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine - the only one approved here to date - requires two injections, given 21 days apart.

MOH said there will be some delays in the shipments of the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine because of upgrading works at Pfizer's manufacturing plant in Belgium.
Mr Gan said one particular shipment has been delayed, but is still scheduled to arrive in time for the vaccination programme.
But he added that disruptions from time to time should be expected, due to uncertainties that remain surrounding the global vaccine roll-out.
He pointed out that manufacturers might divert some of their supplies to other areas that may need vaccines more urgently due to huge outbreaks. Vaccine production and logistics arrangements could also be interrupted, he noted.

Singaporeans should thus not wait to get vaccinated and do so as soon as they are given the chance.
"When your turn comes for the vaccination, please do make an appointment early, because there will always be a possibility of a disruption as we go along, as we move forward," he said.
MAJORITY OF SIDE EFFECTS VERY MILD
Many of these symptoms in fact reflect the body's immune system responding to the vaccine dose that has been injected in them, and there will be some that may have more serious side effects which include allergic reactions of a variety of different grades of severity.
ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR KENNETH MAK, Ministry of Health's director of medical services. He noted that, in general, the majority of side effects have been very mild and they include pain, redness, swelling, soreness of the muscles, as well as fatigue and fever.
Singapore is expecting more Covid-19 vaccine deliveries in the next few months, including from American biotechnology firm Moderna and China's Sinovac.
Asked for an update on the review of these vaccines, MOH's director of medical services Kenneth Mak said a decision is expected soon on one of the vaccines under evaluation, which he did not name.
"The other vaccine, I understand we are still clarifying further details with the company that produces the vaccine," he added. "We are hopeful that if we are able to get all the information necessary for evaluation, then HSA (Health Sciences Authority) can complete its review process and then give approval for the other vaccines as well."
Asked about the side effects experienced by those who have been vaccinated here, Prof Mak said the Government has received some reports of "adverse effects" as they arise. It is currently compiling reports on these and submitting them to its vaccine expert panel for review and recommendations.
In general, the majority of side effects reported in various countries that have launched vaccination programmes have been very mild, he said.
These include pain, redness, swelling, soreness of the muscles, as well as fatigue and fever.
"Many of these symptoms in fact reflect the body's immune system responding to the vaccine dose that has been injected in them, and there will be some that may have more serious side effects which include allergic reactions of a variety of different grades of severity."
The authorities are still compiling and organising the data, and will give an update when ready, Prof Mak added.
On vaccine passports - proof of vaccination usually for travel purposes - Education Minister Lawrence Wong said Singapore is still studying the matter.
For example, the Government will consider reducing the quarantine requirement if it is proven that those inoculated are immune and cannot transmit Covid-19 to others. This would apply to foreign visitors and returning Singaporeans who have received their jabs.
"But these are still early days. We are still studying the data and the evidence very carefully before we make any decisions on this matter," Mr Wong said.

MPs visit seniors at Tanjong Pagar, Ang Mo Kio to address concerns on COVID-19 vaccine ahead of inoculation drive
by The Online Citizen
25/01/2021
in Community, Current Affairs, Health, Uncategorized
Reading Time: 3min read
“Fear-mongering as usual”: Netizens irked by Govt announcement on future house visits by officials to convince public to take COVID-19 vaccines

As the national vaccination drive against COVID-19 is all set to kick-start this Wednesday (27 January) for seniors, Members of Parliament (MPs) have been going door-to-door to visit residents in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar to address their concerns on the vaccines as fear among seniors continue to persist.
MPs for Tanjong Pagar GRC Eric Chua and Joan Pereira, as well as Ang Mo Kio GRC MP Ng Ling Ling, were among those who made house visits to residents during the weekend.
COVID-19 vaccinations for seniors aged 70 and above will begin with residents living in Ang Mo Kio and Tanjong Pagar this Wednesday. Nearly 5,000 to 10,000 elderly individuals in each of the housing estates are set to receive letters informing them to book appointments at polyclinics.
The booking system is needed in order to avoid wastage such as when the jabs are prepared but no one is there to receive them.
Health Minister Gan Kim Yong announced last week that government officials will go door-to-door to explain the importance of taking COVID-19 vaccinations as well as help people make online bookings for the jabs. This method is a way to encourage the public to sign-up for the vaccinations.
He explained that this will be done as there have been some reservations among the people of Singapore towards the vaccine.
Education Minister Lawrence Wong also pointed out that if people refuse or do not book a slot for the vaccination when it is made available for them, they must then “accept the consequences” that if they change their minds in the future, a ready supply of vaccines may no longer be available for them.
Mr Wong added that the Government will not reserve a supply of vaccines for those who are undecided on whether to get the doses. Instead, the vaccines will be given to others at a “relatively fast clip”.
“We are not trying to hold back or ration the supply. Our interest is to get as many people vaccinated as soon as possible. Each time we get the supply (of vaccine doses), we will push them out, we will send out the invites to book (a vaccination slot),” Mr Wong was quoted in a report by TODAY.
He continued, “For those who choose not to take up, it’s your choice, but we will roll out and push out the vaccines regardless.”
Seniors worried about the side effects of the vaccine
Ever since COVID-19 vaccines have been given to people in the last few months to combat the spread of the coronavirus, multiple reports have emerged on the side effects of vaccines, including fatalities.

In Europe, recipients of the vaccine have experienced fever, headache, serious but treatable allergy reaction, as well as pain at the site of the injection.
To make it worse, Norway has reported deaths among elderly citizens with serious underlying health issues after given Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine, indicating another side effect of the vaccine.
Given the concerns of the vaccine, older residents have voiced their reluctance towards getting the doses, The Straits Times (ST) reported.
One such resident at Ang Mo Kio, Alice Soh explained that she is worried that the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is not “guaranteed” to protect people against the highly contagious virus.
“I read in the papers that it’s not 100 percent effective, and if there’s a chance I will still get (COVID-19), then what’s the point of getting the vaccine?” said Ms Soh, who is in her 60s.
When told that the vaccine has 95 percent efficacy, she said that she still needed time to think about it.
As for Bukit Merah resident, 85-year-old Tan Hock Guan, he expressed that he is undecided about the vaccine due to the possible side effects.
“My wife has already said she is not getting vaccinated,” he said in Mandarin.
However, retired teacher Jasmine Teo , 78, told that she will take the vaccine once it is made available to her.
“After reading what CVODI-19 patients go through, I want to take the vaccine and not worry so much about getting the virus,” she said.

Looks like the good folks at Aljunied, Hougang and Sengkang are the luckiest! They will live the longest. I am in Toa Payoh, so we are doomed! If only most of us have voted wisely....:cry:
You can reject. no need to follow anything.

So I take it that vaccination is compulsory for the oldies? Not 'voluntary' as mentioned initially?

Or are they going to coerce/cajole/pressure them to get vaccinated... similar to getting residents to vote 'Yes' on Home Improvement Programme HDB upgrading?

Mark my words: once they've dealt with the oldies, the next demographic on their list would be parents with children.

"Won't you think of your children?" "Why not get vaccinated to help protect your children?" "Shouldn't you be a responsible parent and get vaccinated?"

You get the idea. :wink: