• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's ideal population size? We can afford six million, says PM Lee

When the population stops at 6 million and when the interest rate is forced to go up by say 2 to 3 %. Remember 1996? Or any of the slums on the past property cycles? When that happens, don't think the Govt will be very happy to finally solve the property issue. The Govt will have so many other sticky issues on their hands and people will still not be able to afford their flats because the interest is so high. I am not saying controlling population leads to the other. Property cycles happened in the past even without population control. Just global economical cycles will trigger them.

I don't think it will stop at 6 million. Property prices are closely intertwined with the prosperity and political power of the PAP.

There's no stopping them from enbloc'ing some older flats in future and building 100-storey flats with 20 storeys of basements beneath the ground level.

It's like a rapist who assures you he will only penetrate you six inches deep and no further. But you know he has a record of breaking promises, and his dick is definitely longer than six inches.

I don't think it will stop at 6 million. Property prices are closely intertwined with the prosperity and political power of the PAP.

I tend to agree with you. Without doing something drastically different from in the past, the PAP will just have to let the population continuing to grow. So can someone ask the PM what is he saying about 6 million?

the real question you should ask is, what are you going to do knowing that the population is growing?

our PM is also hinting: we plan to lose 2 or 3 more GRCs in 2016 because we are are totally out of touch with reality

You are correct. When the PM talked of buying condos, he was addressing the elites. Do you not notice that he addresses the elites most of the time? When he occasionally struggled to speak to the common people that was only after the Old Man had conditioned them, through subliminal suggestion, to think that they were really daft.

Can buy condo means elite? Fook Seng, wake up and smell the coffee already.

the real question you should ask is, what are you going to do knowing that the population is growing?

I have no worries. I have done what I need to do. I have gone through several economic and property cycles in the past to know that you can only take advantage of cycles only if you have ready cash, not when you are fully invested.

When you are fully invested, you will only feel the pain of interest cost increases in holding on to your properties and investments especially when you invested using a margin account. Don't under-estimate the stamina of a property cycle to propagate for some time (a good example was the slum of 1996) and over-estimate your own stamina to hold on to your properties and investments. If you think otherwise, a very good luck to you.

I have no worries. I have done what I need to do. I have gone through several economic and property cycles in the past to know that you can only take advantage of cycles only if you have ready cash, not when you are fully invested.

When you are fully invested, you will only feel the pain of interest cost increases in holding on to your properties and investments especially when you invested using a margin account. Don't under-estimate the stamina of a property cycle to propagate for some time (a good example was the slum of 1996) and over-estimate your own stamina to hold on to your properties and investments. If you think otherwise, a very good luck to you.

nobody knows for sure and neither do you. Otherwise, you wouldn't be here griping.

knn. bring in more ang mo girls. dun want ah neh, chink or malayu.. we have enough of such idiots here

He's around, bro. But this time as a Chinese. Guess who? None other than the Captain!

Brudder Shihau also longed for the resurrection of Albert Winsemius. Someone must let him know that the CPT is the one.

What kind of a government will talk about population size when there are other more urgent matters? It is obvious that social engineering lesson 43,018 has been released to the prostitute press and largely unqualified ministers to diseminate. THere were already published numbers of 7.5 million. It will be 6.25 to 6.75 million without a question by 2018 if the PAPzis win the next GE. The HDB will never build sufficient flats for first time buyers when you include PRs, new citizens and Singaporeans into the demand equation.

Can buy condo means elite? Fook Seng, wake up and smell the coffee already.

Wah. You are the elite of the elites. You cannot even differentiate an elite from the common people. 85% of the population live in HDB flats most of which they owned, meaning heavily indebted and they cannot own a private property according to the rules. I presume you know that?

you mean elite is 15%

nobody knows for sure and neither do you. Otherwise, you wouldn't be here griping.

Don't think you have lived through many property and economical cycles. There is always a first time to get your fingers burnt. Ironically you are right when you said you can never be sure. When you are not sure, that is called gambling.

Don't think you have lived through many property and economical cycles. There is always a first time to get your fingers burnt. Ironically you are right when you said you can never sure. When you are not sure, that is called gambling.

Never been burnt. I buy low rent high. It sall a matter of timing.

THere were already published numbers of 7.5 million. It will be 6.25 to 6.75 million without a question by 2018 if the PAPzis win the next GE. The HDB will never build sufficient flats for first time buyers when you include PRs, new citizens and Singaporeans into the demand equation.

They will tell you to live with your parents after you get married. You can bet on that. If the prices of properties eventually go above the affordable level (even the perceived affordable level), most people will not be in the market for property. It will be a total paradigm shift from what we have in the past and that we are transiting from in the present. There will arise a very distinct class division between the haves and the have nots.

you mean elite is 15%

You need to take a mathematics course. Do you mean that if you are not HDB owner, you can buy two or more private properties? How about the large number who can afford only one private property?

He's around, bro. But this time as a Chinese. Guess who? None other than the Captain!

bro,
which captain? the kapitan in the ode to the seaman's son or our SBF resident spokesman Cpt GMS?

bro,
which captain? the kapitan in the ode to the seaman's son or our SBF resident spokesman Cpt GMS?

Neither.........................Nor............................... :D

It's time for "Exercise Forced Empathy"............................