• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's ideal population size? We can afford six million, says PM Lee

There'll be more Pundeks from India flooding this Island.. :mad: :oIo: :mad:

Our PM is hinting that we should buy condos as more are coming and we can rent out the units to them.

If you guys don't know how to take hints, then don't come blaming when prices are too high.

"Today our population is over 5 million. In the future, 6 million or so should not be a problem. Beyond that, we'll have to think more carefully,"

I find his statement a little worrying, what happens when the 6m mark is reached, just shut the doors & not let anymore in? Population count as of December last year was 5.26m, it always takes a little time before a figure can be worked out, so it might already be 6m now, will there be no more immigrants arriving from today? I think the problem here's been too many in too short a time without proper quality control checks, just suka suka let in AhKoo, AhKows. It's a bit like putting on weight, easy to makan but much harder to lose weight, same like putting too much salt into your food, ruins the taste, you should instead add bit by bit. What if we need more highly skilled professionals next year, do we forcibly eject or kick out PRs or Naturalized citizens, surly you can't kick out Singaporeans born & bred here!

New immigrants won't have a problem starting family here, in fact they have more of a reason to start a family here as new citizens instead of going back to where they came from if where they came from is a lot worst than Singapore. In the meantime, Singaporeans finding it financially hard to survive will be put off having a family. This is indeed a tough new world, new citizens might or might not be loyal to Singapore but Singaporeans will definitely think twice about feeling patriotic if this continues, after all the landscape around them is changing so fast, if there's nothing for them to cling on to i.e. a strong culture & roots, they might leave. Anyone knows the net migration figures for Singapore say over the last year or two?

Our PM is hinting that we should buy condos as more are coming and we can rent out the units to them.

If you guys don't know how to take hints, then don't come blaming when prices are too high.

That's absolutely correct. When the govt give tips, they don't act. Later kpkb. I think these people will.never be rich.

Yes must react fast, very fast

[video=youtube;3C3JG-yg35w]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3C3JG-yg35w[/video]

Increasing to 6 or 7 million is a great idea. My rental incomes will go up

Just to re-kindle your historical memories (if you know Histtory)

The was something in India that came to be known as "THE BLACK HOLE OF CALCUTTA".

Any clues, young one?

I only need to rent out one for each property. The more people looking for rentals, the more I can charge. It's the economic theory of demand n supply.

You seems to be a good economist. Could be of great advantage to Singapore.

I am from "sekolah-attap" (kampong school) and may not possess the Brain like yours.

Pray, please let me know what will happen to crime figures, housing, medical, transportation, school admission and many more?

What about burial grounds.

Maybe there would be homes under the MRT overhead lines just like in Jakarta, South Thailand, India and Pakistan.

If only the late Prf Winsemius was around!!!!

That's absolutely correct. When the govt give tips, they don't act. Later kpkb. I think these people will.never be rich.

better go and buy more condos....yes, dont say government is not helping singaporeans....go buy buy....

There'll be more Pundeks from India flooding this Island.. :mad: :oIo: :mad:

Yeah man and i bet that bugger is happy about it. Importing the worst scum into this country turning it into fuckistan like the UK or the 2nd bombay.

Sinkies seem fine about it. Hey that's cool we all love indians huh just wait till you get discriminated by them but as usual i know sinkies only know how to fight other sinkies.

Typical of the PAP ivory tower astroturfers here, who assume that everyone can afford to buy condos, and/or everyone is interested in becoming a rent-seeking whore like the PAP government and its cronies/GLCs.

The PAP government will give every sinkee a $500k HDB flat if the population agrees to let in more foreigners.

our PM is also hinting: we plan to lose 2 or 3 more GRCs in 2016 because we are are totally out of touch with reality

Yeah man and i bet that bugger is happy about it. Importing the worst scum into this country turning it into fuckistan like the UK or the 2nd bombay.

Sinkies seem fine about it. Hey that's cool we all love indians huh just wait till you get discriminated by them but as usual i know sinkies only know how to fight other sinkies.

1. bro, i bet not only more snakes coming this way.
2. chins, pinoys & others are herding towards sheepishland.
3. since the floodgates are open again!

The way you comment on this property thing in several posts that you are extremely satisfied with your rental income. Hope you don't get disillusioned when the market crashes when the population really stops at 6 million. Investment gurus will tell you not to put all your investment money on non-productive investments like property.

pray tell, when will the property market crash?

With increase in population, it will never crash. There may be some adjustments but crash never. Govt already have you tips, what r yu waiting for?

pray tell, when will the property market crash?

When the population stops at 6 million and when the interest rate is forced to go up by say 2 to 3 %. Remember 1996? Or any of the slums on the past property cycles? When that happens, don't think the Govt will be very happy to finally solve the property issue. The Govt will have so many other sticky issues on their hands and people will still not be able to afford their flats because the interest is so high. I am not saying controlling population leads to the other. Property cycles happened in the past even without population control. Just global economical cycles will trigger them.

With the way the govt is opening the floodgates, unlikely the property will crash anytime soon. Maybe it will slow down to a soft landing but crash...no. Too many FTs coming in.

Never say never. Next year, interest rates will go up all over the place. Over supply will take care of some of the demand caused by population growth and upgrading to new property will slow down because of interest rate increase and loss of jobs. And Kinana will get her fingers burnt.