Singapore's athletes should be held accountable for Olympic performances, but line drawn at 'malicious' criticism: Edwin Tong

Johnrambo

Singapore’s athletes at the Olympic Games have a responsibility to be held accountable for their performances but there is a limit when it comes to criticism of their efforts, said Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong on Monday (Aug 2).

.........When asked about Singaporean swimmer Joseph Schooling, who failed to make the semi-finals of the 100m butterfly five years after he won gold at the Rio Olympics, Mr Tong said it was important to give “some space”.

“His results were disappointing, I think he'll be the first to admit it, but at the same time I think let's not overthink it as well and not over comment, I would say, let's give that some space,” he noted.

“Let him think about what he wants to do. And I'm sure that between him, his family, his coach, the NSA (national sport association), they will work out a path forward.”

All of Singapore’s swimmers — Schooling, Quah Ting Wen and Quah Zheng Wen — did not advance to the semi-finals of their events, with no personal bests set.

And Mr Tong noted that it has been a “tough” Olympics for them.

https://tinyurI.com/2vvswvdj

We pay so much and spend resources to groom and train. We expect them to bag medals.
if they can’t deliver, of cos muz face the music
we elect you as our mp and Govt to help us steer our country forward and better life for us.
if you can’t deliver, the exit door please

We pay so much and spend resources to groom and train. We expect them to bag medals.
we elect you as our mp and Govt to help us steer our country forward and better life for us.

Many here keep saying that "everyone" knows that it was Schooling's parents who funded his training and grooming to become the Gold medallist he is.

I guess you are one of the "not everyone".

Sports is not about money lah.

Anyway what about firing all those jiak leow bee fund managers and bankers who boast about how their fund went up by > 30% in last year and they deserve their huge bonuses?

Anybody bought stocks would have made those returns in the last year.

Exit door?

The world doesnt work like that lah.

The game delayed another year cld change his chance of defending his title. He is one year older this year makes a difference in sport game 人老了一岁...

Going back to defend his own best time in 4 years later is harder than u think.

Support him not humilate him. Don't be like evil BE go round the world humilate other countries with heavy handed gunboats unfair war sport event. They end up a sick loser in Afghanistan, Vietnam, Korean wars.

They end up a disgraceful race dropped 2 A bombs in Japan.... boo boo boo to USA loser.

Fuck this goon! We think what we want to think, be it malicious or not. It's our personal opinion. So don't come and talk cock!

problem with singkies and pap all same
achieve a bit, celebrate too much and forget that hardwork is driver, not celebration and pride
pap milk all these with excessive propaganda
it then create high expectations and when failure occurs singkies kpkb, pap blames singkies
and the cycle continues
not only in sports, but in all other matters too
end of the day, the whole nation deteriorates
gxgx
haaaa

Let's wait for the official report from the chef de mission on what happened.
For instance, how were the relevant bodies monitoring and assisting JS on
maintaining his weight, form etc. leading to the run-up to 2021? This
performance did not come out of the blue. Prior to this year, there were press
comments from JS himself about needing to put in more work.

If only he preach the same philosophy to his masters in regards to the mailcious suing of other players for making correct criticisms.

Who the fuck are you, PAP doggie and notable lawyer who represented Kong Hee, to determine what is 'malicious' and what is not? :rolleyes:
All the commotion about Schooling is bringing up the lack of SG Govt support towards Schooling. The embarrassment is more on the Govt’s lack of support than Schooling’s performance, hence shortie wants to put an end to the commotion.

Yes.

Lack of actual support. Like money and resources.

People pay to watch swimming? Nope. Is there TV money like Uefa Champions League?

Nope.

There is also the lack of accountability of the OFFICIALS. In the past, swimmers training overseas
had to submit regular timings of both their training and competitive swims. Was this system in
place in recent years? If yes, how did things get to this stage?

Who the fuck are you, PAP doggie and notable lawyer who represented Kong Hee, to determine what is 'malicious' and what is not? :rolleyes:
We are being productive ,constructive and kind in our criticisms.No criticism,no improvement . Same for PAP, no criticism ,no improvement. Compare to
the PRC Netizens who lambasted the PRC Olympic athletes who did not get Gold medals as a disgrace to PRC motherland and were told not to come home to PRC motherland or were scolded to go kill themselves for letting the PRC motherland down. What is purpose for the PAP lawyer SC to say the criticisms are "malicious" ?

Fuck this goon! We think what we want to think, be it malicious or not. It's our personal opinion. So don't come and talk cock!
He think he is Pinky.Not happy with criticisms,sue .

Let's wait for the official report from the chef de mission on what happened.
For instance, how were the relevant bodies monitoring and assisting JS on
maintaining his weight, form etc. leading to the run-up to 2021? This
performance did not come out of the blue. Prior to this year, there were press
comments from JS himself about needing to put in more work.

The Chef de Mission is appointed by the Singapore National Olympic Committee. The President of SNOC is Tan Chuan Jin.

OWNSELF CHECK OWNSELF

"Singapore’s athletes at the Olympic Games have a responsibility to be held accountable for their performances"

well said, so does the government right?

wat he talking? let him think wat he wan to do? can choose not to do NS meh? he gold lanlan, now tis results? SIngapore his grandfather's?

Huh? My understanding is that Joseph Schooling’s parents sold their house and spent over a million dollars to send him to US for training which resulted in his gold in 2016.

He was then forced to give a 20% commission ($200k) to the Singapore Swimming Association by order of the SNOC despite the fact that he wasn’t even trained by this organization. In addition, according to ST he paid a further $139k in taxes to the government. https://www.straitstimes.com/sport/what-will-schooling-do-with-his-1m-award

Schooling owes nothing to the government or the people of Singapore other than the fact he deferred NS which he would eventually serve back as well. In fact, he contributed a total of $339k to the IRAS and the SSA, a sum that would exceed what most Singaporeans ever pay in income taxes in their lifetime.

Now we have an asshole politician who tells us that that Schooling should be held “accountable” but not in a “malicious” way!? What did he do for Schooling exactly? What a self-serving pompous piece of shit.