• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans are told to THINK now.

Ash007

I find it ironic that if this program is successful, we would see a non-PAP government soon. Perhaps its aimed at people to think but not think too much. :wink:

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/mr-kiasu-returns-sure

Mr Kiasu returns ... for SURE
Popular comic series to come out of retirement for NLB information literacy campaign SURE (Source, Understand, Research, Evaluate)
mail
print
View all comments

Share on Tumblr

BY
KENNETH CHENG
-23 OCTOBER
SINGAPORE — After a 13-year hiatus, the popular comic series Mr Kiasu will make a comeback — with a message for readers.

The iconic comic series’ new instalment, titled Everything Also Want To Be Sure, the brainchild of cartoonist Johnny Lau, will be launched on Dec 15 as part of a national information literacy campaign unveiled by the National Library Board (NLB) today (Oct 23).

Mr Lau’s new comic is but one of a slew of initiatives employed by the SURE (Source, Understand, Research, Evaluate) campaign to create awareness of information literacy and imbue in the public the ability to locate, comprehend, and assess information more effectively.

After getting off to a successful start in schools in May in the form of an activity-based enrichment programme called SURE Club, the campaign will now be extended to the general public through cyberspace (via the website sure.nl.sg and the campaign’s Facebook page fb.com/sgsure), workshops for everyone from teenagers to adults, and a public symposium featuring eminent speakers, such as neuroscientist Dr Carl Schoonover.

The NLB has also partnered publishing house Epigram Books to weave the SURE technique into two top-selling book series, Sherlock Sam and Triple Nine Sleuths.

“Information literacy is about acquiring the skills to distinguish between fact, fiction and opinion,” said NLB Chief Executive Elaine Ng, adding that the campaign aims to offer ways by which the public can “navigate information in an entertaining way”.

Introduced last year as the National Information Literacy Programme and rebranded as SURE this year, the campaign is set to run till 2016.

those who can think already emigrated.

the left over ones think with their arse as they bend down always for your PAP screwed.

its good to see the MCYS taking the initiative to help our people think better.

i eagerly await a copy of EAWTBS. there could be revision lessons for cort skills in there.

if you need a 3rd party organisation to teach people how to think, it means the educational system totally failed. what do you expect, that is a sinkie educational system.

Ash007

What makes you think its third party? Its PAppies approved lah.

if you need a 3rd party organisation to teach people how to think, it means the educational system totally failed. what do you expect, that is a sinkie educational system.

Rumpole

I think it is part of the grand scheme to control the internet. Along with the stick - like sacking that blogger who had worked for 16 years as a train driver for SMRT, the Scums in White also use the carrot - like programs to "teach" the public how to be "information literate".

Translate: Information Literate = think positive and support Lightning always because Lightning is SG and SG is Lightning.

I challenge them to teach Sinkies critical thinking leading to greater citizen involvement and a more lively democracy. What a "no big no small" idea! Of course they won't do it lah.

[video=youtube;GzV1pNQUX5s]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzV1pNQUX5s[/video]