• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans are gradually living under impossible conditions

[h=2]Singaporean agrees with Alvin Tan that living in Malaysia beats Singapore[/h]Posted by temasektimes on October 20, 2012

Upfront, I am a born here, bred here Singapore Chinese.

I totally agree with Alvin.

Firstly, we don’t even need compare living in Singapore with say Hong Kong, Australia, UK, US, Canada and even in good parts of China (e.g. Shanghai, Beijing) because hands down, these places beat Singapore when you weigh everything up. The favourite argument line Singapore government loves to take is “oh but you know you will pay loads more taxes in places like Australia, UK, US, Canada, etc”.

Well, that’s not true. I used to believe this crap that one of the biggest advantages of being Singaporean is we pay way lower taxes. But I have woken up and see the facts is not such. In places like US, Canada, Uk etc, while it may seem you are paying more taxes (say 40%), but don’t forget that much of these taxes collected goes to welfare benefits which you too will enjoy. However n Singapore, even if you pay say just 15%, all these money goes to the government, you are on your own for medical expenses, education, retirement etc. Our government says it subsidizes. Really? go do your numbers and you know it doesn’t add up. But this is a separate topic on its own.

In Singapore, they tax you front load, in other indirect forms such as COE, high HDB prices, regardless how much you earn and whether you even have a job or not.

I never really thought of comparing Singapore to Malaysia, because honestly, many Singaporeans do grow up thinking Malaysia as their poorer neighbour and you won’t even think of including Malaysia for comparisons especially in living standards and happiness. But Alvin has put forth a very strong and logical argument.

I used to think Singapore is great because it’s safe, etc. Well in a way, that’s true. But hey, if you get into legal trouble, you wish you were in Malaysia where you can just pay off and be done with it. I don’t think the government has time to waste on legal cases like Cecilia Sue, Teacher-Student sex.

I don’t wish to reiterate Alvin’s points of arguments here, I think he has already elaborated them well, self-explanatory.

Before you start getting nationalistic and lambast him for the article, please just take a moment to ask yourself whether are you really happy with your own living standard. If the FT overcrowding public transport and FT taking away local jobs doesn’t affect you, if you can well afford to buy 1-2 cars despite the ridiculous COE prices, and if the $1mln HDB and overall property prices doesn’t affect you, then yes, you are right that Alvin is talking shit and Singapore is indeed a great place to be in. Or if you are one of those 60% who voted for PAP and still blinded, then sure, go ahead the slam Alvin for talking shit.

But if you are those amongst us who are gradually living under impossible conditions, despite all the cosmetic front that our government put forth to impress outsiders, then you will see some truth in Alvin’s article.

So touch your heart, and see things objectively.

ANGRY SINGAPOREAN
*The above was first posted as a comment on The Temasek Times.

I am inclined to believe that most forumers that "cry father cry mother' are those that have beaten the system. Probably owns cars and private property. Those that are really suffering are in the 60.1% group who are being exploited by the PAP unawares........they are like frogs being boiled alive but are unaware that they are being screwed by the PAP.......

as ive been told, dont complain, if you complain, it means you NOT GRATEFUL...........

... But if you are those amongst us who are gradually living under impossible conditions ...
gahmen is gradually heating up ze water wif ze sinkie frogs inside ...

slowly, sinkies gradually learn 2 live n finally survive under impossible conditions ...

den, gahmen wil proudly boast how sinkies can achief impossibility ... sinkies shud den b very proud! ... worlds crass! world bestest! world lumpar 1! ...

5 million population in 700sq km nia. Still can squeeze some more what. There is still some space available in the forefront of the pics.

CAF-Crowded-chickens.jpg

In other countries, the citizens will not tolerate to suffer, be insulted and humiliated by their government like singkies. If the election were rigged, they would have revolted.

In Singapore the costs of living is like living hell everything so skyhigh expensive and they rob u anyhow with so many types of punitive fees like levies,fines,ERP,surcharges,midnight charges,etc.....,they detain your CPF money,they caused u to be jobless, ......etc

5 million population in 700sq km nia. Still can squeeze some more what. There is still some space available in the forefront of the pics.

Did you know the regime is drawing up plans to build subterranean homes for sinkies in the near future? There's only so much space above ground.

Those who don't like it here are free to migrate please.
ya, man! ...

if u want 2 stay in sinkielan, u muz accep impossibler n impossibler living conditions incessantly dished out by zh lon's gahmen ...

This thread reminds me of mistress (FTs) become bigger than the main wife (sinkees) and the main wife lan lan.
Knn, the pappies look after the mistress better than the wife. Sinkees song boh?

Those who don't like it here are free to migrate please.

That is what the former and current ministers' familes have done :D.

The president's family too.

They know something you dont?

Did you know the regime is drawing up plans to build subterranean homes for sinkies in the near future? There's only so much space above ground.

I wonder will the future of singapore be like that story involving the under ground morlocks vs the human creatures above ground.

Talk is cheap. If Pappies allow sinkees to withdraw their cpf monies, thousands will leave peesai. But pappies wont because they know this will happen.