Singaporean man sibei dulan that SGH charged him 2.5-day premium A ward rate even though he was put at A&E holding area waiting for room over 30 hours

UltimaOnline

1749881398047.png

At Singapore General Hospital I was charged a premium A Ward rate for 2.5 days, when I only spent less than 24 hours in the ward.

I was referred to A&E at the Singapore General Hospital on 9 June with severe lower abdominal pain.I reached there at around 130pm. After seeing the doctor and doing some tests, the doctor wanted me to stay for further tests. I was put in the temp bed at the waiting/holding ward at around 5pm+.

At that time a staff came and asked what class of ward I would like to stay in. I wanted comfort so, I chose the A ward. The staff said we will take you there once the room is ready. I waited until the next day 10 June, 8pm then they said, room is available, and finally put me in my selected ward. I was at the holding area for more than 30 agonizing hours. The doctor discharged me the next day.

When I received the bill, SGH actually billed me for 2.5 days at premium A ward rate. When I wrote in to enquire, they said that it is their policy to charge the patient the chosen ward rate, even at the holding area.

I don't mind paying premium, but how can I pay for something which I did not receive? I am perfectly fine if they bill me 1.5 days which is the actual duration of my stay in my chosen ward. They shouldn't charge me the premium ward rate the night spent at A&E holding area.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/348556498924584/#?kga

This is blatant cheating. If it's, a private hospital, gomen would have closed it down.

A&E holding area is not the ward.
The actual ward charges only starts from the date/time when patient is transfered to the ward.
The money can be taken back. The bill will be Lee adjusted.
No worLee
But don't keep quiet and pay blindly.
If you pay blindly they will accept it blindly.

However this rich man should be asking.
Why am I paying a premium for waiting more than a day as a 3rd world shitizen while the medical workers are paid first world salary.
Followed by
Tell me - am I living in a 3rd world cuntry or first world?

Coolie gene Sinkie no money don't how Lian. Cannot even afford hawker centre still want first class ward.

Also there shouldn't be a 2.5 days charges.
It is either 2 or 3 days.once it passed something like 12noon it is considered another day.
Not like soccer give 2.5 goals de woh

All I can say to him is that thank you for voting PAP and for your contribution of $365.18 in gst towards our poor.

Another thing not many people can see it.
Unless you had leecades of hospital experience, like I do .

This shows a poor assessment of the A&E loctor.
If his condition can be discharged so quickly after he was transfered to the ward, it means he should have been put to the amu aka acute medical unit.
Where by there are no classes.
You go there and get observed. Patient from amu are usually discharged by day 2. If there is a need to go ward, he will be transfered to the ward for longer treatment.

In this way, his bill would have been greatly reduced and without this discrepancy.

Why are patients being charged ward rates while they are still on the waiting list to be admitted?

I have told you all.
Most hospital workers are lazy.
In this case, the billing leepartment.
They just anyhow charge you first, if you never kpkb they keep it.
You kpkb they will need to leeturn you.

In the A&E there is no such thing as subsidize or non subsidizes.
Everyone is non subsidized.

That is to say, any test done at the A&E that is out of the A&E package test, they are all non subsidized.
Eg if ctscan is done it will be fucking costly. Unless after the test you are sent to the ward, then the bill will be transfered to the ward rate with subsidy. If you get discharge at the A&E, your pocket will break a big hole.

Class charges only begins at the ward.

why the public in this case the patient not fully aware of this ?
There are many things public not aware of.
Unless you have leecades of hospital experience. You learn by experience.
They will not tell the public so that they can earn more.

There is something I cannot disclose here and it is very important one that can save us tonnes of money.
If I say it out, I place myself at a disadvantage as a leegular there. They will stop this loophole.

Some people know it now. I overheard this man at the patient service center having this topic with the staff.

always choose the lowest class ward eg class C, mostly you will upgrade to class B or B+ as class C is always full and reserve for the low SES, it is their priority to fill up these beds if they are empty