• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean Director Wins Cannes Camera D'Or Prize

Who watched this one already?

Do HDB flats really make good cinematography? :confused:

It has yet to be released in Singapore, and very few of us would have been to Cannes to watch the premier.

On your 2nd question, all locations pose aesthetic challenges and it is the critical eye of the cinematographer who can make it visually interesting. As for HDB flats, I find the ubiquitous repetition of patterns very interesting visually but it would take a keen eye to capture the aesthetics of it. The sounds of an HDB estate are also quite unique but for many of us, it is so much a part of our lives, we don't notice it anymore.

Who watched this one already?

Do HDB flats really make good cinematography? :confused:

This one, not by "jackass neoh"?? he shoots only Propaganda films...maybe China film festival or North Korea Film festival...his "NS" films can win top prize...

..yet to be released in Singapore, and very few of us would have been to Cannes to watch the premier.
...ubiquitous repetition of patterns very interesting visually but it would take a keen eye to capture the aesthetics of it. The sounds of an HDB estate are also quite unique but for many of us, it is so much a part of our lives, we don't notice it anymore.
Cinematic achievement, and a young one at that. Aug realease here.

When will a Sinkie get the Ballon d'Or award? :confused:

490854-lionelmessifootballbarcelonaargentinaballondorphotoafp-1357586232-490-640x480.jpg

ronaldo-ballon.jpg

It has yet to be released in Singapore, and very few of us would have been to Cannes to watch the premier.

On your 2nd question, all locations pose aesthetic challenges and it is the critical eye of the cinematographer who can make it visually interesting. As for HDB flats, I find the ubiquitous repetition of patterns very interesting visually but it would take a keen eye to capture the aesthetics of it. The sounds of an HDB estate are also quite unique but for many of us, it is so much a part of our lives, we don't notice it anymore.

There's just one too many movies using the HDB as a backdrop starting with 12 Storeys. But where else can they shoot in Singapore?

A house in Oxley Road...can make an epic that is longer than Peyton Place, Young & Restless etc..combined..it will last into the 41st Century & still playing..or the house next to Plaza SINgapura..:D

Hey, what happened to the one called 1965 or something? Rumored starring Tony Leung? No news after the initial buzz.

... But where else can they shoot in Singapore?
ze colorful vibrancy of geyland, ze win-or-bust hi stake challenges @ gambling dens, ze tantalising network of mrt tracks, ze inviting tranquility of bedok reservoir ...

ya! ... oso ze peaceful emptiness of ze sinkielan fryer ... juz 2 name a few ...

who say dun haf? ...

Geylang has been used in Pleasure Factory, not a great movie though.

ze colorful vibrancy of geyland, ze win-or-bust hi stake challenges @ gambling dens, ze tantalising network of mrt tracks, ze inviting tranquility of bedok reservoir ...

ya! ... oso ze peaceful emptiness of ze sinkielan fryer ... juz 2 name a few ...

who say dun haf? ...

Geyland is no more the pleasure factory it used to be. Or is it just me?

A memorable scene from a local movie I can recall was the one in Be With Me - in the CTE tunnel.