Singaporean couple emigrating to NZ need help.

Got a couple that need to get in touch with any Singaporean or any other network for the usual help and guidance ranging from jobs to getting assimilated.

Anyone out there in NZ can provide links, info etc, greatly appreciated. Any other tips such as the industry that is recruiting please post.

Kiwibird7 please report for duty.

Best way to get a job.... start off at the bottom. Once you've impressed you'll soon be able to work your way up when those around you realise that your talent is being wasted.

If you're start your own little enterprise, offer to do jobs for free to gain a foothold.

The best way to assimilate is to keep away from other Singaporeans. Avoid them as much as possible and DON'T join the Singapore club or churches that are majority Asian.

The best way to meet Kiwis is to have a hobby or sport where you can bond with the locals.

However, if you cannot help but yearn for sinkie company, then go to https://sites.google.com/site/singaporeclubaucklandnz/ for more info.

Membership

Membership Details:
Singapore Club Membership is open to all who have an interest to be in touch with Singaporeans living in New Zealand.

Benefits of joining the Singapore Club:

• Welcome new Singaporean migrants entering New Zealand.
  • Meet families and friends living in New Zealand.
  • Participate in family functions and excursions.
  • Celebrate Singapore’s unique culture and traditions.
[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 100%"][TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 100%"]Annual Membership Fees[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
[TABLE="width: 100%"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD="width: 34%, bgcolor: #fffaf5"]Student[/TD]
[TD="width: 66%, bgcolor: #ffe6cc"]$5.00 per annum[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="width: 34%, bgcolor: #fffaf5"]Individual[/TD]
[TD="width: 66%, bgcolor: #ffe6cc"]$10.00 p.a.[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="width: 34%, bgcolor: #fffaf5"]Family[/TD]
[TD="width: 66%, bgcolor: #ffe6cc"]$30.00 p.a.[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

This is something that I learnt from an Singaporean and a school teacher who became a Quarantine Officer with the OZ govt. He told me that he did not even consider the job until he was called for interview. Now he loves it and and the pay is good. He is required to do shifts and works at the airport. Told me that there is never a dull day. The NZ is also gung ho about their quarantine laws.

Also know of a Singaporean, ex Colombo Scholar who became chief Quarantine Officer of one of the States. I think he retired recently.

in this day and age where companies open and close like a evolving door, workforce has little stability, it makes to sense to start your business or work in the Public service.

One of the things that I think prospective Singaporeans heading to NZ has to consider is taking advantage of the much lower costs in setting up a business especially rental cost which is major barrier to start a business in Singapore.

Couple of tips on starting a business for the first time.

1) Start small

2) Location is still key as pedestrian traffic is important unless the trade can survive online. Transport hubs, interchanges are worth even if the premises tend to be small. Ex SAF chap completed his 12 years, went to do his MBA, started a small photo kiosk at Perth bus station and a few months later a success..

3) Bargin well with Landlords and try to obtain pink rent terms - a discount for the first free months to test the market.

4) Consider taking over an on-going business. Proper due diligence is required. Business folks tend to carry 2 books. One is the actual financials and the other is bullshit to inflate value of the business. Do not let the accountant that represent the seller represent you. Franchise business is very tricky. The premiums are usually very high and in many aspects require captive activities - buying material and stock at inflated and at minimum stock which makes no sense. Again due diligence.

5) Don't be caught up with analysis paralysis - highly toxic Singapore disease. Business means taking risk. NZ has a welfare safety net. Singapore does not. This is one of the best place to take risk as second chances are always there.

6) Food business especially now is attractive. People need to eat and no time to cook. If you can handle decent and tasty food, package it well and be more modern, then you are have a chance. Think small again. Know a guy that sells long and short Baguettes with about 8 varieties of fillings. He starts the day at about 9am, he ready at 11.30pm and customer point to what they want. No further preparation. They also prick their drink which carries a higher margin. By 2.30pm he is all sold out. Runs the place with his middle aged son. Don't think Asian food. Don't even attempt fusion food.

Other please contribute.

The best way to assimilate is to keep away from other Singaporeans. Avoid them as much as possible and DON'T join the Singapore club or churches that are majority Asian.........

Totally agree.

I even go so far as to say that I'm Ah Tiong or Hongkie or Korean when asked about my nationality.

There was an incident that happened in a European country. A Sinkie couple came up to me and asked if I was Singaporean. Immediately without hesitation I answered NO. I told them I was from Hong Kong, grew up in Malaysia and had been working in Sinkieland for more than twenty years. That was how I acquired the Sinkie accent when speaking England. The truth is: I'm quite ashamed to be Sinkie.

Lets face it: if you wish to be with Sinkies, why even consider emigrating?

When I was in Canada I notice that many new arrivals would invest in laundromats, 7-11, grocery shops,... The family members would take turns helping out.

Totally agree.

I even go so far as to say that I'm Ah Tiong or Hongkie or Korean when asked about my nationality.

There was an incident that happened in a European country. A Sinkie couple came up to me and asked if I was Singaporean. Immediately without hesitation I answered NO. I told them I was from Hong Kong, grew up in Malaysia and had been working in Sinkieland for more than twenty years. That was how I acquired the Sinkie accent when speaking England. The truth is: I'm quite ashamed to be Sinkie.

Lets face it: if you wish to be with Sinkies, why even consider emigrating?

serious?

Most sinkies think they are automatically superior to tiongs you want to pretend to be one?

....Most sinkies think they are automatically superior to tiongs you want to pretend to be one?

See what I told ya.

I'm not like most Sinkies. My NRIC says I'm Sinkie but I dun think like one. I may be in Sinkieland but my spirit is not in Sinkapore.

Buy a house near university. Rent out a room for extra income. Should be able to get 1k for each student.

Be assertive and don't believe too much of what others say. Go with your guts feeling or your first decision.

Expect racism, and learn to deal with it. It is easier than you think.
Expect things to go wrong and no point blaming the NZ govt.
Don't let the authorities bully you. They may be wrong. And appeal if you have a chance. In OZ govt, someone I knew get into a job pool after his appeal on being rejected for the job.

Unlearn things because what apply to NZ may not apply to Singapore. Very important to know Kiwis habits. Can't think of any because I lived across the Tasman.

Also, the people you deal with daily may not be white kiwis but migrants like you.You will learn to differentiate. Many 3rd generation Kiwis are working in OZ so you can't find too many in your area. If their surname ends with a vowel, they are not poms. If they eat black puddings, you may want to play soccer with them and not rugby.

Finally, there is no point getting jealous with the Aussies over our higher pay. We need the money more than you do.

Hey Sam

Went thru the Club website. Looks like all the uncles and aunties are very active. So many activities. You are probably the livewire of the group but too shy to say it. You must be the aunty killer of the club.

Looks like the Auckland too was kickstarted by SIA staff which was the case for Sydney as well.

However, if you cannot help but yearn for sinkie company, then go to https://sites.google.com/site/singaporeclubaucklandnz/ for more info.

Hey Sam

Went thru the Club website. Looks like all the uncles and aunties are very active. So many activities. You are probably the livewire of the group but too shy to say it. You must be the aunty killer of the club.

Looks like the Auckland too was kickstarted by SIA staff which was the case for Sydney as well.

To be honest, I have stayed away from the club and its activities.

The President is ex SATs. He's been here for more than 30 years. A very nice and helpful guy and very generous. Most of the club activities revolve around what he and his wife organise and he is a man of means and owns lots of property which makes him lots of money.

why go NZ? Got volcanoes and Earthquakes.

Might as well stay in Indonesia and makes $$$$$

lots of natural resources and money laundering...

... and cyclones, very high UV radiation that causes skin cancer plus a host of other natural disasters too numerous to list.

Totally agree.

I've never ever considered NZ to be good for retirement. The only attraction that NZ has for me are the mountains and vast expanse of nature, like what you see in "The Lord of the Rings".

You don't have to go to Indonesia for money laundering. Sinkieland is ALREADY the world's famous tax haven and money laundering hub of Asia.