• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean are too kiasi to practice civil disobedience.

Ash007

I saw this post in another forum, and immediately it dawned on me why civil obedience is often then not, not readily taken up by Singaporean. Perhaps Tony has a point when it comes to showing disagreement with the PAPies when Singaporeans are involved. Perhaps its the many iron fist tactics over the years of "fixing" the opposition. Perhaps its because Singaporean are too meek and weak for it. Mind you, this is cut from a much larger thread on Edward Snowden.

http://yro.slashdot.org/story/14/01/27/1536217/ask-slashdot-what-does-edward-snowden-deserve

What snowden did was a form of civil disobedience. What about the civil rights activists who committed "crimes" aka peaceful protests and other non violent forms of civil disobedience in order to repeal or change said laws?

Umm, most of them went to jail. That was usually an explicit part of the protest. Take some time and read Martin Luther King's Letter from Birmingham Jail sometime, for example. He explicitly discusses how a major point of protest an unjust law is to practice civil disobedience, but then be prepared to accept the consequences. The point of non-violent civil disobedience in many cases was to change the laws by showing how their enforcement resulted in injustice -- not to avoid prosecution.

And take a look at Ghandi -- in many cases, the idea was to protest in a non-violent manner by continuing to do something that you should be able to do, but let the British soldiers beat you -- accept your punishment, so that the British citizens themselves might become outraged at what their "law enforcement" was doing, and thus the laws might be changed.

Like many people today, I don't think you understand what non-violent action really was about, nor the cost you were expected to bear. Since the time of Ghandi and MLK, many governments have realized that beating the crap out of people who won't fight back (or who just accept being taken to prison) just ends up offending other people and ultimately overturning the laws. Law enforcement nowadays practices intimidation, but it avoids riling up the population too much with overt oppressive actions. Thus, fewer protestors are spurred to do the kinds of things that would result in arrest (or even beatings, etc.)... and thus the public is less outraged.

I'm not saying that this applies at all to Snowden. His actions were less about breaking unjust laws (after all, most people can probably agree that there are in fact intelligence secrets that should not be broadcast on the news, and it probably would be a bad thing if random people in intelligence just started exposing this information for no reason at all -- so those laws have some purpose). It was more about exposing the unjust practices of others within the government and things that had been inappropriately kept from the public.

In essence, the Snowden case is nothing like classic "civil disobedience" and peaceful protests. I'm not arguing that he should go to prison -- but if he were practicing actual classic civil disobedience, he should probably have been prepared to. Forcing the government to put you in jail or even beat the crap out of you was often a deliberate part of classic "civil disobedience" and "peaceful protest."

Fucktards losers running off to other countries when failed big time in own country.

Edward Snowden is nothing like a loser. He's only on exile.

Going by the past track record of the CIA, he would most likely be assassinated in the USA.

And he hasn't failed. He has succeeded in telling the rest of the world about the dirty deeds of the USA. He is a hero.

Probably doesn't even need to be in the USA to be assassinated. I suppose he has something that is preventing them from doing that already.

Going by the past track record of the CIA, he would most likely be assassinated in the USA.

And he hasn't failed. He has succeeded in telling the rest of the world about the dirty deeds of the USA. He is a hero.

Where are the Snowdens of Russia? :rolleyes:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corruption_in_Russia

In China, it does not pay to be whistleblowers as they get badly beaten up and physically disfigured.

Until I am convinced that he has no hidden agenda in doing so .. To me He is just another ang moh white trash craving for attention.

I saw this post in another forum, and immediately it dawned on me why civil obedience is often then not, not readily taken up by Singaporean. Perhaps Tony has a point when it comes to showing disagreement with the PAPies when Singaporeans are involved. Perhaps its the many iron fist tactics over the years of "fixing" the opposition. Perhaps its because Singaporean are too meek and weak for it. Mind you, this is cut from a much larger thread on Edward Snowden.

The reason Singapore is in this pathetic state is the result of a combination of factors eg apathy, iron fisted rule, asian value, respect, control of the nedia, etc.

But it can only get better from now on

Why would it get better? It has to get worst before it gets better.

The reason Singapore is in this pathetic state is the result of a combination of factors eg apathy, iron fisted rule, asian value, respect, control of the nedia, etc.

But it can only get better from now on

The following signs show that Singaporeans are questioning the pap:

1. Legal suits challenging the pap
2. More organised protests
3. Threat to burn effigy of pap Minister
4. Student openly f...king DPM
5. Participant criticisng DPM in his face in a public seminar
6. Ex Civil Servants speaking up publicly
7. Singaporeans pushing boundaries
etc

Human rights wise, SG is in a pathetic state. I dont think it will get worse before it gets better.

Where are news for these? Not here it seem?
The following signs show that Singaporeans are questioning the pap:

1. Legal suits challenging the pap
2. More organised protests
3. Threat to burn effigy of pap Minister
4. Student openly f...king DPM
5. Participant criticisng DPM in his face in a public seminar
6. Ex Civil Servants speaking up publicly
7. Singaporeans pushing boundaries
etc

Stinkies with no fucking balls send a clear message acrose

SMRT and other PAP corrupt bodies can do about any fuck thing that they like to squeeze and screw stinkies of more and more money and to fuck them as they like

The lack of interest of stinkies to turn up for the protest organised in HL park send clear messages to PAP bastards that they can do any fuck thing that they care to do and stinkies will remain head down down and arseholes up high high to be screwed and fucked by them.

Sinkies did not turn up by the hundreds or even by tens of thousands to overturn police cars and to burn the police cars.

Who will want to stand out and fight for stinkies when the fucking stinkies got no fucking balls and want to remain head down down and arseholes up high high to be fucked by PAP

Stinkies get what they fucking deserved
money being screwed from them and FTs coming in to kick them out of jobs and to laugh at them
Stinkies get what they fucking deserved.

There is some reason why Singaporeans might be considered "kiasi" and will not partake in civil disobedience. One is that they feel there is no real need to disrupt the current state of things, because their livelihoods, and apparent "good life" might be disrupted too. The current unemployment is what, less than 3 percent or some very low figure. There might be complains about high cost of living, but take a look at the patronage of restaurants, retail shops, entertainment venues where you need money to enter, they are packed. For instance, if you want to book a CNY reunion dinner, it has to be done months in advance! Singaporeans can splurge their money eating out rather than cook at home. Same thing with overseas holiday packages. COE is going up! The message put across is that Singaporeans are rich and do not really want any changes to their lives. The few who are bent on kicking the ruling regime out are viewed as disgruntled losers and a change is status quo might appease them, but nothing major will change, things will still go on as in the past. Much of the ongoings are due to bigger things happening in the region/world.

http://yro.slashdot.org/story/14/01/27/1536217/ask-slashdot-what-does-edward-snowden-deserve

The reason Singapore is in this pathetic state is the result of a combination of factors eg apathy, iron fisted rule, asian value, respect, control of the nedia, etc. But it can only get better from now on
If I may digress a little. No exactly civil disobedience, but more dissent at work. Apparent with many local staff, and not just limited to rank and file (even middle managers). My ex angmoh boss wrily put it, "too healthy respect or authority". Little open challenge or engagement in meetings or discussions, only whispers in corridors (or at most body language, squirming) :p

Of course, there are others who go against the grain, and others opposite (who speak mindlessly).

There is some reason why Singaporeans might be considered "kiasi" and will not partake in civil disobedience. One is that they feel there is no real need to disrupt the current state of things, because their livelihoods, and apparent "good life" might be disrupted too. The current unemployment is what, less than 3 percent or some very low figure. There might be complains about high cost of living, but take a look at the patronage of restaurants, retail shops, entertainment venues where you need money to enter, they are packed. For instance, if you want to book a CNY reunion dinner, it has to be done months in advance! Singaporeans can splurge their money eating out rather than cook at home. Same thing with overseas holiday packages. COE is going up! The message put across is that Singaporeans are rich and do not really want any changes to their lives. The few who are bent on kicking the ruling regime out are viewed as disgruntled losers and a change is status quo might appease them, but nothing major will change, things will still go on as in the past. Much of the ongoings are due to bigger things happening in the region/world.

You forget to mention that when your beloved lky appear, all sinkies will bow to him like a god.

He has his following, but I don't think today he has the support of a large part of the population. I do not love LKY, I do respect his political prowess though, but I guess (because I do not know him personally) he is not a very likeable human being.

You forget to mention that when your beloved lky appear, all sinkies will bow to him like a god.

He has his following, but I don't think today he has the support of a large part of the population. I do not love LKY, I do respect his political prowess though, but I guess (because I do not know him personally) he is not a very likeable human being.

you dun have to love LKY to have him to be your beloved, you just have to love money.