• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean Accounting at Its Best

neddy

http://www.baldingsworld.com/2012/12/14/singaporean-accounting-at-its-best/

• Singapore Airlines buys its 49% stake in Virgin Atlantic for $1.65 billion SGD,
  • sells it for $360 million,
  • and books a profit of $322 million SGD.

Only through extremely shady accounting can a company buy an asset for $1.65 billion and sell it for a $1.3 billion less but record a $322 million profit.

Let’s explain how this is possible.

Because Virgin Atlantic is a private company, its shares are not publicly traded on an exchange and provide no public record to value the stake. Singapore Airlines therefore, marked the value of its Virgin Atlantic holding on its balance sheet based upon what it believed it could sell the shares for on the open market. So in the most technical of ways, Singapore Airlines is completely within its accounting rights to book a profit on this transaction.

However, a closer look reveals some very disturbing trends and patterns.

First, to book a profit of $322 million SGD on a sale of $360 million, Singapore Airline implicitly valued the Virgin Atlantic stake at $38 million SGD.

This means that Singapore Airlines was valuing its Virgin stake at 98% less than what is paid for it. Booking “profits” like this eventually cause a firm to go bankrupt.

Second, as has been pointed out by Muddy Waters Research in the Olam fight, recording large amounts of “accounting” profits and cash losses should cause real concern for investors.

If “accounting” profits are growing fast or are a large portion of total profits, this should raise a red flag to investors.

As I have noted previously about Singapore, Inc. public balance sheet, given the rapid growth in “unlisted assets” this should cause everyone some real concern. In the absence of “unlisted asset” growth, Singapore, Inc. returns are abysmal.

This is the hallmark of a company trying to stay afloat not a prosperous company enjoying strong returns.

Third, this further harms the reputation of Singapore companies and their overseas adventures. At the same time that Singapore Air was buying a part of Virgin Atlantic, it was buying a part of Air New Zealand which it eventually wrote down to near zero.

Given the range of international investments which have lost money, it should concern investors and citizens that the only place Singapore seems to be able to make money, is in Singapore.

Fourth, the baseline price used by Singapore Air is extremely suspect. The $38 million SGD baseline for 49% of Virgin Atlantic used by Singapore is for an airline with $5.4 billion SGD in revenue and a $158 million SGD operating loss in 2012. Valuing the 49% stake of a $5.4 billion SGD at $38 million after a difficult year appears designed to provide the basis for an accounting profit.

In other words, Singapore Air has every incentive to undervalue its Virgin Atlantic stake to record a “profit” rather than accurately valuing the company.

This continued pattern of suspect accounting and returns at Temasek linked companies should provide serious cause for concern to investor and citizens alike. With “profits” like that, companies eventually go out of business.

Goldeneye

I dont know if this guy lacks commonsense or does not understand basic accounting or both.

When you buy something, it is always booked at cost. So if SIA paid $1.65b, they will record it at $1.65 b

Subsequently, if it turns out to be a lemon, you write off the portion that you think is lemon. This is done conservatively ie., you write off more than is normally required. So if SIA felt all but $38m is lemon, they would have written it off. BUT THAT GOES AGAISNT PROFIT, so in the past, they would have declared less profit because of this write off...that is water under bridge. If in the year of write off, they dont have profit enough to cover it, they declare LOSS. I dont know which year(s) SIA did this, but this is what they would have done.

Now if they get more than what they wrote off to, that is profit.

This approach is better than carrying a lemon in your books at the price you paid, that is, $1.65b and then shocking everyone with huge write off when it is finally sold.

who noes? ... mayb temasick n gic oso use same accounting methods ... lidat, evry yr oso 18% profits ...

yinyang

if SIA felt all but $38m is lemon, they would have written it off. ... so in the past, they would have declared less profit because of this write off...that is water under bridge. If in the year of write off, they dont have profit enough to cover it, they declare LOSS. I dont know which year(s) SIA did this, but this is what they would have done.
Now if they get more than what they wrote off to, that is profit. ..then shocking everyone with huge write off when it is finally sold.
Right, mark down (or the hit) possibly done before. No rocket science, just plain financial/business sense (never mind accounting bits).

A wild journalistic shot in wilderness

Goldeneye

who noes? ... mayb temasick n gic oso use same accounting methods ... lidat, evry yr oso 18% profits ...

Both don't publish too many details so hard to tell. Until that policy change.

Of course you can question the original decision to buy and the price paid but then in hindsight any sinkie taxi driver can do that no need gwailo genius

I dont know if this guy lacks commonsense or does not understand basic accounting or both.

When you buy something, it is always booked at cost. So if SIA paid $1.65b, they will record it at $1.65 b

Subsequently, if it turns out to be a lemon, you write off the portion that you think is lemon. This is done conservatively ie., you write off more than is normally required. So if SIA felt all but $38m is lemon, they would have written it off. BUT THAT GOES AGAISNT PROFIT, so in the past, they would have declared less profit because of this write off...that is water under bridge. If in the year of write off, they dont have profit enough to cover it, they declare LOSS. I dont know which year(s) SIA did this, but this is what they would have done.

This approach is better than carrying a lemon in your books at the price you paid, that is, $1.65b and then shocking everyone with huge write off when it is finally sold.

Ok, the vegetable seller who never pass primary 3, ask, 1.6b at cost , sell at 300m+, make a profit of ?? wahh! what kind of "lemons" are these??

Dreamer1

So Singapore Airlines purchased its 49% stake in Virgin Atlantic for $1,650 million SGD many years ago,recorded it at $38 million and sold it for $360 million,record a nett $322 million profit.SIA proudly reported to its shareholders and stakeholders of Temasek Holding
This require the service of a brilliant maths genius,guess who is the maths genius from Cambridge?

JayBee

I don't suppose you have basic accounting training? International Accounting standards would tell a company to best value an asset at "FAIR VALUE". If SQ has always had the intention of selling the stake for between $500-600m, then why would it value the stake at $38m? I believe that when the time for them to sell the stake, at least it will look good on the paper.

Goldeneye

Not fair value but net realizable value if it meant for sale. It is subjective n can be questioned. But you can't predict it precisely

JayBee

Not fair value but net realizable value if it meant for sale. It is subjective n can be questioned. But you can't predict it precisely

Impairment of assets. But seriously one mouth is selling the stake at open market for $500-600m the other one is telling the board it is impaired to the extent it is worth $38m. Now selling it at a paper profit of $320m would mean someone may be expecting a small windfall for the outstanding performance of selling it above its impaired value, purely base on performance.

Goldeneye

The price they got is less than what they wanted. But such accounting is normal. Auditors also insist on conservative valuation, not what you hope to get.
Of course, you could argue it could have been $128m, $228m and so on...

Furthermore, one aspect I forgot to consider, that is what Virgin's profit/reserve position was. Since SIA was holding 49%, it has to (by rule) write its investment down if Virgin's own profit reserves are depleted. Doesnt then matter what you hope to get or what you may get etc. No choice..

Goldeneye

Of course, some of the dork journalists project it as if it is a smart profitable transaction, and try to create that impression, that is bs. But that's another story....

Goldeneye

Assume at historical cost and constant price, the whole transaction is sgd1.29 billion loss.

The bigger loss is inability to operate freely in the market because of this holding and the restrictions it comes with. Compared to that, this is small change. That is why SIA dispose it off at this price..and swallow the loss...it is like getting rid of ugly wife now you can play the field.

Dreamer1

The price they got is less than what they wanted. But such accounting is normal. Auditors also insist on conservative valuation, not what you hope to get.
Of course, you could argue it could have been $128m, $228m and so on...

Furthermore, one aspect I forgot to consider, that is what Virgin's profit/reserve position was. Since SIA was holding 49%, it has to (by rule) write its investment down if Virgin's own profit reserves are depleted. Doesnt then matter what you hope to get or what you may get etc. No choice..
Brother,you seriously think it is " normal" for an investment $1,650 million SGD to be book in balance sheet at $38 million ?are you ACA or ACMA?

Goldeneye

Brother,you seriously think it is " normal" for an investment $1,650 million SGD to be book in balance sheet at $38 million ?are you ACA or ACMA?

Bro, that only means the lemon is really big size one..there is no limit on what you pay for lemons. Look at US companies, they write off even bigger amounts. HP recently wrote down Autonomy (a UK company it acquired) by US$8.8 Billions. How's that?

Dreamer1

Yes,write down is different,but is it a case of write down? Professor has explained that it is no listed,no market value,thanks Brother