• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore to play China, Jordan and Iraq in 3rd Rd World Cup Qualifier

SNAblog

With 1 million PRC nationals in Singapore and 2 China-born players in the Singapore team, it will really be an interesting duel. Will Jalan Besar Stadium become a sea of red Chinese flags? How will Qiu Li and Shi Jiayi perform against their motherland?

http://www.espnstar.com/football/world-cup/news/detail/item648919/Singapore-drawn-with-China/

Singapore drawn with China

Singapore will face China PR, Jordan and Iraq in the Third Round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Asian Qualifiers.

The Preliminary Draw for the World Cup was held in Rio de Janeiro on Saturday.

Singapore, having defeated Malaysia with a 6-4 aggregate over two legs earlier this month were in Pot 4 of the Asian Qualification Zone (Third Round) along with Thailand, Indonesia, Korea DPR and Lebanon.

Brazil's legendary Zico along with rising star Lucas from Sao Paolo were on hand to conduct the Asian Zone draw and decide the fate of how things would unfold over in third round.

As the draw took shape, Singapore was picked and grouped with China PR, Jordan and Iraq in Group A.

Also in the spotlight was the intercontinental play-off draw which paired Asia's representative with their South American counterpart while the CONCACAF representative will take on a team from the OCEANIA.

Group A
1. CHINA PR
2. JORDAN
3. IRAQ
4. SINGAPORE

Fixture Details
Match day 1 (2 Sep 2011): China vs Singapore
Match day 2 (6 Sep 2011): Singapore vs Iraq
Match day 3 (11 Oct 2011): Singapore vs Jordan
Match day 4 (11 Nov 2011): Jordan vs Singapore
Match day 5 (15 Nov 2011): Singapore vs China
Match day 6 (29 Feb 2012): Iraq vs Singapore

Useful Details
- A total of 20 Asian countries will participate in Round Three
- The 20 countries were draw into five groups consisting four teams each
- ASIAN ZONE Draw was picked by Brazil legend Zico and Sao Paolo's rising star Lucas
- ASIAN ZONE Round Three matches are foreseen to be held between 2 September 2011 to 29 February 2012.
- Asia have 4.5 slots for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil
- Group winner and runners-up from all five groups will advance to the fourth round
- Teams that did not register for the Preliminary competition - Brunei Darussalam, Guam and Bhutan

Someone at FIFA sure has a wicked sense of humour..

I would love to see the reaction of Jiayi and Qiu Li when the PRC National Anthem is being played before the kick off..

Expect many Ah Tiongs to be there at the Jalan Besar Stadium when our United Nations team meet China in the next round..

This 3rd Round stage will be the furthest that they can go... After that, its bye bye Lions..

They came here and subsequently became PR because they need to earn a living and this place gave them that opportunity. This is a competition that ultimately brings honor to the country and not whatever club. They may be paid and expected to do their job well but when it comes to playing against their fellow countrymen from motherland, how much of us is willing to believe that deep inside them they genuinely want Singapore to win? :)

If we get our tactics right, we have a chance. It's not a very tough group.

You are mat land dog???

i s'porean lah...................but since soccer, badminton, table tennis and swimming teams got so many foreigners...................

i always want S'pore to lose to any team....................big-time......................

It's tough on the going for S'pore! Dun tink they can survive the onslaught fr the "Red Army" n 2 more Arabic teams...hahaha! With or w/o FTs....history alrdy spoken for itself!

SG have beaten both China and Jordan before in recent years so it's not exactly mission impossible. I think this draw is good. I think they should try to get at least 2 home wins and 2 draws and hope for the best.

assume they draw all home games - that will only yield 3 points. Still high possibility of finishing last.

Jordan will be very strong. China is a suspect. They can sometimes choke as well. When they play at Jln Besar, there will be so many PRC here cheering for them - so, to them its like another home game.

Yes, we may have whacked Iraq but that was then. You can see, Duric is already 40+, his legs are faltering - lets face it, age is catching up. Qiu li fitness is suspect.

I think us ending up last is expected, don't think anyone would be overly disappointed with it. This group still represents the best chance we've ever had to make it to the final rds of Qualification. Top 2 gets through, between China and Iraq, I think both are inconsistent. Iraq haven't had much success after their amazing Asian Cup win and China always fall short. Jordan is actually closer to us in terms of standard so I think we have a shot at this. A long shot but it's better then totally no hope. To put it into perspective, Thailand kena drawn with Saudi and Australia.