• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore to legislate on right to work until 65

xdecepticon

SINGAPORE, Jan 8 - Singapore plans to compel firms to offer re-employment to staff when they reach retirement age and introduce an annuity to help it cope with a rapidly ageing population, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Thursday.

"We are legislating not to further delay the retirement age, but to require employers to offer re-employment to workers at 62 for another three years until 65, though not necessarily in the same job or at the same pay," Lee said at a conference organised by AARP, a U.S. organisation that represents senior citizens.

Singapore was considering changes to the Central Provident Fund, which all working Singaporeans must contribute to, such that citizens will receive a steady stream of income for the rest of their lives after they reach 65, he added.

Lee, however, ruled out offer free healthcare, although he acknowledged that many Singaporeans were concerned about the spiralling cost of medical treatment.

"A free healthcare system is not the answer. It is an attractive ideal, but experience in many countries has shown that in practice 'free' healthcare leads to uncontrollable and unsustainable demand for healthcare services," he said.

Singapore has one of the world's lowest birth rates, with the average woman bearing 1.29 children in her lifetime, and the government expects one-fifth of the population will be 65 years or older by 2030.

WATS THE POINT WHEN TERES FEW JOBS AVAILABLE? AND EVEN IF TERES ANY, IT WOULD GO TO THE FT! WTF! :mad:

They are actually trying to push the CPF withdrawal from 55 to 65. Howe Yoong Chong suggested this idea long time ago, eventually cost him the Patong Pasir seat to CST.

VIBGYOR

"We are legislating not to further delay the retirement age, but to require employers to offer re-employment to workers at 62 for another three years until 65, though not necessarily in the same job or at the same pay," Lee said at a conference organised by AARP, a U.S. organisation that represents senior citizens.

wash toilet with pay of $300 per month?

you want?

"A free healthcare system is not the answer. It is an attractive ideal, but experience in many countries has shown that in practice 'free' healthcare leads to uncontrollable and unsustainable demand for healthcare services," he said.

Full of rubbish bullshits, many European countries are enjoying free heathcare benefits. Did you see their collapse?

... "We are legislating not to further delay the retirement age, but to require employers to offer re-employment to workers at 62 for another three years until 65, though not necessarily in the same job or at the same pay," Lee said at a conference organised by AARP, a U.S. organisation that represents senior citizens. ...
slave driver! ... u muz work til u die! ...

hey! more reasons to leave Singapore! :p:p:p

Pastors_of_CHC_Sucks

did anyone saw the 6.30pm news on channel 8 just now? PM lee said its the old lady room attendant who is at age over 65 still working in the hotel, is a hounorable job and ask us to follow the good example of her. i was like wtf?

Angelo

yea. i fully agree wiht u. his father is a prime example.

u care to up back my reputation, aunty.

angie II

did anyone saw the 6.30pm news on channel 8 just now? PM lee said its the old lady room attendant who is at age over 65 still working in the hotel, is a hounorable job and ask us to follow the good example of her. i was like wtf?

al2rg3.jpg

"Sorry hor.. i had to glamorize her job otherwise whos gonna do the dirty job? You?" hehehe..

wooozzz

Goodnews for ah tiong and ah neh worker , They can be employ till 65yrs old as govt make it law to offer employment till age 65yrs.Sinkie can spend more time at coffee shopand kpkb

batman1

SINGAPORE, Jan 8 - Singapore plans to compel firms to offer re-employment to staff when they reach retirement age and introduce an annuity to help it cope with a rapidly ageing population, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Thursday.

Singapore was considering changes to the Central Provident Fund, which all working Singaporeans must contribute to, such that citizens will receive a steady stream of income for the rest of their lives after they reach 65, he added.

Lee, however, ruled out offer free healthcare, although he acknowledged that many Singaporeans were concerned about the spiralling cost of medical treatment.

Singapore has one of the world's lowest birth rates, with the average woman bearing 1.29 children in her lifetime, and the government expects one-fifth of the population will be 65 years or older by 2030.

WATS THE POINT WHEN TERES FEW JOBS AVAILABLE? AND EVEN IF TERES ANY, IT WOULD GO TO THE FT! WTF! :mad:

These MIW JOKERS really lost touch with realities in the workplace.Really sleeping on the job .PUI !

STUCK_HERE

wash toilet with pay of $300 per month?

you want?

Full of rubbish bullshits, many European countries are enjoying free heathcare benefits. Did you see their collapse?

I WANT!! If you can find me $3000 for washing toilet. The market rate is only $800.