• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Tiong Bahru halal food stall sells a 50 cents sedap meal to anyone (not just the poor or elderly)

UltimaOnline

But here's the thing (not exactly a catch but still), the 50 cents meal is worth $3.50 (ie. you can choose to pay the full $3.50, or only 50 cents), and the $3 balance has to be taken out of a charity fund at the stall which customers are encouraged to contribute to. Macam a pay-it-forward fund to help the poor and elderly. So if everyone in Singapore starts eating 3 meals a day at the stall and paying only 50 cents per meal, the fund would run out in no time and they would no longer offer the discounted 50 cents meal.

satin-satay-cover.png

bad-day-meal.jpg

https://mothership.sg/2019/07/satin-satay-tiong-bahru-bad-day-meals/

bobby

But here's the thing (not exactly a catch but still), the 50 cents meal is worth $3.50 (ie. you can choose to pay the full $3.50, or only 50 cents), and the $3 balance has to be taken out of a charity fund at the stall which customers are encouraged to contribute to. Macam a pay-it-forward fund to help the poor and elderly. So if everyone in Singapore starts eating 3 meals a day at the stall and paying only 50 cents per meal, the fund would run out in no time and they would no longer offer the discounted 50 cents meal.

Sounds a bit like our CPF scheme..except for that part "if everyone in Singapore starts eating 3 meals a day at the stall and paying only 50 cents per meal, the fund would run out in no time".

Replace this with "if every time Ho Ching makes 3 bad investment a day, the fund would run out in no time".

Some unrelated news happening near Tiong Bahru Market, observed by me recently:

1) There's a 'Juggernaut Fight Club' mma gym at the junction of Seng Poh Rd, Zion Rd and Tiong Bahru Rd. Formerly the SANA counselling hut/church(?).

2) They have started preparations for demolishing the Pearl Bank Apartments, you can see the green canvas sheets covering about half of the block.

whoami

Malay business model sucks. In the end, the owner must cover the shortfall.

Side track. In fact Muslims should not buy things thru hire purchase or loan. Riba! No money dont buy. If wish to then pay CASH. I purchase all thru cash. Only buy necessary things. As for hdb flat, no choice. Cos we were chased out and forced to stay in pigeon hole. Need loan.