[Singapore] - She broke up with her BF, and now she has learned why she was constantly dating the wrong kind of men

UltimaOnline

1633260862507.png

It was a difficult time for my parents when they found out that they were having a third child that they could not afford.

My mum wanted to abort me but was stopped by my late grandfather. Due to their financial situation and being shamed by her mother-in-law for having a second daughter, my mother ended up with postnatal depression that lasted for years.

Growing up, my parents were also constantly pitting us siblings against each other so that we could learn to do our best.

They were the typical Malaysian Chinese parents who put pressure on their children in hopes of seeing us achieve the success they never had.

We were expected to do as told or be ready for repercussions.

In the 1990s, people may often label such repercussions as disciplining a child though these days, some may argue it’s closer to child abuse.

I was never one who would do as told. Every time I was told to do something, I would ask for a justification, unlike my siblings who would agree to whatever they were told to do.

My curiosity was mostly replied with: “Because I am your mother”. Thus, I became the black sheep of the family, a rebel child and an outcast.

In the last two years, my life has changed so much due to Covid-19.

I went from a full-time digital nomad, travelling the world with the love of my life to being stuck in my estranged parents’ home in Johor with a broken heart, having broken up with my boyfriend of four years.

I returned to live with my parents as my visa in New Zealand has expired and partly because I wanted to see how they are doing in this pandemic even though we are not on good terms.

Furthermore, they are in their late 60s and there is no one else at home to look after them.

With so much going on, I decided to quit my job to take the time to breathe and reflect on all my life decisions.

I wanted to know what I did wrong that led me to my current situation.

I pondered upon every single memory from my childhood days till my adulthood. I figured out many things but it was not enough.

So, I decided to seek advice from a friend who is a clinical psychologist.

He advised me to seek professional help to understand myself better as a therapist would be able to ask the right questions and guide me in finding my true self.

I was informed that therapy is not a quick solution. In fact, it will take at least three months to get somewhere and can take up to a few years to heal all those years of trauma.

I was more than ready to find those missing answers, so I quickly signed up for online therapy with a clinical psychologist.

My first few therapy sessions made me cry like a baby as I unloaded every pent-up emotion that I have onto my therapist.

It was hard to open up but it is the main reason why I am doing better than ever now.

In the last few months, I have learned plenty about myself; why I am the way I am or why I made certain decisions.

For example, my childhood ambition was to become a lawyer, judge, police or some kind of law enforcer.

As an adult, I did pursue and is still pursuing my career as a fraud investigator. I have felt an obligation to uphold justice since young but never knew why.

Through therapy, I now understand that it was because deep down inside me, I felt that no one ever stood up for me so I feel the need to stand up for the weak and unfairly treated.

I was continuously lied to as a child about things in life and so I have trust issues, too.

I did manage to divert my trust issues into a powerful tool for my career as a truth seeker who finds liars and cheats to be abhorrent.

Next, I have also learned why I was constantly dating the wrong kind of men.

I was attracted to men who more often than not exhibit passive aggressive characteristics and who would go hot and cold on me.

Many of them are also emotionally unavailable or unstable. Every time I fell for such men, I made them my priority and lost myself in the relationship.

I fought hard to gain their validation despite them giving me anxiety.

Even when I knew deep down inside me that the relationship has failed, I did not know how to stop trying and that was usually the reason for my own heartbreak.

Apparently, I was seeking familiarity through these men with whom I was having romantic relationships. It seems that I was attracted to men who are a reflection of my own mother.

Now that I am more aware of the subconscious choice I have been making all these years, I am learning to not be attracted to such men.

We do not have absolute free will on how our feelings are developed but I truly believe that the more conscious we are about ourselves, the better the decisions we make.

My new belief when it comes to relationships comes from a quote by Fritz Perls: “I do my thing and you do your thing. I am not in this world to live up to your expectations. And, you are not in this world to live up to mine. You are you, and I am I. And, if by chance we find each other, it’s beautiful. If not, it can’t be helped.”

I may not have come from a beautiful childhood but I can choose to create a better future for myself.

In the short term, I am looking to build on my career in fraud investigation by attending more specialised training, including in cybercrime.

Rather than complain about what I have gone through, I would rather seek help so that I can focus on who I can be and who I want to be.

Seeking professional help is really the best thing that I have done for myself. I wish I had sought therapy when I was younger.

https://www.todayonline.com/gen-y-s...ological-help-i-am-learning-much-about-myself

Why is sinkie paper publishing malaysian stories, when they ban malaysian papers here? She aspires to be karen, and the front part totally has to no link to why she gets dumped. Ramblings of a mad woman

Its the typical attitudes and perspectives to life that these peasants bring from medieval china when they moved to south east asia. And what their children do not realise is, that they have internalized those values of their parents and it will show up in the conduct of their own lives.

Similarly, the CECAkroaches also brings with them their caste and pundek values when they move here. Like the absence of fair play or despising merit in favour of family and friends.

Sinkieporeland is farked. Rich but retarded.

Just another attention-seeking cunt who will get wet at first sight of male alpha.

Some women are destined to be fucked by multiple men and never find true love. That's the way it is.

Could be due to daddy issues or childhood trauma. They need counselling.

I have no involvement with women so I dun have to deal with anything related to women. I feel lucky.

1633271579451.jpeg

jiuhu Chiobu in JB, any takers? Has been fucked by ah Sam country man for last 4 years.

Tinder Led Me to Quit My Job & Leave My Country​

Sabrina Tan - The One53cm Shortie
Aug 1, 2018·6 min read

I, too, dream of being a wanderluster, globe trotter or a digital nomad. The only issue was that I had no proper plans on how I should achieve this dream. Here’s a story of how I became jobless, penniless and stressed up while in transition.

#YOLO and #wanderlust were my life tags, figuratively.

Most people I know tend to plan for their trips after they receive their pay. I was definitely an extreme case. At least, I used to be a “short term extremist”. I am the type of person who constantly have my eyes on Google Flights or articles that promote travel. CONSTANTLY. Each pay that I have received from my corporate job in Kuala Lumpur, goes straight into travelling after paying my bills and deducting monthly commitments. There was never enough to save up even when I tried numerous time. Every time I tell myself that I need to save up, certain things would happen and there goes my fortune. Despite working in one of the top employers in Kuala Lumpur for almost 4 years, my income was still insufficient to sustain a constant wanderlusting habit, monthly commitments including student loan, high rental and inflation.

Are you the same? If you are then you surely do have the same wanderlust bug I have.

There are many reasons for one to leave as hasty as I did. The need for me to travel increased tremendously after my break up with a mentally abusive ex boyfriend. The break up was horrendous that it nearly destroyed me as a person. In fact, I told myself that I am done falling in love, at least for the next 1 or 2 years.

Almost a year later from that bad breakup, I quit my job right after I fell in love with a guy who I met through Tinder. Yes, I found my true love through Tinder. As surprising as it may sound, it is true. Never have I met someone as similar as he is to me. We talk and think the same things at the same time. We act almost alike. The biggest difference that we have would be our 35cm height difference (other than being from two totally different cultures).

Until today, we still feel like our encounter to be a miracle — we are fated to be together. I was in Beijing and he was in Taiwan at the time of our match. We matched, we hang out twice, kept in contact after he left Malaysia, and decided to be in a relationship after one month of chatting through video calls.

Fast forward today…

I am still a broke ass digital nomad. If you were to ask me these questions: Am I poorer? Am I underpaid? Am I stressed up?

My answer would be:

Hell, yeah! This whole digital nomad life is not as easy as ABC. Fuck, no. Let’s be downright honest and open about this. This life is not made for everyone. It is made for those who are resilient and ambitious enough. It is meant for those who are dead serious about making the nomad life a great success.

But… am I also happier?

Yes. No doubt I am happier. Surprisingly, it is not because I am away from my previous job. My happiness is mainly coming from the love I share with my partner — the strong bond that we share.

After leaving my country, I thought I would really enjoy being a digital nomad even if I am alone. Thus, it was surprising for me to found out that I am a lot happier travelling around and dealing with challenges because I am sharing this experience with someone who loves me just as much as I love him.

In fact, thinking back right now… Without my partner — without the love we share, I would have chickened out and run back to being in the corporate world for sustainability and stability very quickly.

Every time I shrieked, my partner becomes my pillar of strength and provides me the motivation to carry on. Every time he stands up for me, I understand it tires him out too. He is burdened by the same fears that I have and my useless self sometimes project my negative emotions onto him too. Yet, he is still here for me.

Almost a year later

It is now ten months since I started this journey of travelling with my partner. We have came back to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, the place where I was dying to get out from. Why?

First of all, we got tired of packing and unpacking. Secondly, as a Malaysian, my passport is really not the best for more than one month in most countries. These countries include Thailand, Taiwan, and Japan. Thirdly, it is extremely hard and almost impossible for a jobless person to extend a tourist visa. Fourth, we felt the need to settle down for at least a while.

Frankly speaking, my partner and I dreamed about owning things and keeping them in a place we can call home. No, not the “home is where the heart is” type. It is the physical space that belongs to us that was lacking.

While travelling, we were constantly staying at other people’s home, sleeping on someone else’s bed, and sometimes we stay in hostels. Beds are not always comfortable and someone else’s home — well, it is just not OURS to call home.

So, coming back to KL was the nearest home we can find. It is the place we met and also the land of opportunities. It is also one place that we do not need to worry about my visa status. As a New Zealander, he was almost welcomed to every Asian country for 90 days and thus, I was the problem. Coming back to Malaysia solved one of the most stressful issues for us. That also means lower expenditure but a better standard of living.

We are currently proud renters of a luxury condo unit ten minutes away from the city centre. We can go back to training Muay Thai in my favourite gym, eat our favourite Malaysian food, buy quality items for cheap, and we have friends who actually live here for good. It also means that I can look for better job opportunities and work out on business opportunities with the strong network that I have.

This is the stability that we are seeking after almost a year of wanderlusting and enduring all kinds of challenges.

No regrets

If anyone were to ask me if I regretted quitting my high paying job to travel with a man who I barely knew back then, my answer is NO. Not a day, hour, minute or even second of regret.

Life is short. If I did not take the chance that was knocking on my door at that time (after carefully vetting the stranger I met on Tinder), I would have regretted it and think about “WHAT IF” for the rest of my life. In fact, I would have not ticked off “quitting my job to travel”and “be in love with the love of my life”. I would not be me — a risk taker, a daredevil, carefree, and passionate person.

My belief is simple.

There will be challenges regardless of what we do in life. Life is just filled with bittersweet memories anyway. It is the path that we choose and the way that we react to things that matter most.

If you feel like quitting that job that you hate but feeds you, think about how much more time do you have on earth to do things that you hate and miss out on things that you know you love. Ask yourself if you are willing to go all out and take the chances. If your answer is no, ask yourself more questions until you can come to terms with your current situation. What if you cannot come to terms with your current state, then my question is — why are you limiting yourself before you try?

I smell CB Kia Tonychat in this thread. CB Kia Tonychat is known to have a liking of ladyboys instead of a proper woman.

How about Marjojohn? The laukwaybu tonic guy?

Some women are destined to be fucked by multiple men and never find true love. That's the way it is.

Could be due to daddy issues or childhood trauma. They need counselling.
I didn't read the whole article as it turn me off at the very beginning. Yes, she screwed up in her life dealing with relationships. What I feel turn off is that she gave tons of justification and excuses on outside aka blame others rather than herself. I stay far away from people like that. I cannot handle such pollution.

Maybe all the men she dated are right...and she is the one that is wrong.