• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [ Singapore News ] If Indian Tycoon Can Lose $9 Billion to Indian Snakes, Your CPF Has No Chance

grandtour

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/tycoon-could-lose-9b-on-india-telco

Tycoon could lose $9b on India telco

ST_20180303_BIZANANDA1_3805769.jpg

Malaysian tycoon Ananda Krishnan saw India's booming market as key to his empire's future and was willing to invest big to make Aircel (above) a success. PHOTO: BLOOMBERG

Published
Mar 3, 2018, 5:00 am SGT

KUALA LUMPUR • It was supposed to be the crowning achievement of Malaysian tycoon Ananda Krishnan's five-decade career.

But his US$7 billion (S$9.3 billion) bet on mobile carrier Aircel may instead go down as one of the biggest flops by a foreign investor in India, a stark reminder that doing business in the world's fastest-growing major economy is often a lot tougher than it looks.

Mr Krishnan's holding company stands to lose all the money it poured into Aircel over the past 12 years, people with knowledge of the matter said, after the carrier filed to start bankruptcy proceedings this week.

Buffeted by intense competition and regulatory uncertainty, Aircel is the latest in a long list of casualties in an Indian telecommunications market that only a few years ago was luring foreign entrants in droves.

grandtour

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...ts-in-india-at-10-billion-117071500043_1.html

Temasek investments in India at $10 billion

Abhineet Kumar | Mumbai Last Updated at July 15, 2017 01:14 IST

link-icon.png
email.jpg

AddThis Sharing Buttons
Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to Google+Share to LinkedInShare to More

The Singapore government-owned investment company Temasek has touched the $10- billion investment mark in India, after 12 years of its operations. “We have a record investment in India now and we are continuously looking to step it up,” said Rohit Sipahimalani, joint head for Temasek’s operation in India.

"The Singapore government-owned investment company Temasek has touched the $10- billion investment mark in India, after 12 years of its operations. “We have a record investment in India now and we are continuously looking to step it up,” said Rohit Sipahimalani, joint head for Temasek’s operation in India."

Aiyoh!...the family name is already a dead ringer!, Them Are Sick, are not heeding the warning. First, they tell, you " money cum, money cum", then you pour in S$10 billion not Vietnamese Dong!, then you have one that is " Siapa Money" ( whose money?), not very reassuring right? Can the 70% say, " Tak bolen tahan"?....no, they will say, "siapa Money" is bagus!..when their CPF is smaller than the mustard seed.

borom

" Temasek investments in India at $10 billion "-appears to be only direct investments, excluding indirect investments via its subsidiaries/associates eg DBS, Singtel, Sembcorp ect2.
As can be seen from the statement that " Last year, Temasek exited Bharti Airtel by selling its stake to SingTel as part of its global portfolio restructuring. Also late last year it increased exposure to financial services in the country by picking up a stake in SBI Life Insurance "
Selling its Bharti stake to Singtel (which it own 52.23%) does not mean it exited-its a reduction of 47.77 %.
Who knows what is the total exposure if you include GIC and all GLC's?

Don't fret. GST to plug the hole.

They are very sneaky over the GST thing, that is to help an aging population, that made of 80+ member of parliament..ha ha ha ha. That's the poor, they are helping. Come next election, they get the same mandate, the 'aging population' will be asking for a hefty pay rise.

mahjongking

They are very sneaky over the GST thing, that is to help an aging population, that made of 80+ member of parliament..ha ha ha ha. That's the poor, they are helping. Come next election, they get the same mandate, the 'aging population' will be asking for a hefty pay rise.

Good Lord, are they still people who really dont believes that the CPF coffers are not half empty already?

Leckmichamarsch

They recycle shits & many were exported here...the 'recycled shits'. Now, they walk this land & strut like peacocks, while the locals are shits & stinks!
exactly........but WHO IS THE MUTTERFARKER WHO BRINGS THEM IN BY THE SHITLOAD...OOPS, SHIPLOAD?????????