• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore must leave the door fully open to Indian Professionals under CECA

cunnosieur

Professionals

2. Each Party shall grant temporary entry and stay for up to one year or the duration of contract, whichever is less, to a natural person seeking to engage in a business activity as a professional, or to perform training functions related to a particular profession, including conducting seminars, if the professional otherwise complies with immigration measures applicable to temporary entry, on presentation by the natural person concerned.

ARTICLE 9.8: IMMIGRATION MEASURES
Nothing in this Chapter shall prevent a Party from applying measures to regulate the entry of natural persons of the other Party into, or their temporary stay in, its territory, including those measures necessary to protect the integrity of, and to ensure the orderly movement of natural persons across its borders, provided that such measures are not applied in such a manner as to nullify or impair the benefits accruing to the other Party under the terms of this Chapter.

Comments: S'pore has a right to impose whatsoever measures.

Another Drama from Drinks, Drunk, Drama Indian FT Mamas

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/xU1Zj-UIEBw?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Comments: the CECA applies to above classes of persons, ie, Indian service providers, investors and people who are employed by them. It allows them to come and setup business or sell goods and short-term stay.

It is not and should not be seen as an immigration policy.

Short-term stay. That's bad enough. Look at Changi (Chennai) Business Park and Melville Park condo. :rolleyes:

TopSage

Read the article in full on regulation of labor mobility

provided that such measures are not applied in such a manner as to nullify or impair the benefits accruing to the other Party under the terms of this Chapter.

This provison means Singapore cannot regulate the professionals coming here which is the main benefit of the ceca to the Indian side. The main benefit to Singapore is our big business gain access to the Indian market ....while Indians gain access to our job market.

If we restrict their people coming here they can ask our businesses to leave India.

cunnosieur

ARTICLE 9.6: EMPLOYMENT OF SPOUSES AND DEPENDANTS
For natural persons of a Party who have been granted the right to long term temporary entry and have been allowed to bring in their spouses or dependants, a Party shall, upon application, grant the accompanying spouses or dependants of the other Party the right to work as managers, executives or specialists (as defined in paragraphs 2(f)(i) to (iii) of Article 9.2), subject to its relevant licensing, administrative and registration requirements. Such spouses or dependants can apply independently in their own capacity (and not necessarily as accompanying spouses or dependants) and shall not be barred by the Party granting them the right to work from taking up employment in a category other than that of managers, executives, or specialists solely on the ground that they as the accompanying spouses or dependants are already employed in its territory as managers, executives or specialists.

Comments: This is the only loophole that I see, which I think is clearly not in favour of S'pore. We should rectify this with the Indian mamas.

This allows them to bring in their 'whole kampong', grandpa, grandma, wives, kids, etc, on Dependent Pass and allowing them to work in S'pore.

DSC_0634.jpg

If we restrict their people coming here they can ask our businesses to leave India.

And pray tell, how does 'tapping into the Indian market' benefit the average Singaporean at all?

The main purpose of a FTA is reducing trade tariffs. Everything else is superfluous.

cunnosieur

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/HjNlwiwPJ9I?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/KRNyhvLhsn8?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Comments: When we let in too many of them...this is what we might see as in the UK n Australia....with numbers, their voices grow, and the monkeys will push and ask for everything.

TopSage

ARTICLE 9.6: EMPLOYMENT OF SPOUSES AND DEPENDANTS
For natural persons of a Party who have been granted the right to long term temporary entry and have been allowed to bring in their spouses or dependants, a Party shall, upon application, grant the accompanying spouses or dependants of the other Party the right to work as managers, executives or specialists (as defined in paragraphs 2(f)(i) to (iii) of Article 9.2), subject to its relevant licensing, administrative and registration requirements. Such spouses or dependants can apply independently in their own capacity (and not necessarily as accompanying spouses or dependants) and shall not be barred by the Party granting them the right to work from taking up employment in a category other than that of managers, executives, or specialists solely on the ground that they as the accompanying spouses or dependants are already employed in its territory as managers, executives or specialists.

Comments: This is the only loophole that I see, which I think is clearly not in favour of S'pore. We should rectify this with the Indian mamas.

This allows them to bring in their 'whole kampong', grandpa, grandma, wives, kids, etc, on Dependent Pass and allowing them to work in S'pore.

DSC_0634.jpg
They are already here but rightfully families should allowed to come because it is not right to separate the person from his family. The main problem is the loss of job opportunities for Singaporeans especially the older workers.

cunnosieur

Read the article in full on regulation of labor mobility
This provison means Singapore cannot regulate the professionals coming here which is the main benefit of the ceca to the Indian side. The main benefit to Singapore is our big business gain access to the Indian market ....while Indians gain access to our job market.

Comments: The other loophole and problem is that there should be laws pertaining to Q1 n EP1 passes, tying it to the original employer. The Indian employee who comes here should not be allowed to look for work or 'jump ship' to other MNCs and companies in S'pore.

cunnosieur

They are already here but rightfully families should allowed to come because it is not right to separate the person from his family. The main problem is the loss of job opportunities for Singaporeans especially the older workers.

See my thread:

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...s-Turning-to-DPs-amp-LTVPs-for-Work-in-S-pore

THIS DP and LTVP IS AN AREA THAT WE, SPORE SHOULD SEEK TO RECTIFY IMMEDIATELY WITH THE INDIAN MAMAs.

They can come n stay short term and study but should not be given opportunity to work or where study is seen as a way for them to gain residency, as this is not in line with the spirit of what a FTA is about, ie, the exchange of goods and services; and not an immigration policy

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/Y65ZpN-AV3c?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

THATCHER: "THE MOMENT THE MINORITY THREATENS TO BE BECOME A BIG ONE, PEOPLE GETS FRIGHTENED..."

blindswordsman

Serangoon Rd is now ah neh precinct. How many more ah neh you want to take in? These ah nehs are not our local Indians, they came here and looked down on SG Indians. One ah neh FT even said if she could not find a place in good school here for her kid, she would give up living in SG. How many such rubbish ah neh now in sinkie land. Isn't it time now to tell PAP to re-think seriously what they have done to this country? Is sinkie land a backyard for economic refugees from ah neh country?

The family or the individual does not have the right to be here. The individual has a choice not to come. If he comes, then he shouldn't expect that his family can come along.

t0nychat

THE CECA is here:
http://www.commerce.nic.in/ceca/ch9.pdf

ARTICLE 9.2: SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS
1. This Chapter applies to measures affecting the movement of natural persons of a Party into the territory of the other Party, where such persons are:
(a) service sellers of the first mentioned Party;
(b) service suppliers of the first mentioned Party;
(c) sellers of goods of the first mentioned Party;
(d) investors of the first mentioned Party in respect of an investment of that investor in the territory of the other Party; or
(e) employed by an investor of the first mentioned Party in respect of an investment of that investor in the territory of the other Party;
(f) advisor (as defined in paragraph 2(b)(iv)).

Comments: the CECA applies to above classes of persons, ie, Indian service providers, investors and people who are employed by them.

It allows them to come and setup business or sell their goods in S'pore and short-term stay for the above people.

It is not and should not be seen as an immigration policy.

You ball-less sinkie, waiting for 2016 again?

cunnosieur

ARTICLE 9.3: GENERAL PRINCIPLES FOR GRANT OF TEMPORARY ENTRY

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry to natural persons of other Party, who are otherwise qualified for entry under applicable measures relating to public health and safety and national security, in accordance with this Chapter.

2. Each Party shall process expeditiously applications for temporary entry from natural persons of the other Party, including requests for further extensions. Each Party shall notify applicants for temporary entry, either directly or through their prospective employers, of the outcome of their applications, including the period of stay and other conditions.

3. Neither Party shall require labour market testing, economic needs testing or other procedures of similar effects as a condition for temporary entry in respect of natural persons upon whom the benefits of this Chapter are conferred.

4. Natural persons of either Party who are granted temporary entry into the territory of the other Party shall not be required to make contributions to social security funds in the host country. In such cases, they will not be eligible for social security benefits in the other Party for the duration of the stay.

Comments: We, Spore should be the one to KPKB becos of Sub para 3 which I find to be disturbing as >50% of the Indian qualifications are fakes!

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/K3XIzZfKyXw?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

As the the Indian FT who KPKB about schools for her kid....sub para 4 says it all. They can send their kids to Indian international schools, and are not entitled to Spore schools. In fact, Indians should pay a inetrnational fees premium to enrol their kids to study in our rigoruous education institutions, as they are consuming our country's resources.

cunnosieur

What we can do collectively as Sporeans...

Is to raise our rentals for our HDB flats n condos for our Indian FTs friends.

3 room HDB - Indian FTs = $6k per month.

I was renting my house out and received so many enquiries from Indian FTs...they said budget 2k only, I SAID $6k, they got a shock, and I told them not to be cheap Indians else, they can rent a room in Hotel 81 in Serangoon at min $100++ per night, or they can go back to their slums in Mumbai and Chennai.

PLS SPREAD THE WORDS TO RAISE THE RENTS...

This is not covered under CECA, HDB or whatever. Even Australia has imposed bank statement of min AUD18k requirement (makan, travel n accomodation, etc) to show ability to stay in Australia to study, apart from the AUD 40-80k school fees.

We welcome our Indian FT friends but pls dont be cheap Indians, bring more money n not be a burden n consuming into Spore resources.

Ash007

Lol, you must be new here. I haven't been a "heartlander" Sinkie for a very long time now.

Oh, so you expect FTs to sue on your behalf and set the 'right environment' for balless Sinkie like you, so that gov and citizens can co-exist in mutual respect , right in the your own backyard?

How how BALLESS can you get and shameless too.

In the words to describe a typical heartlander Sinkie.

Balless they might be but they have expectation of their own gov and to them they are not being SHAMELESS! LOL

TracyTan866

Lol, you must be new here. I haven't been a "heartlander" Sinkie for a very long time now.

my condo is swarmed with India Indian migrants. Today, I saw an India Indian, abt 50years old, emptied a cup a coffee from his 3rd floor balcony without regard for anyone walking below.

It's such bad social behaviour that alienates them from Singaporeans

Ash007

I foresee that day and decide to go for something that I want. Sam, keeps saying there is nothing from Singaporean for doing the exact same thing that these FTs are doing in Singapore in other countries. Tony, has repeatedly pointed out how much ballessness Singaporean are. As much as many have disagree about both of them, they have a point. Singaporean, if they want change has to start voting in the government they want. The many years of PAP rule does show that the "majority" still wants them. This is how democracy works. Don't blame the PAP, its what the citizens wants. This is an interesting case, if the Indian government do chose to bring this up in the WTO, and the government has to allow some sort of concession, it would be interesting to see how the "majority" reacts.

my condo is swarmed with India Indian migrants. Today, I saw an India Indian, abt 50years old, emptied a cup a coffee from his 3rd floor balcony without regard for anyone walking below.

It's such bad social behaviour that alienates them from Singaporeans

TracyTan866

I foresee that day and decide to go for something that I want. Sam, keeps saying there is nothing from Singaporean for doing the exact same thing that these FTs are doing in Singapore in other countries. Tony, has repeatedly pointed out how much ballessness Singaporean are. As much as many have disagree about both of them, they have a point. Singaporean, if they want change has to start voting in the government they want. The many years of PAP rule does show that the "majority" still wants them. This is how democracy works. Don't blame the PAP, its what the citizens wants. This is an interesting case, if the Indian government do chose to bring this up in the WTO, and the government has to allow some sort of concession, it would be interesting to see how the "majority" reacts.

I don't blame Singaporeans. The pap has controlled the media and lied to Singaporeans.But more singaporeans are waking up and the pap knows that the next GE can be critical for them.

As I said before, Saddam claimed that he won more than 90% of the votes. With what the many manipulations the pap has done,I am surprised it didn't get more than 80% od the votes. To me, getting only 60% after all the manipulations is a failure