ThePlen

for real?

Singapore least likely to have housing woes
It ranks last in international poll on unaffordable shelter

By Jessica Cheam, Housing Correspondent

ST_18648999.jpg

A Gallup survey found that only 1 per cent of the roughly 1,000 people in Singapore polled said they had difficulty finding affordable housing. About 80 per cent of Singapore's population live in public housing.

SINGAPORE has emerged at the bottom of a Gallup poll of 128 countries on housing - but the result is unlikely to be a cause for complaint.

The global survey by the renowned research firm centred on unaffordable housing. It polled 1,000 or more respondents in each country for the survey and posed this question:

Have there been times in the past 12 months when you did not have enough money to provide adequate shelter or housing for you and your family?

Only 1 per cent of Singaporeans responded 'yes', placing the Republic at the bottom of the heap. The second last was Denmark at 2 per cent.

In contrast, Azerbaijan, Liberia and Chad, which were in the top three places, had 76, 53, and 51 per cent respectively saying 'yes'.

Singapore also fared well against regional counterparts, with China (19 per cent), Malaysia (14 per cent) and Japan (9 per cent) finishing well above.

for real?

ST_18648999.jpg

A Gallup survey found that only 1 per cent of the roughly 1,000 people in Singapore polled said they had difficulty finding affordable housing. About 80 per cent of Singapore's population live in public housing.

SINGAPORE has emerged at the bottom of a Gallup poll of 128 countries on housing - but the result is unlikely to be a cause for complaint.

The global survey by the renowned research firm centred on unaffordable housing. It polled 1,000 or more respondents in each country for the survey and posed this question:

Have there been times in the past 12 months when you did not have enough money to provide adequate shelter or housing for you and your family?

Only 1 per cent of Singaporeans responded 'yes', placing the Republic at the bottom of the heap. The second last was Denmark at 2 per cent.

In contrast, Azerbaijan, Liberia and Chad, which were in the top three places, had 76, 53, and 51 per cent respectively saying 'yes'.

Singapore also fared well against regional counterparts, with China (19 per cent), Malaysia (14 per cent) and Japan (9 per cent) finishing well above.

So which income group does the 1,000 belonged to? If we have no complaints for housing then it looks like Capt (NS) Goh Meng Seng have no cause to kao peh kao bu and fight for the little people like you and me, no? :rolleyes:

The vast majority of Singaporeans have no problem servicing their home loans. Expensive housing does not equal to unaffordable housing. Pple who cite cheaper housing in countries like Malaysia tend to forget that the pple in those countries also earn compartively lower wages which is why houses in certain countries may seem cheaper but affordability of the houses are still lower.

Although left unchecked, expensive housing will sooner or later lead to unaffordable housing

for real?

ST_18648999.jpg

I saw another global survey on default household which list PAP in not such good position,but it never appeared on 156th

For PAP,what I can get is

8% of HDB loans were in default in late 2008 even before the recession started[Link:HDB Mortgage Defaults Up 33,000 in October)

http://smartpropertybuyer.blogspot.com/2008/11/hdb-mortgage-defaults-up-33000-in.html

Again the work of 156th prostitute fr Toa Payoh Brothel.

It just to show 1 thing. Even in poll like this.

Singaporean still dare not voice out their discontent honestly.

The vast majority of Singaporeans have no problem servicing their home loans. Expensive housing does not equal to unaffordable housing. Pple who cite cheaper housing in countries like Malaysia tend to forget that the pple in those countries also earn compartively lower wages which is why houses in certain countries may seem cheaper but affordability of the houses are still lower.

Although left unchecked, expensive housing will sooner or later lead to unaffordable housing

so according to u, Expensive housing does not equal to unaffordable housing.

so spore house must be either : expensive and affordable, inexpensive and unafforable.

next u will be trying to convince expensive does not equal u have to pay more.

so spore house must be either : expensive and affordable, inexpensive and unafforable.

What he has claimed is that Singaporeans are very rich which is also partial true.

Don't push your nonsense logic into my mouth I never said expensive = affordable

I said Expensive not equal to unaffordable.

If the comparative income of the population is high then the houses which are expensive may still be affordable.

Houses in a country may be cheap but if the local population's income is low, cheap housing means nothing coz they may still be unaffordable:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

==

you have to look at the bigger picture. Every 1 dollar that you earn, how many % goes to servicing your housing loan? That is how you should look at whether housing is affordable or not. Sure, if you classify as so long the loan is <1, it is affordable...but many young families are spending >20% of this on housing loan (meaning, all CPF is used to service loan + cash).

When you are still economically active, it is no problem...and you stretch it 30years...looks good and affordable on surface...but really spending 20% every month on servicing HDB loan is not really advisable...

Then you can say - well you choose so expensive housing...an average 4 room - if you are lucky enough to buy from HDB...300K? A young couple just refresh from university - earning say 2.5K a month? So combined income 5K.

Assume they loan 90% - which is 270K...30 year loan, monthly outlay approx = 1K? which effectively uses up all their CPF....= no savings for old age...

Is this affordable? Not to me...

Don't push your nonsense logic into my mouth I never said expensive = affordable

If the comparative income of the population is high then the houses which are expensive may still be affordable.

Houses in a country may be cheap but if the local population's income is low, cheap housing means nothing coz they may still be unaffordable:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:
He is also correct to say that you meant Expensive is not unaffordable.

Because you did not want to qualify it by adding that we are very RICH,so expensive is affordable.

Why waste time to disagree on the identical thing?

dumb cheebye.

u say expensive does not equal unaffordable, then expensive = affordable lah

u stupid cheebye u understand maths or not. affordable and unaffordable are mutually exclusive items. an item must either be affordable or unaffordable. if u say hdb is not unaffordable u mean it is affordable ok. fuck you pap dog.

:oIo::oIo::oIo: KNNB pap dogs standard drop like fuck. cannot even argue properly.

dumb cheebye pap dog. cheap or expensive is relative to income. if houses are 'cheap' but population's income is too low to afford it, how can u even deem houses to be 'cheap' in the 1st place.

fuck you lah stupid idiot.

dumb cheebye.

u say expensive does not equal unaffordable, then expensive = affordable lah

u stupid cheebye u understand maths or not. affordable and unaffordable are mutually exclusive items. an item must either be affordable or unaffordable. if u say hdb is not unaffordable u mean it is affordable ok. fuck you pap dog.

:oIo::oIo::oIo: KNNB pap dogs standard drop like fuck. cannot even argue properly.
Well,I can see yr point clearly now.

He said houses in a countyr may be cheap,but if people are poor,cheap hosuing may still be unaffordable.

Now the problem is that he is a typical dog which always pride tehmselves as LOOK AT BIG PICTURES.

Whilst yr definition is correct,how can it be cheap when it is not affordable.

His logic is PAP's

Yr logic is univeral.

Now I understand why PAP dogs are so righteous and believe so.

Simply they work on different logic which the whole world does not and would not undertand

No wonder PAP fails big time whenever they are out of Singapore.

Too bad for our citizens as they trust PAP

==

you have to look at the bigger picture. Every 1 dollar that you earn, how many % goes to servicing your housing loan? That is how you should look at whether housing is affordable or not. Sure, if you classify as so long the loan is <1, it is affordable...but many young families are spending >20% of this on housing loan (meaning, all CPF is used to service loan + cash).

When you are still economically active, it is no problem...and you stretch it 30years...looks good and affordable on surface...but really spending 20% every month on servicing HDB loan is not really advisable...

Then you can say - well you choose so expensive housing...an average 4 room - if you are lucky enough to buy from HDB...300K? A young couple just refresh from university - earning say 2.5K a month? So combined income 5K.

Assume they loan 90% - which is 270K...30 year loan, monthly outlay approx = 1K? which effectively uses up all their CPF....= no savings for old age...

Is this affordable? Not to me...

I was stating a fact nothing to do with SG or any country in general.
1)What I said: Expensive housing not equal to unaffordable housing
2)Nothing to do with SG house pricing. You pple just assume that I was defending something which I wasn't
3)Your example assume that the couple will hantan kaki and pay remain stagnant, for 30 freaking years.

He said houses in a countyr may be cheap,but if people are poor,cheap hosuing may not be unaffordable.

Now the problem is that he is a typical dog which always priode tehmselves as LOOK AT BIG PICTURES.

Hios logic is PAP's

Yr logic is univeral.

Simply they work on different logic which the whole world does not and would not undertand

according to charlatan dog, we are clones. stop talking to u/me/myself/i..

getting delusional you know. btw, happy new year to you/me/i/myself.:D

1)What I said: Expensive housing not equal to unaffordable housing2)Nothing to do with SG house pricing. You pple just assume that I was defending something which I wasn't
3)Your example assume that the couple will hantan kaki and pay remain stagnant, for 30 freaking years.

this is both ridiculous and stupid. :D:oIo:;):eek::cool::(:):p:o:rolleyes:;):oIo::D

dumb cheebye pap dog. cheap or expensive is relative to income. if houses are 'cheap' but population's income is too low to afford it, how can u even deem houses to be 'cheap' in the 1st place.

fuck you lah stupid idiot.

He said houses in a countyr may be cheap,but if people are poor,cheap hosuing may not be unaffordable.

Now the problem is that he is a typical dog which always pride tehmselves as LOOK AT BIG PICTURES.

His logic is PAP's

Yr logic is univeral.

Why in the world do all of you joker have to assume that anything anyone post that isn't negative is obviously pro-PAP

I was just simply stating a fact

Expensive housing does not mean unaffordable housing

Every idiot in here conveniently left out the fact that my final statement also stated that

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Stop freaking assuming everything not negative = Pro PAP. If you keep wondering why pple don't want to be associated with the opposition, it's becoz of jokers like you who refuse to acknowledge facts and just condemn everything not negative and condemn everything remotely associated with PAP. :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

There is such a thing as the middle ground :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

1)What I said: Expensive housing not equal to unaffordable housing
2)Nothing to do with SG house pricing. You pple just assume that I was defending something which I wasn't
I dont think u are PAP IB.

But also I pity u for not learning anything at all in this forum

On the other hand,congratulations,you sure do well in PAP's Spore as u have the PAP logic,not unlike George Yeo,Gan Kim Young,etc so may brilliant minds,u are not alone.

But in summary,it is PAP's logic.

You would fail if you operate in non PAP system

My advice not to venture overseas.

and do not waste yr time here as well,use yr PAP logical mind to make big money NOW!
Cheers and happy new year

pap dog standard really drop like fuck. at least the older 666 series dog and argue better. pap dogs these days are just plain stupid.

expensive not = unaffordable

then what is unaffordable ?? fucking expensive is it??

:D:D:D

If a 40-yr old HDB 3-rm flat not near to MRT station is selling at $250K, do not think it can be considered affordable anymore ..