• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore labour chief says more job losses likely

virus2977

HO HO ........Singaporean u all kanna F.LOL.See last time they say got job.Now going to retrenchments.Congra u all singaporean 66.6%

eeoror88

Retrenched Singaporeans can replace the Banglas there. Or are Singaporeans too "pampared" to do the jobs at the shipyards.

Whole day cry father, cry mother, blame cow, blame neighbours, blame society and also gahmen !!

annexa

Retrenched Singaporeans can replace the Banglas there. Or are Singaporeans too "pampared" to do the jobs at the shipyards.

Whole day cry father, cry mother, blame cow, blame neighbours, blame society and also gahmen !!

I look forward to your foodcourts bought over by Banglas and employ you to wash bowls.

Tiu-leh-see-fart

During recession. employers must rid LOCAL SINGAPOREANS becos they are more expensive to maintain.

In reality, It is the foreign workers who will enjoy big time.

And during recession, it is the best time for employers to sack local singaporeans.

Did you know PAP hates local singaporeans and so do locals hate PAP?

Almost all employers want to rid locals, it is the right time to fake a recession

They say foreigner are buffer. Let's see they retrench foreigner first or sinkie first!

eeoror88

I look forward to your foodcourts bought over by Banglas and employ you to wash bowls.

As the Chinese saying goes : If your horse dies, you will have to walk to reach your destination.

What do majority of retrenced Singaporeans do? Stay on the same spot and cry father, cry mother, blame the cows, blame society and gahmen !!:mad:

sherrry

We see many big corporations down sizing & shedding staff at lightning pace. No surprises that the foreign firms based here would soon be pulling the plug on some departments too. Hence, what ah-Say is saying is as good as farting thru the oral organ, instead of the rectum.

I'm sure the 4mth maternity leave is also not appreciate by employers too.

DIVISION1

It is a truism, which has little to do with the government of Singapore. But someone has to state the bad news and sooner is better than later. These are strengths of responsible governments.

sherrry

He sounded very positive when he gave his comment to the reporter. Not 1 ounce of worry or frown. Reason being - his rice bowl has immunity to the situation at hand.

CENWEN

SINGAPORE, Oct 9 - Singapore's labour chief said on Thursday retrenchments and wage cuts in the city-state are likely if the global downturn continues, state television reported on its website.

<script language="javascript">if(window.yzq_d==null)window.yzq_d=new Object(); window.yzq_d['4cSzEHxsfLc-']='&U=13facd5fp%2fN%3d4cSzEHxsfLc-%2fC%3d629078.12732857.13035082.3272417%2fD%3dLREC%2fB%3d5378559%2fV%3d1'; </script><noscript>
b
</noscript>"At this moment, there is no sign yet of rising retrenchment," Lim Swee Say, Secretary General of the National Trades Union Congress was quoted as saying by Channel NewsAsia.The congress is the largest labour union in Singapore. "However, as the downturn continues, we can expect realistically that the retrenchment may pick up," said Lim, who is also a government minister. Warning that Singaporeans' wages will also be affected, he said: "Let's accept that there's no guarantee our real wages will not go down. In fact, they are likely to go down but it does not mean the workers will be on their own." But he said the government and labour movement will, if necessary, support "the lower-wage workers and lower income households through non-wage measures".

Singapore's government eschews welfarism, which it views as bad for work ethics, and instead provides aid for the poor through vouchers and monetary incentives for low-income workers who stay employed, in a scheme dubbed "workfare".

1sickpuppy

Ho Sai Liao going to retire anyway for me can't wait to get my retrenchment golden handshake. Been working with this company for over 20yrs lets see how much I will get :smile:

The_Latest_H

SINGAPORE, Oct 9 - Singapore's labour chief said on Thursday retrenchments and wage cuts in the city-state are likely if the global downturn continues, state television reported on its website.

<script language="javascript">if(window.yzq_d==null)window.yzq_d=new Object(); window.yzq_d['4cSzEHxsfLc-']='&U=13facd5fp%2fN%3d4cSzEHxsfLc-%2fC%3d629078.12732857.13035082.3272417%2fD%3dLREC%2fB%3d5378559%2fV%3d1'; </script><noscript>
b
</noscript>"At this moment, there is no sign yet of rising retrenchment," Lim Swee Say, Secretary General of the National Trades Union Congress was quoted as saying by Channel NewsAsia.The congress is the largest labour union in Singapore. "However, as the downturn continues, we can expect realistically that the retrenchment may pick up," said Lim, who is also a government minister. Warning that Singaporeans' wages will also be affected, he said: "Let's accept that there's no guarantee our real wages will not go down. In fact, they are likely to go down but it does not mean the workers will be on their own." But he said the government and labour movement will, if necessary, support "the lower-wage workers and lower income households through non-wage measures".

Singapore's government eschews welfarism, which it views as bad for work ethics, and instead provides aid for the poor through vouchers and monetary incentives for low-income workers who stay employed, in a scheme dubbed "workfare".

There's no point giving people $500 GST rebates, when you take away $5000 away in tax increases and rising living costs through healthcare, utilities, public transportation, and yes, GST increases.

One hand giveth money away, the other taketh it away. Workfare is nothing more than ad hoc, superficial 'economic remedy' and is simply pathetically small. As Sen. Obama had said about McCain's health care plan as nothing more than a bait and switch, so is the workfare and GST rebate programs locally.

eeoror88

As the Chinese saying goes : If your horse dies, you will have to walk to reach your destination.

What do majority of retrenced Singaporeans do? Stay on the same spot and cry father, cry mother, blame the cows, blame society and gahmen !!

TeeKee

What do majority of retrenced Singaporeans do? Stay on the same spot and cry father, cry mother, blame the cows, blame society and gahmen !!

why cannot? gahmen your father is it?