Singapore got no democratic elections?!

If you want western style democracy where anything can do, then such kind of democracy is not for SG. How does the various races co-exist peacefully in SG? The press must also be responsible not to cause racial strife in SG. It is still democracy but not western type of democracy.

If the judges do not hand down fair sentences, it is up to AGC to appeal. If AGC does not appeal, it is up to pappies to kick his arse. Paying Ministers millions in salaries is due to daft 60% sinkies who voted for pappies. Vote for oppo parties to challenge pappies in Parliament and such ridiculous policies will stop.

The press tell lies about pappies? If you know they tell lies, why bother to read shit times and their sister publications? Read the materials in the internet for insightful enlightenment. Only dumbfucks continue to read shit times to set their own balls on fire.

so now ur using race as a reason to justify repression and faux democracy?just like PAP using fear of nothing to justify every thing they do and every policy they implement?race cannot get along?what century are u living in?america is multiracial,australia is multiracial,uk is multiracial....the only people we cant get along with is foreigners who dont speak the local language!!!!

Where you learn that election is the definition of democracy? Is our election free? We don't have free elections. The elections are rigged in favour of the PAP.

If elections were not free in SG, how did JBJ get elected in Anson and went into Parliament to challenge LKY? How did the oppo parties take over Hougang, Potong Pasir, Aljunied GRC, PE from the pappies if elections were not free?

If pappies had put in place unfair ways of holding elections, well, it is up to voters to cast their votes against pappies in GE 2016 to get rid of such unfair ways but in GE2011, 60% sinkies were still daft to approve it.

If elections were not free in SG, how did JBJ get elected in Anson and went into Parliament to challenge LKY? How did the oppo parties take over Hougang, Potong Pasir, Aljunied GRC, PE from the pappies if elections were not free?

If pappies had put in place unfair ways of holding elections, well, it is up to voters to cast their votes against pappies in GE 2016 to get rid of such unfair ways but in GE2011, 60% sinkies were still daft to approve it.

let me tell u if we had media freedom like taiwanese and hong kies,PAP would have been out long ago let alone reign for 50 years......singapore is the only country that remains so politically ignorant and apathetic thanks to lack of politics tv shows and radio shows.

so now ur using race as a reason to justify repression and faux democracy?just like PAP using fear of nothing to justify every thing they do and every policy they implement?race cannot get along?what century are u living in?america is multiracial,australia is multiracial,uk is multiracial....the only people we cant get along with is foreigners who dont speak the local language!!!!

If you had lived through the times of racial riots in the 1960s, you would understand the importance of racial harmony in SG. Always remember that Sg is a tiny island, vulnerable to any racial strife. We may hoot the pappies but peace and harmony in SG must not be compromised.

Racial disharmony in white men countries simmers beneath the surface till to this day. Why was there a Dr Martin Luther King in USA? Why we do not have one in SG?

The pappies are stupid to allow mass influx of FTsh into SG and their reasons for doing so are not acceptable to some sinkies.

The print media is no longer the only important source of information to get messages across to voters. The internet is uncontrollable, free and easily accessible to any one who seeks to read messages of the alternative parties. Control the press if they want but pappies cannot control the internet. What is posted in the internet remains in the internet, inerasable unlike the newspapers and periodicals.

You want to read about any one, LKY included, go to the internet.

The PAP Gahbrament will let the internet have a little bit of freedom. You need to give citizens an avenue to vent their emotions.

At critical times, like a few days before General Elections, some very popular websites deemed guilty of having messages not favourable to the ruling party will be hacked or interfered with in a thousand and one ways.

Nowadays, newspapers are delivered via print AND electronic media. The older generation are not net savvy. Some still cry father cry mother when outdated Teletext service is withdrawn. A bunch of bloggers each going their own way can be dealt with easily by a tyrant. A newspaper is an ORGANISATION with reporters, editors, distribution networks, etc. Either you don't know the difference or hope that daft Sinkies will not be able to see through your deception.

North Korea has elections too, but are they a democracy? Elections are not a foolproof indicator. Go back to school TS. The likes of you are simply not suited for the modern economy. That is why the pinoys, burmese, and other assorted tribals get ahead of you in the rat race.

Yes agree. Read my sig.

If you had lived through the times of racial riots in the 1960s, you would understand the importance of racial harmony in SG. Always remember that Sg is a tiny island, vulnerable to any racial strife. We may hoot the pappies but peace and harmony in SG must not be compromised.

Racial disharmony in white men countries simmers beneath the surface till to this day. Why was there a Dr Martin Luther King in USA? Why we do not have one in SG?

The pappies are stupid to allow mass influx of FTsh into SG and their reasons for doing so are not acceptable to some sinkies.

we do not have martin lutha king because we are not america,we do not have slaves,we were bought here by the whites to be coolies and slaves.didnt we overthrow our white masters?

look at america,barely 80 years ago blacks were slaves,they didnt have rights,they couldnt even ride the damn bus with white people and look where america is now with a half white half nigger president.what does this show that mentalities have changed,society has changed drastically,things in the past no longer apply to the present,change is inevitable,this is a different world and PAPPY must go!!!!!!its time to give true power back to the people!!!!!we are not slaves of the whites or the men in whites!!!

let me tell u if we had media freedom like taiwanese and hong kies,PAP would have been out long ago let alone reign for 50 years......singapore is the only country that remains so politically ignorant and apathetic thanks to lack of politics tv shows and radio shows.

If you compare political situation in Hong Kong and Taiwan with SG, it is indeed incomparable. Sinkies have full stomach, roofs over their heads, careers to pursue and generally have a good life. They are not politically ignorant and apathetic, they are just laid back about politics.

You protest only when you are hungry, jobless and homeless. Why should sinkies bother to protest in the streets? They prefer to kpkb but still there were 60% daft sinkies who voted for the pappies and the other 40% were screwed in GE2011.

The Taiwanese treat their Parliament like a boxing ring and triad members are also voted into Parliament.

Hong Kong was ruled by the Brits for many years and is now under control of China. Hong Kongers do not like mainland Chinese but what can they do? Hong Kong is now part of China. So, to show their displeasure, the Hong Kongers protested in the streets but were ignored by the commies. Remember, if they overstepped their limits, the commies would whack them hard. Where is true democracy in Hong Kong?

we do not have martin lutha king because we are not america,we do not have slaves,we were bought here by the whites to be coolies and slaves.didnt we overthrow our white masters?

look at america,barely 80 years ago blacks were slaves,they didnt have rights,they couldnt even ride the damn bus with white people and look where america is now with a half white half nigger president.what does this show that mentalities have changed,society has changed drastically,things in the past no longer apply to the present,change is inevitable,this is a different world and PAPPY must go!!!!!!its time to give true power back to the people!!!!!we are not slaves of the whites or the men in whites!!!

Yes, if you can convince the 60% daft sinkies who voted for pappies in GE2011 not to do it again in GE2016, there will be changes made but to what extent, it depends on whether pappies remain in power.

If the vote swing is not strong enough, sinkies will continue to get screwed.

If you compare political situation in Hong Kong and Taiwan with SG, it is indeed incomparable. Sinkies have full stomach, roofs over their heads, careers to pursue and generally have a good life. They are not politically ignorant and apathetic, they are just laid back about politics.

Taiwan and HK have independent press and TV stations. Sinkapore got what?
Sinkees are brainwashed ...not laid back ...just totally ignorant as the government feeds them with bullshit.
But sinkees are waking up because the adverse effects of those bad policies are starting to hurt.

You protest only when you are hungry, jobless and homeless. Why should sinkies bother to protest in the streets? They prefer to kpkb but still there were 60% daft sinkies who voted for the pappies and the other 40% were screwed in GE2011.
Then take away the restrictions on public protests ...see sinkees will come out in droves to protest.
Don't be so smug ...2016 will change everything ...full-scale election fraud by the PAP will be needed to stay in power.

The Taiwanese treat their Parliament like a boxing ring and triad members are also voted into Parliament.
If the people chooses, that's democracy.

Hong Kong was ruled by the Brits for many years and is now under control of China. Hong Kongers do not like mainland Chinese but what can they do? Hong Kong is now part of China. So, to show their displeasure, the Hong Kongers protested in the streets but were ignored by the commies. Remember, if they overstepped their limits, the commies would whack them hard. Where is true democracy in Hong Kong?
At the least, the Hongkees have independent media to inform them. It still has an independent judiciary. When the Ah Tiongs are ready to take over, the hongkees will leave in droves.

..Nowadays, newspapers are delivered via print AND electronic media. The older generation are not net savvy. A newspaper is an ORGANISATION with reporters, editors, distribution networks, etc. Either you don't know the difference or hope that daft Sinkies will not be able to see through your deception.

You can always choose not to read newspapers in print or electronic media if originating from the shit times and their sister companies. You can seek alternative media for political news.

CHOOSE. It's like telling the Sinkie he can always choose another party if he don't like the PAP without mentioning that Lightning Scums have used all manner of fixing and dirty tricks to ensure that there is not a single other party with enough talent to form a government.

What part of the word ORGANISATION do you not understand?

By the same logic, the GAHBRAment can always adhere to the Constitution and let Sinkies have freedom of the press, to assemble, to associate, etc. Anyone with enough money and organisation should be granted a newspaper or broadcasting licence. An independent and impartial regulator will ensure that these private organisations play by the rules of the game such as no inciting of violent crimes, no unethical behaviour, etc.

As long as there are elections and choice of candidate(s) for the electors to choose from, that is democracy. In North Korea, other than that fatso Kim, who else can the voter tick for? Don't know about Zimbabwe, opponents of Mugabe are probably inside the crocodile's tummy.

Ms. Han and others with similar sentiments have a reason to feel like that - the PAP has been totally dominant in Sg's politics for so long, it's become boring. The majority of voters still cast their votes for the PAP for whatever reason(s) known only to them. Whether its the voter's "kiasuness" or "kiasiness" it shows the PAP is more potically savvy than the other parties.

On the "propaganda" side of the game, the PAP has got the cooperation of the media. That's part of the political game too. The citizens of Singapore have not shown enough desire for a more open and "fair" press. If they are, they can boycott the Straits Times. Are they willing to?

And if the elections are "unfair," is the electorate resolute enough to boycott the elections?

The way things are, and have been, Singapore is a piece of cake to rule. Her citizens are obedient, compliant, and obliging. And for good reasons too, mostly.

Democracy is more than just voting once every 5 years. North Korea, Zimbabwe, to name a few, have elections too. Do you call these nation democracy?

So Ms Han is thoroughly correct.

We have been fed PAP's propaganda for decades - redefining subsidy (eg. HDB subsidy), talents (eg. foreign talent), democracy, role of judiciary etc. Time for sinkees wake to throw out these PAP's twisted concepts and get with realities.

Yes, there are different forms of democracy, more like different degrees and variants of freedom of operation in any particular society, each evolved under its own domestic situation(s). So far in Singapore, every decision made or reached by the elected officials are passed through the courts or parliament - they have not done anything illegal. One is able to voice one's differing view too, but better be able to prove that in court or face being sued for defamation or slander and charged with subversion. That's all part of the political game too. For most honest folks, politics is a dirty game. Better to stay out of it, stick to one's job, and cast one's vote when elections come around. I've always held this view - if one wants to fight in heavyweight division, one better be heavyweight first.

Actually there are many forms of democracy according to my Wikipedia knowledge....ranging from the simplest form of democracy to some kind of in depth democracy that the swiss practice whereby everyone vote on bills and laws passed right from the national level down to individual cantons....they can also petition for new laws or bills to be amended.that is closest to the true forms of democracy.

There's also another type of democracy called the PAPeetocracy.kleptocracy and nepotism masquerading as " democracy".

The judges are doing their job. For what they are getting paid, why would they bother about the politics of the country? They have solid salary, good positions, prestige, security. Why change that?

Yes. You can vote them out at the elections. First, enough people must want to make those changes. Then the next guy gets elected and does the same thing. Have fun.

.........Our judges don't there to step on the government toes. Our ministers pay themselves millions in salary and there is nothing we can do.......

Yes, there are different forms of democracy, more like different degrees and variants of freedom of operation in any particular society, each evolved under its own domestic situation(s). So far in Singapore, every decision made or reached by the elected officials are passed through the courts or parliament - they have not done anything illegal. One is able to voice one's differing view too, but better be able to prove that in court or face being sued for defamation or slander and charged with subversion. That's all part of the political game too. For most honest folks, politics is a dirty game. Better to stay out of it, stick to one's job, and cast one's vote when elections come around. I've always held this view - if one wants to fight in heavyweight division, one better be heavyweight first.

oh yeah with the parliament dominated 90% by a single incumruling party for 50 years.....thats nothing wrong alright,absolutely impartial.

[video=youtube;CJinWua98NA]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJinWua98NA[/video]

Todate, there are no indications that the votes in Sg's elections were rigged. On that, we have to say that they have been fair. In the past, there could have been some fear among the electors and therefore voted in favour of the PAP, who also claimed credit for Singapore's "successes." Whether they were responsible for those or not, I leave it to the individual to decide. However, the "free run" for easy success is coming to an end, and these people who trusted them will soon be blaming them for the "hard times." Coming elections will be uphill for the PAP, having taken credit for past good times, they will have to absorb the blame for the tough times. For now, it is make hay while the sun shines.

I will believe that our election is fair when the PAP loses in a General Election.

What can you or me do about it? It was won by majority votes. Truly democratic.

oh yeah with the parliament dominated 90% by a single incumruling party for 50 years.....thats nothing wrong alright,absolutely impartial.......

Where you learn that election is the definition of democracy? Is our election free? Why is the Election Department under the control of the PMO? Even if the Election Department is truly independent, which it is not, the optics of having it under the control of the PMO, shows its bias. We don't have free elections. The elections are rigged in favour of the PAP.

A simple statement.

The percentage of votes is glaringly disproportionate to the number of Parliament seats.

The ruling party got hold of 81 seats out of total 87 seats when they only garnered 60.1% of the total votes.