• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore faces shortage of psychologists amid rising demand for mental health services

Flibbertigibbet

Stupidman

Singapore faces shortage of psychologists amid rising demand for mental health services

Caitlin Ng & Calvin Yang
17 Mar 2026 10:48AM

The gap comes amid growing awareness of mental well-being and an increasing number of people seeking professional help.
As demand for mental health support rises, Singapore is facing a shortage of psychologists, according to the Singapore Psychological Society. (Photo: iStock)

SINGAPORE: As demand for mental health support rises, Singapore is facing a shortage of psychologists, according to a professional association.

The gap comes amid growing awareness of mental well-being and an increasing number of people seeking professional help in recent years.

But training new psychologists is not a quick fix, said observers. Lengthy qualification pathways and limited local training avenues remain key challenges in expanding the workforce.

CHALLENGES FACING ASPIRING PSYCHOLOGISTS​

Psychology undergraduate Jerein Sandrasageran knows firsthand how daunting the journey to becoming a qualified psychologist can be.

For a decade, the sports coach watched his athletes struggle with confidence issues, intense pressure and fear of failure. Wanting to better support them, the 34-year-old decided to pursue a psychology degree from Murdoch University at Kaplan.

“It's a long path to truly becoming a private psychologist or professional psychologist in whatever field we decide,” he said.

“We know that we need postgraduate studies to be accepted or to really do the job, and we need experience as well.

“So we're kind of caught in the middle where we don't really have the experience, we don't really have the further education to do it. And if we don't have opportunities to gain the experience effectively, then we'll just be stuck.”

It typically takes about seven years to become a qualified psychologist, starting with an undergraduate degree.

Graduates must then complete clinical placements to gain supervised experience before applying for a postgraduate programme.

Costs can also be a hurdle, especially if candidates have to pursue overseas options due to limited local programmes.

Dr Pearlene Ng, vice-president of the Singapore Psychological Society, said the decision to become a qualified psychologist “takes a lot of sacrifice, not just for themselves but for their family as well”.

She also highlighted placement constraints. Placements are often limited, and there is a shortage of qualified supervisors, leaving many aspiring psychologists struggling to progress.

Even when students secure placements, they still need to see clients who are willing to work with them in order to clock the required training hours, said Dr Ng, who is herself a clinical psychologist.

But she pointed out that members of the public are often reluctant to consult interns or psychologists-in-training, reducing opportunities for trainees to gain practical experience.

The society is now exploring partnerships with institutes of higher learning to expand placement sites and better prepare students for the industry.

There are many bosses in S'pore who are mentally unwell. These are the unstable, insecure and paranoid bosses who believe in self-preservation whenever they meet a subordinate in their company who drives a more expensive car than them. They fear that the subordinate is more intelligent as he has a side gig giving him more passive income than his day job. Believe me, I have come across a few during my long career.

Help siao lang for what, kill them all lah! Danger to themselves and others!
Insecure bosses need to have sub-standard subordinates around them. Anyone who has worked in an office has witnessed this phenomenon. An insecure leader's greatest fear is not that the business may be unsuccessful. His ultimate fear is that capable staff may be a threat to his position. Mediocre employees get promoted to higher positions because they do not pose the same threat to the paranoid boss.

Caitlin Ng & Calvin Yang

The gap comes amid growing awareness of mental well-being and an increasing number of people seeking professional help.
As demand for mental health support rises, Singapore is facing a shortage of psychologists, according to the Singapore Psychological Society. (Photo: iStock)

SINGAPORE: As demand for mental health support rises, Singapore is facing a shortage of psychologists, according to a professional association.

The gap comes amid growing awareness of mental well-being and an increasing number of people seeking professional help in recent years.

But training new psychologists is not a quick fix, said observers. Lengthy qualification pathways and limited local training avenues remain key challenges in expanding the workforce.

Psychology undergraduate Jerein Sandrasageran knows firsthand how daunting the journey to becoming a qualified psychologist can be.

For a decade, the sports coach watched his athletes struggle with confidence issues, intense pressure and fear of failure. Wanting to better support them, the 34-year-old decided to pursue a psychology degree from Murdoch University at Kaplan.

“It's a long path to truly becoming a private psychologist or professional psychologist in whatever field we decide,” he said.

“We know that we need postgraduate studies to be accepted or to really do the job, and we need experience as well.

“So we're kind of caught in the middle where we don't really have the experience, we don't really have the further education to do it. And if we don't have opportunities to gain the experience effectively, then we'll just be stuck.”

It typically takes about seven years to become a qualified psychologist, starting with an undergraduate degree.

Graduates must then complete clinical placements to gain supervised experience before applying for a postgraduate programme.

Costs can also be a hurdle, especially if candidates have to pursue overseas options due to limited local programmes.

Dr Pearlene Ng, vice-president of the Singapore Psychological Society, said the decision to become a qualified psychologist “takes a lot of sacrifice, not just for themselves but for their family as well”.

She also highlighted placement constraints. Placements are often limited, and there is a shortage of qualified supervisors, leaving many aspiring psychologists struggling to progress.

Even when students secure placements, they still need to see clients who are willing to work with them in order to clock the required training hours, said Dr Ng, who is herself a clinical psychologist.

But she pointed out that members of the public are often reluctant to consult interns or psychologists-in-training, reducing opportunities for trainees to gain practical experience.

The society is now exploring partnerships with institutes of higher learning to expand placement sites and better prepare students for the industry.

Psychologists don't help matters in fact they often make things worse!

The best fix for depression, anxiety and psychosis is Ketamine therapy. The world's richest man uses it so it must be the best!

Elon Musk has publicly disclosed using prescription ketamine on an occasional basis as a treatment for depression. He first shared details in a March 2024 interview with journalist Don Lemon, describing how it helps him manage what he calls a “negative chemical state” in his brain—depression-like symptoms not tied to any specific bad news or events.

cnn.com
In his own words:
“There are times when I have sort of a … negative chemical state in my brain, like depression I guess, or depression that’s not linked to any negative news, and ketamine is helpful for getting one out of the negative frame of mind.” He emphasized that he obtains it legally with a prescription from “an actual, real doctor” and takes only “a small amount once every other week or something like that.” Musk has framed this use as beneficial not just for himself but for stakeholders in his companies (Tesla, SpaceX, xAI, etc.), stating that investors “should want me to keep taking it” because it helps him stay productive and avoid unproductive mental lows.

nbcnews.com
Why ketamine, and how does Musk compare it to other treatments?Musk has repeatedly contrasted ketamine with traditional antidepressants like SSRIs (selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors). He argues that SSRIs often “zombify” people and overdiagnose depression in the U.S., while occasional ketamine provides a better, more targeted reset for genuine brain-chemistry issues.

On X (formerly Twitter), he posted as early as 2023:
“I have serious concerns about SSRIs, as they tend to zombify people. Occasional use of Ketamine is a much better option, in my opinion. I have a prescription for when my brain chemistry sometimes goes super negative.”

@elonmusk
He has also said he posted about ketamine “at some personal risk” specifically to help others struggling with depression, calling it “a far better solution than being zombified by SSRIs.”

@elonmusk
This aligns with broader medical interest in ketamine (or its derivative esketamine) for treatment-resistant depression. Unlike daily SSRIs, ketamine can produce rapid antidepressant effects (often within hours) by modulating glutamate in the brain rather than serotonin. Clinics typically administer it via IV infusion, nasal spray, or oral lozenges under supervision, exactly as Musk described his low-dose, infrequent regimen.Later developments and denials (2025 onward)In May 2025, The New York Times reported that Musk’s ketamine use had reportedly intensified during the 2024 presidential campaign (sometimes daily), contributing to bladder problems—a known side effect of chronic or high-dose use—and alongside other substances. Musk strongly denied the claims on X, stating:
“Also, to be clear, I am NOT taking drugs! The New York Times was lying their ass off. I tried prescription ketamine a few years ago and said so on … It helps for getting out of dark mental holes, but haven’t taken it since then.”

He has consistently stressed that his use was (and is) strictly prescription-based, medically supervised, and not recreational or abusive. He has advised others to consult doctors rather than self-medicate.Summary of Musk’s disclosed approach
  • Purpose: Break out of non-situational depressive “chemical tides.”
  • Frequency/Dose: Small amount roughly every other week (or less).
  • Source: Doctor-prescribed (he explicitly warns against unsupervised use).
  • View on alternatives: Prefers ketamine over SSRIs for himself and has seen it help friends more than traditional meds or stimulants.
  • Public stance: Transparent about it to destigmatize mental-health treatment, while rejecting reports of excess or ongoing use post-2024.
Musk’s comments helped spotlight ketamine therapy’s growing role in psychiatry, though medical experts note it should always remain under professional oversight and is not a first-line treatment for everyone. His experience, as he has described it, is one example of using it intermittently for what he sees as a brain-chemistry solution rather than a daily pharmaceutical dependency.

alamak ... such stupid question got standard answer and practice to solve lah ... just apply Papaya Import Talent scheme will do .... :whistling:

Those who think that there are many identities within the two mainstream sex all sick

Caitlin Ng & Calvin Yang

依稀恩黛, your assigned counsellor?

Caitlin Ng & Calvin Yang

I kaisiao this Vietbu to you. You will like her accent:

To enrich the psychologists at the expense of the siao lang with no real benefits or improvement to that siao lang at all. I find this psychologists sector very very shady one...
Too many siao lang after the jab