• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore dun have compulsory swimming lessons?

harimau

First world angmo countries have woh!

Rising number of children in near-drowning cases a cause for concern: KK hospital - AsiaOne

SINGAPORE - The number of near-drowning cases involving children has gone up in the past five years and doctors at the KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH) are concerned. From 2011 to 2015, there were 104 such cases and 10 deaths, or an ...
TODAY Online - Private pools a high-risk area as drowning cases among children go upGov.sg (press release)
Half of drownings involving kids happened in condo poolsThe Straits Times

It doesn't have to be compulsory. There's nothing stopping parents from sending their kids for swimming lessons. I learned how to swim when I was 3 years old.

ACS is the bestest! We had compulsory swimming lessons at Shaw Pool. I was a champion swimmer together with Peng Siong.

I learned at the Chinese swimming club. My mum said it was important to learn to swim because we lived on a small Island with the sea no more than 10km away regardless of where one lived.

I learned to swim in the school of hard knocks .........

[video=youtube;InBXu-iY7cw]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InBXu-iY7cw[/video]

....... together with the Vikings .........

[video=youtube;MTwq1_9VH68]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTwq1_9VH68[/video]

I learned at the Chinese swimming club. My mum said it was important to learn to swim because we lived on a small Island with the sea no more than 10km away regardless of where one lived.

Noted, boss. Your timing for 100m freestyle? I did it under a minute in the early 70s swimming with the Chan brothers - Roy and Mark. Alex was too senior.

Never did it competitively. I could do many laps but at my own pace.

In those gumpung where I grew up parents threw young kids in a river that's how they learn to swim

ya. man! ...

dey oso threw dem in2 traffic 2 teach dem how 2 cross ze streets ...

Been decades since I've been to the Chinese Swimming club.
Back then I remember the pool used salt water pumped from the sea. Do they still do that:confused:

Been decades since I've been to the Chinese Swimming club.
Back then I remember the pool used salt water pumped from the sea. Do they still do that:confused:

No idea the last time I was at the club was 3 decades ago.

If you hv listen to mom. You would be a minister by now. You twit.

He did listen to his mom, he is the chief ministar mentor emeritus of sam's alfresco coffeeshop. ;)

id be worried sick if he tell me he donno what to say and start stomping his whinsy feet

so u moved to another country instead literally surrounded by 7000 km of sea in the middle of nowhere.so vast it took 2 months for place wreckage to show up.

I have a problem with freestyle.

I can swim breaststroke effortlessly, at my own pace. But with freestyle, I have problem completing 50m. It's always the last 5m panting. I checked with my friend, and he being a good swimmer, was pretty sure that my stroke was correct. But even those 60 plus uncles at SAFRA whose strokes were imperfect could go on for many laps non-stop.

I have a problem with freestyle.

I can swim breaststroke effortlessly, at my own pace. But with freestyle, I have problem completing 50m. It's always the last 5m panting. I checked with my friend, and he being a good swimmer, was pretty sure that my stroke was correct. But even those 60 plus uncles at SAFRA

whose strokes were imperfect could go on for many laps non-stop.

notice something with breaststrokers? they are quite unique. they arent able to master another stroke be it back, butterfly or freestyle.

Look at that Quah chap n joseph schooling. they are great with all except breaststroke and our breaststrokers only compete in breaststroke races.

notice something with breaststrokers? they are quite unique. they arent able to master another stroke be it back, butterfly or freestyle.

Look at that Quah chap n joseph schooling. they are great with all except breaststroke and our breaststrokers only compete in breaststroke races.

Now that you mention it, I remember Oon Jin Teik from ACS. Yes, he swam breastroke (possibly backstroke too), and nothing else.