• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore, do you not know you're one of the poorest?

Char_Azn

your calculations are based on the cost of the ipod NANO.

ipods also include ipod touch 32gb.

in true blue PAP fashion, you have selected data points beneficial to your arguments.

your arrogance is your downfall. i'll see you in hell.

Dude READ THE FUCKING REPORT BEFORE U MAKE YOURSELF LOOK STUPID. It specifically stats
IPod Nano. Even if I use the higher end pricing, the report would still be wrong!!!!!

hmm...if i recalled correctly for example a swiss worker can work 12hr on monday he can then work just 4hr the next day if he want as long as he clock the require hrs...a sg worker normally work more than 8hr per day many often have to work late to earn overtime (without overtime they might not hit the median salary target)... also most low & median paying jobs normally are 6 days and not 5 days per week...

Fair enough give me data that has an official source and I will redo the calculation. I am not trying to prove whether we are cheaper, I am trying to bring to attention the data of the report is very questionable

fukyuman

Singapore economy is small, so its easy to kelong. Purchases of A380s or building the 2 casinos would skew its numbers. GDP per capital is high also because it does not subtract profits earned in Singapore which is remitted back to foreign investors. I was shocked when a transport operator tells me its is not neccessary to factor for leave as all his workers prefer to work overtime and not take leave. Many menial jobs are already on daily 12 hrs with one day off every 3rd week. No CPF or very little CPF by under declaring earned income.

All figures from IMF
Gross domestic product based on purchasing-power-parity (PPP) per capita GDP
Country 2010 US$
Hong Kong 45,736
Indonesia 4,394
Malaysia 14,670
Singapore 56,522
Thailand 9,187

Gross domestic product based on PPP
Country 2010 (billions)
Country 2010
Hong Kong 326
Indonesia 1,030
Malaysia 414
Singapore 292
Thailand 587

2010 is an exception year but manufacturing industry not a factor when many are moving out.

GDP Growth (incl Forecasts) %
Country 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012
Hong Kong 6.4 2.3 -2.7 6.8 5.4 4.2
Indonesia 6.3 6.0 4.6 6.1 6.2 6.5
Malaysia 6.5 4.7 -1.7 7.2 5.5 5.2
Singapore 8.8 1.5 -0.8 14.5 5.2 4.4
Thailand 5.0 2.5 -2.3 7.8 4.0 4.5

Took me all of 2 min to find the report to be flawed

All u PAP cocksuckers are stupid with math. u are no different. HDB flats are affordable, GST helps the poor, etc. all bad math. Let me explain to u what a fuckup u are.

SG Median income is not $2500. Its $2400 per month. This from Tharm's mouth in July last year.
The UBS report is also talking about take home pay as that is what u use to determine purchasing power. So based on the above article, the annual median income for a sinkie is $2400 X 12 months = $28,880 per annum
The govt. takes directly 35.5% from your paycheck for CPF (not even calculating income tax deduction yet), leaving you with:
$28,880 - $10,224 (CPF deduction) = $18,656 take home pay per annum
The report says that sinkies work 2088 hours a year on average. Therefore, using their take home income they average $18,656/2088 or $8.93 per hour of take home pay.
If an Ipod Nano cost $228, than it takes $228/$8.93 = 25.53 hours of work to buy one IPOD. The report says 27.5 hours because they have included a deduction for income tax hence making the take home pey per hour even less. Got it FUCKTARD?

patrickv

The govt. takes directly 35.5% from your paycheck for CPF (not even calculating income tax deduction yet), leaving you with:
$28,880 - $10,224 (CPF deduction) = $18,656 take home pay per annum

35.5% for cpf but 15.5% paid by employer lah. better correct this 1st before that charlatan pap dog comes in. take home pay is pay minus 20%.