• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore coach Raddy accuses China of playing 'dirty tricks'

SNAblog

http://gokunming.com/en/blog/item/2345/singapore_coach_kunming_world_cup_qualifier_a_dirty_trick

Singapore coach: Kunming World Cup qualifier a 'dirty trick'

Kunming is preparing to host a men's football World Cup qualifying match – and is once again being criticized as an unfair high-altitude venue by an opposing coach.

After defeating Laos 7:2 and 6:1 in recent matches in Kunming and Vientiane, respectively, China has advanced to the third round of Asian Football Confederation (AFC) tournament play and is scheduled to host a qualifying match on September 2 in Kunming.

China is aiming to be one of the four or five AFC teams to compete in the FIFA World Cup finals, which will be hosted by Brazil in 2014. The number of AFC representatives in Brazil will be determined after a playoff with the Oceania Football Confederation's top team.

Singapore coach Radojko Avramovic made his displeasure regarding the selection of Kunming as the host city for the match quite clear yesterday. Avramovic told Singaporean reporters that he was happy to advance past Malaysia to the third round, but was disappointed with having to play China 1,900 meters above sea level in Kunming, according to a report on Chinese sports website Titan*.

I feel fair play should be most important in a football match. As for the Chinese team, you don't really need to play these damned dirty tricks against us, do you? It's not that we're not able to play at high altitudes – if you were Bolivia, where the entire country is at a high altitude, then we'd have nothing to say.

But China is so big, you're going to hold one or two matches at altitude and afterward you'll hold other matches in other plateau cities, could it be that these kinds of cheap tricks are in terrible violation of the principles of fair play?

The displeased Avramovic, known as "Raddy" to Singapore fans, said he would present sea-level Singapore's complaint regarding Kunming to the acting president of the AFC, Zhang Jilong (张吉龙), who is from China.

We'll ask him directly, 'What are the principles of the AFC? As acting AFC president, you're going to use these kinds of dirty tricks? Will this be enough to get China into the next round?'

Criticism by opposing coaches of China using Kunming as a venue for World Cup qualifying matches is nothing new. In March 2008, Pim Verbeek, then head coach of Australia's national team, shared his thoughts on why Kunming had been selected as the site of a qualifying match between China and the Socceroos:

"They're not stupid. On purpose they play at 1,900 meters, on purpose they ask us to travel longer than normal ... that's why we play in a place nobody has heard of. But on the other hand, I think that is a mistake, because our players are very willing to show it doesn't matter at all."

The 2008 match ended in a 0:0 draw, with Chinese fans leaving disappointed after China's Shao Jiayi (邵佳一), missed an 88th-minute spot kick, paving the way for China's failure to qualify for the 2010 finals, held in South Africa.

China has only reached the World Cup finals once, participating in the 2002 tournament held in Japan and South Korea. They were eliminated without scoring a single goal.

*Editor's note: Due to unavailability of Avramovic's original quotes, the above quotes have been translated from Chinese into English.

fuck lah raddy...u so fast trying to find excuse for the soon to have dismal performance is it? Buy insurance?

As long as the place is in China, they have the fucking right to hold it where ever they like so long the pitch fulfil FIFA regulations. Why din u say anything when Mudland say we have foreigners? All is within the rules right?

So, China so fucking big, they like they can hold in Gobi desert, or in Tibet near Himalayas, just do your fucking job and prepare the team.

You are not the only 11 men playing up there - the China team is also there. U not happy, u send the whole fucking team go Nepal or Andes Mountain go prepare lah...

Tell Raddy to tell FIFA he wants the 2 legged match to be played at Jalan Besar lor

if Ah Tiong wanna play cheat, they could just simply dun issue visa to Raddy loh LOL..he not sinkie, need visa to enter China..
without coach, i don't think we can win even if they play a striker in goal LOL...

fuck lah raddy...u so fast trying to find excuse for the soon to have dismal performance is it? Buy insurance?

As long as the place is in China, they have the fucking right to hold it where ever they like so long the pitch fulfil FIFA regulations. Why din u say anything when Mudland say we have foreigners? All is within the rules right?

So, China so fucking big, they like they can hold in Gobi desert, or in Tibet near Himalayas, just do your fucking job and prepare the team.

You are not the only 11 men playing up there - the China team is also there. U not happy, u send the whole fucking team go Nepal or Andes Mountain go prepare lah...

He has a point though. A lot of examples on Altitude factor. Argentina kena thrashed by Bolivia 6 - 1. Argentina and Brazil both far superior team then Bolivia have consistently loss when they play at La Paz. I think they have more experience dealing with it but still always lose. No amt of preparation can compete with pple who are station there for long periods of time. Our national team at best get what? 1 - 2 weeks of acclimatization. Won't be enough. I was hoping can at least draw with China during the away match, think can consider gone case liao

===
it does not matter...unless FIFA changes its rules that the stadiums must be at certain altitudes.

in any case, these Ah tiongs - how many from Kunming? Yes La Paz always cause a problem to visiting teams, but that is part of the equation.

But that is no excuse for poor performance.

Recent years, Brazil and Argentina are fading teams - just look at their recent performance at Copa...

Raddy is draft to believe in "fair play"....juz import China players for our China Team B

He talk too much later they make them play in inner mongolia. :D

Play in Xinjiang!!!!! Later venue kena racial riot, match award to SG :p

This Raddy is just preparing us for failure lah. So long as the rules permit whatever China is doing, he should not be bitching.

I don't think he needs to prepare. None of us have any expectations. The fact that we are playing in Rd 3 already above everyone's expectation. We're used to getting kicked out in the first match.

==

aiya...these FTs always got excuses to blame on losing mah...just wanna look good to his bosses. in fact, even without him tokking, we know we are not expected to progress further. and if we lose, fine...no one says much.

I've learnt from my limited interaction with the Chinese and Chinese speaking Sinkies that their culture has no concept of honour and dignity. They are hardworking yes, but they will backstab you and manipulate any chance they have, and they will not tell you what is on their mind. They really are just schizophrenics.

This ang moh is obviously not politically savvy or playing "mat bodoh".

If the pappy's are prepared to lose billions to butter the PRC's (including losses by many punters on S-chips), what is a football game to them.
Didn't he notice the self proclaimed "god" of sillipore making frequent trips there and wearing the chinese 'garb' to boot.
Just last week he proclaimed many similarities betwwen PAP and the CCP and who is this guy to disturb the comradeship?

Book the athletic training centre at Cameron Highlands and spend two weeks there acclimatizing. That's what Malaysian athletes do.

I agree. I believe China is so big and most of their players live in low plain areas to. China is so big that's reasonable to rotate international games around other cities, not always Beijing or Shanghai. China scared of Singapore and playing cheat? Must be joking.

Book the athletic training centre at Cameron Highlands and spend two weeks there acclimatizing. That's what Malaysian athletes do.

I agree again. To prepare for a high altitude game, just train at a high altitude venue.

Fuck you lah. Still want to spread the same lies here after kena found out in another soccer thread.

Before 2010, every round consist of group matches. And in several years there were only 2 rounds of qualification.

For eg 1994 WCQ, for round 1 there were a total of 6 groups. Group winners progressed to the final qualifying round of a single group of which on Saudi and South Korea made it to the world cup. THERE WAS NO THIRD ROUND!

And we did really well.

Round 1 Group C
1.North Korea 8 7 1 0 19- 6 15
2.Qatar 8 5 1 2 22- 8 11
3.Singapore 8 5 0 3 12-12 10
4.Indonesia 8 1 0 7 6-19 2
5.Vietnam 8 1 0 7 4-18 2

The current formant was only started for 2010 qualifying.

Then, we beat PALESTINE in the first round, played TAJIKISTAN home and away and qualified for the THIRD round and got wacked left and right.

This time , we got a bye for the first round, played MALAYSIA home and away and qualified for the THIRD round.

Don’t be mislead by the SPH propaganda machine. Making to round 3 in the current formant is nothing to crow about. Round 3 is really no different from round 1 in years past.

All stats can be found at www.rssssf.com.