• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Ang punched Lim, Lim pushed Ang away, Ang fell and cracked his skull, died 1 month later, Lim fined $2.5k, lost his job, kena depression

UltimaOnline

9aece6802526cc19dacb02def450796a

https://sg.yahoo.com/news/man-who-c...-fending-off-attack-fined-2500-070330610.html

SINGAPORE — He defended himself against a co-worker who was throwing punches at him, and caused the attacker to fall and sustain a skull fracture.

Lim Kian Seng, 61, was fined $2,500 on Friday (19 July) after he pleaded guilty to one count of causing hurt to Ang Peng Hong, 62, through a negligent act.

Ang died almost a month after the incident. His death was not attributed to his fall and assessed to be due to a natural cause.

Lim and Ang were employed as delivery drivers by the same shipping company.

On 22 September last year, both men made arrangements to load imported goods from an Indonesian vessel at 37 Jurong Port Road for delivery.

After loading the goods onto his lorry, Ang proceeded to Customs Clearance and Lim followed behind in his pick-up truck.

When Ang reached the Customs Clearance point, he was told by a Customs officer to head back to Jurong Port for the goods to be scanned for clearance.

Ang drove his lorry out and made a U-turn to a stop at the entrance into Jurong Port. He then waited for Lim.

Lim arrived shortly after and approached Ang to ask why he made a U-turn into Jurong Port. An argument ensued, with Ang raising his fists to challenge Lim to a fight.

Ang threw punches at Lim, prompting Lim to raise his arms to fend off the attack. Lim pushed Ang’s hands away forcefully, causing Ang to fall.

Ang fell backwards and hit his head on the ground, losing consciousness briefly. Two auxiliary police officers who witnessed the altercation intervened and separated the duo.

After Ang regained consciousness, he stood up. He and Lim returned to their respective vehicles.

A while later, Lim instructed an assistant delivery driver, 54-year-old Ong Siak Chuan, to board Ang’s lorry and asked Ang to follow Lim to the inspection zone. Ong boarded Ang’s lorry and noticed that the driver was bleeding from his nose.

Ong alerted Lim about the bleeding. Lim alighted from his pickup and checked on Ang, who said he was still able to drive but was feeling dizzy.

Lim then called his company and made arrangements for a replacement driver to take over Ang’s duties. The two completed the inspection before Lim drove Ang to the emergency department at National University Hospital.

Ang underwent a CT brain scan and was diagnosed with an acute skull fracture with bleeding in the space between the brain and skull. He was admitted into the hospital.

Ang’s condition began to deteriorate despite receiving medical treatment. His family provided care to Ang, but he passed away on 19 October.

An autopsy report attributed the cause of Ang’s death to a natural cause.

Deputy Public Prosecutor (DPP) Asoka Markandu noted in his sentencing submissions that Ang was the aggressor and that Lim had only pushed him once.

Lim had also shown genuine remorse by attending to Ang and bringing him to the hospital, said the DPP, who asked for the maximum fine of $2,500.

Yeo Ying Hao, Lim’s lawyer, described the incident as “uncharacteristic” of his client, who was a “family man with modest means”.

Lim was just defending himself and possibly underestimated his strength during the incident, according to Yeo.

A veteran of 33 years at his company, Lim was well-liked by his colleagues, Yeo said. His client was likely to lose his job as a result of the court case, he added.

Following the incident, Lim had trouble eating and sleeping and was subsequently diagnosed with depression. Yeo sought a fine of $2,000.

Lim could have been jailed up to six months and/or fined up to $2,500 for negligent act causing hurt.

Read the visitor comments below the article :

40147149656_1551d1_o.jpg

• 40147141036_781ffb_o.jpg
    • Andy 3 hrs ago
      No wonder there are batman, spiderman, masked heros. Cos some time laws are jist not applicable to help the innocent
      Show replies ()

• 40147149656_1551d1_o.jpg
    • JT 2 hrs ago
      I don't understand. So it means, I defend myself when attacked and if the attacked gets injured, I will be held responsible? Is this for real?
      Show replies ()

• 40147152196_90f2b9_o.jpg
    • Milk Tea 2 hrs ago
      With this fine, it may help Lim to move on with his life. He felt guilty and have depression. With this court case closed, he may feel a bit better and close the chapter.
      Show replies ()

• 29332403839_af81b0_o.jpg
    • Tan 3 hrs ago
      In Sinkie law if you cannot get a high priced lawyer to defend you ...you end up in such state. So who did he voted for?
      Show replies ()

6 1

• Mark 1 hr ago
      A grave injustice. Did the law expect Lim to stand still and let Ang punch him and not push the attacker away? Should Malaysia ever attack Singapore, we expect Singapore to do nothing and do what General Percival did.
      Show replies ()

• 37768689763_3bfb5c_192sq.jpg
    • Toby Mac 1 hr ago
      Is this how the justice system works in Singapore? I am sure if he had the means to engage a good lawyer, like any of the elites, it would have been a different outcome. Well, nothing much can be done as 70% of Singaporeans like the way this country is governed.
      Show replies ()

• 29332396369_4d60af_o.jpg
    • kublaikhan 4 hrs ago
      Pity the elders , senior citizens, in a first-world country still have to take jobs as drivers to survive. They couldn't enjoy their CPF savings in their golden age.
      Show replies ()

4 2

• 40147149656_1551d1_o.jpg
    • joe 12 mins ago
      The lorry and the Ang mo which the latter ok the former we are watching please don’t double standard!!
      Show replies ()

• 38837683373_611683_o.jpg
    • Toto 51 mins ago
      First plead "Not Guilty" and then fight your case giving self defense or provocation as a defense. Plead "Guilty", what can the judge do, just pass the sentence. Could be the deceased want to hammer the defendant because of some thing the defendant had said. $2500 fine is not for the killing, but for the altercation.
      Show replies ()

• 29332394929_88e303_o.jpg
    • Hammer 4 hrs ago
      What kind of law is it !!! I defend myself from getting hurt and now being charged in court for negligence act ??? Where got meaning !!! So next time someone attacks you, you have to allow him to wack you and not defend yourself...STUPID Law !!!
      Show replies (1)

• 38837665913_b1b8fd_o.jpg
    • Alan 1 hr ago
      Lim was trying to defend himself from a bully yet he was fine. what kind of law in the world whereby the innocent got fine might well jail him and caned him. That absurd and hilarious, Other countries will definitely laugh at our stupid judge.
      Show replies ()

• 40147158996_11c84b_o.jpg
    • SGP 1 hr ago
      This case tells us not to self defense. But to let the other person hit you. Ridiculous judgement. Judge must be sleeping. In that case, better run away as fast as possible when attacked.
      Show replies ()

• 38837675403_1b1342_o.jpg
    • Lee 3 hrs ago
      Report didn't say what provoked Ang to raise his fist and challenged Lim. I suspect that's the reason the court found Lim partly culpable.
      Show replies ()

• 38837675403_1b1342_o.jpg
    • L 8 mins ago
      My brother know this Lim guy. He 2 years cannot eat cannot sleep cuz may end up in jail. 2 5k fine is to pay the electricity & aircon used in Court for so many days. Lim now got blemish on his record . Cannot have another incident like this. Anyway, he thanked God and have been praying hard at temple weekly
      Show replies (1)

• 38837685913_6cd714_o.jpg
    • Wolve 3 hrs ago
      This law is stupid, just like e people who created it! Self defense oso kena charged! You mean to tell me if someone gonna attack my family or loved ones and i cannot protect them?
      Show replies (1)

• 40147164326_afa8df_o.jpg
    • Anonymous 37 secs ago
      The justice system is trying to tell all of Singapore that we should abolish National Service! Because self defense is punishable by law! Wake up!
      Show replies ()

• 37820861270_f232e2_192sq.jpg
    • BoyBoy 2 hrs ago
      acting on self defence and hurt someone also a crime. What a joke. So moral of story is to stand there and do nothing and let others assault you and you get beaten up.
      Show replies ()

• Martin 57 mins ago
      It just shows that it isnt the perogative of just UK Judges being total idiots there are idiotic judges all over the wotld
      Show replies ()

garlic

This is a classic case of underemployment. Under PAP's rule.. there are many such cases, whereby overqualified personnels are doing jobs that simply beneath them. This man, if groomed and employed effectively, would have been a world mma champion instead of a lorry driver.. :biggrin:

So... in Sinkieland, if someone beats you up you are not allowed to defend yourself, you have to smile and take the blows like a champ, and preferably thank the attacker afterwards.

In other words, be a docile doormat.

Strange cuntry, strange laws.

But for the patriotic gongkias, here's a nice video with the national anthem: